We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
20
12
7
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
12
7
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat yardsat navrushed off their feetpub next doornorfolk broadspassing placeson arrivalfish and chipsbreakfast was includedchart roommini breaklovely settingroom was spaciousmain buildingthe pubone night staywarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 51 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We booked 7 nights to stay on the campsite,as full-time motorhomer's and it being our anniversary, while we were there we decided to spend 1 night in the Waveney Inn Hotel.
We booked the Captains Cabin which is above the shop, the room was spacious, as was the bathroom. Excellent views across to the fields and the marina. We had a meal in the Waveny Inn which we couldn't fault, so much so we had a further 2 meals there during our stay. The bed was a king size and oh so comfy, great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey1409_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Thanks for your lovely feedback - we appreciate you reviewing the hotel as well as the touring site, this is a great help (especially when the review is positive!). Please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Checked in and was taken to our room. Found that the additional bed was not made up on arrival even though it was clear of the number of guest on the booking form. This was quickly rectified shortly after our arrival. Went to the pool, so son could have a swim. Wasn't impressed that at least two people where constantly taking photos whilst a number of people in the pool and even other children around. A few children where swimming without adults present or watching and later on one of the ladies from reception came over and asked them to get out as no adult was with them. She then asked us to leave as well as no adult was in the pool with our child even though he was 15. Info pack in room differs from the rules at the pool so this could do with updating. Returned back to the room to shower and have a bit of quiet time before heading out, only to be disturbed by the noise of extractor fans from kitchen and kitchen staff outside on smoking breaks making noise. Beds really comfortable and big had a really lovely nights sleep after kitchen closed noises outside where quieter otherwise wouldn't have been able to have a window open.

As part of our package B & B we headed to Pub next door for breakfast. Was given priced menus and wasn't sure if we was expected to pay again as no one advised us what was included in the breakfast package. This really needs to be made clearer! Full English was lovely locally sources produce and very tasty.

Check out is at 10.00am so a bit of a rush to have breakfast and then leave. Sadly would have liked to use the pool again but as we had to hand our key back we didn't have access to the pool without this.

Enjoyed a walk around the area before heading home.

Venue also has day boats for hire, Glamping pods, TP tents and there is also a caravan and caravan park along with shower and toilet blocks.

Please be aware some of the lanes leading to the venue are very narrow and no passing places.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look out onto the kitchen so be aware of noises from staff, extractor fans. Stairs and no lift to first floor rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank liverbird142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Thanks for your lovely review of your room, and we're grateful for all of your feedback. We'll check that all of the documentation matches, but basically children under 14 cannot swim unsupervised in the pool, no exceptions. So your 15 year old would be fine, though we always recommended that people do not swim alone. Breakfast is included in our room rate, but other guests (for example staying in lodges or tents) would not have breakfast included, so I guess our staff didn't realise that you were staying in the hotel when they gave you the menus. I'm glad that you enjoyed the food, I wholeheartedly agree with you and love our breakfasts! Finally, you would have been welcome to stay and use the pool after you had handed your key in - we could have issued you with a visitor card for no extra charge. Thanks again for visiting us, and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

large room. Comfortable big bed. Good bathroom. Slept well. We had captains cabin. I was a little worried by previous reviews and I agree to a point. Food was ok. They ran out of mushrooms at breakfast. I advise poached egg - scrambled was dry. But it was school holidays so geared up for family's and that's fair enough. I don't like game machines pool table and music in eating areas but others do. It was nice to eat breakfast outside in the sun. We had a good walk passenger ferry then walk to oulton broad then another passenger ferry to Lowestoft nice day in sun. Mainly for families and boaty folks. Staff were helpful and friendly, have to say we enjoyed our mini break away from town.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank shj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thanks for visiting us - sorry for running out of mushrooms, we will continue to do our best to improve everything that we do. We're glad you enjoyed the walking, and that the weather was kind to you. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We booked 2 nights for our 30th Wedding anniversary but the website is misleading as this cannot be called a hotel, it's a campsite & marina with a few rooms between the shop / reception & the bar / ? Restaurant ( really a diner for campers)
The room was tastefully decorated, clean & roomy but the door rattles so you feel like someone is trying to get in all the time & the odd green glow from ? The fire sensor in the room means it's not dark when your trying to sleep.
You can hear next door clearly & there is a constant trail of people walking by to & from the campsite to the diner/ bar. The view over the marshes (starboard cabin) can be viewed by standing in one corner if you don't want the parked cars in view!
We had excessive noise & people inflating air beds using their car 12v sockets & parents shouting at children as it's not obvious from the outside there are people staying in rooms.
The pool is actually located in the campsite but this is not made clear, in fact there's no obvious mention of the campsite on the website.
We do camp & would say from that aspect it's ideal if you just want a quiet away from it all place to stay.
We had prepaid for dinner & were shown to a table but it wasn't explained there was no waitress service, tables were not cleared & you had a bottle of sarsons on the table, hardly Hotel dining.
We ordered food at the bar & we had to pay as the staff member seemed not to understand or be willing to ask someone else about our prebooked meal ( apparently he was new)
It turns out it was cheaper paying for the meal than the prebooked price! We were offered a refund by the person in charge of the diner but declined due to the aforementioned point. We had Mushroom stroganoff, it was hot, presented nicely but not hotel standard.
There are no staff at night, the power cut out & the alarm started around 430am & you had a tortuous bleeping noise to Keep you awake. When morning came you had to shower in the dark. You couldn't leave your room or you wouldn't get back in with the power out. The power was reset by the staff once they chiselled a door open, if it was a hotel then there would have been staff to do that in the night!
We decided not to stay the second night as we were disappointed, tired & upset & felt misled by the Waveney inn.
The member of staff who we talked too in the morning was apologetic & we were only charged for the night we stayed, we did hope to spend the rest of our Anniversary at another Hotel but with peak school holidays this wasn't possible so we went home.
This place spoilt what was supposed to be a special occasion.

Room Tip: Go to a real hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

I was very sorry to read your review Julie. First and foremost, we market ourselves on our website as a pub with 7 hotel rooms, which is part of the Waveney River Centre holiday destination. I'm sorry if this wasn't clear to you when you booked.

I suspect that the main reason for your negative experience was the entirely unexpected power cut to your part of the building which took some considerable time to trace and resolve. I apologise for this, it was embarrassing for us and caused quite a bit of inconvenience for other guests as well as our staff.

I'm sorry that you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We were staying at the lodges so we used its on several occasions and no disappointed once . Good value food . Good selection on the menu and not to badly priced. Friendly and helpful staff. We did have from the take away menu as well and that's was as enjoyable. We use again if staying at the lodges

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gjburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thanks for this review - we're glad that the Waveney Inn didn't disappoint, especially as you visited many times. Looking forward to seeing you next time! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews