We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special place”
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-FRONT-EXTERIOR-CLOSE-UP-1.jpg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-FRONT-EXTERIOR-CLOSE-UP-1.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-LIVING.jpg CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-LIVING-SITTING-AREA-NEAR-PANORAMIC-WINDOW.jpg
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-FRONT-EXTERIOR-CLOSE-UP-1.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-LIVING.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-LIVING-SITTING-AREA-NEAR-PANORAMIC-WINDOW.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-DINE.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-GAZEBO.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-VIEW-FROM-WEST-TERRACE-ADIRONDACK-CHAIRS2.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-1-MASTER.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BATH-1.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-ANNEX-WALKWAY.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-5-ANNEX-MONKEY.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BATH-5-ANNEX-MONKEY.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-ANNEX-TERRACE-LUNCH.jpg
CRYSTAL SPRINGS JAN-2015 POOL LOOKING WEST TO SEA.jpg
CRYSTAL SPRINGS JAN-2015 POOL LOOKING TO EXTERIOR.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-7-POOL-HOUSE.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BATH-4.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-7-TEA-HOUSE.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-TEA-HOUSE-SITTING-AREA.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BATH-7-TEA-HOUSE.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-10-PAVILION.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-MOVIE-THEATER-darker.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-GYM.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-KITCHEN.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2014-STEPS-TO-BEACH-LOOKING-NORTH.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2014-BEACH-LOOKING-SOUTH-PANO.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2014-REAR-EXTERIOR-FROM-BOAT-PANO2.jpg
Crystal Springs watercolour2.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2014-BEACH-LOOKING-NORTH-1.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2014-FOYER.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-AERIAL-FROM-SEA-TO-REAR-EXTERIOR.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-5.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-6.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-9.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-8.jpg
CRYSTAL-SPRINGS-JAN-2015-BED-7.jpg
CrystalSpringsBoat-web.jpg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
The Garden, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ZoeGeorgi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wow, what can I say about Crystal Springs other than it is absolutely perfect. From the moment we pulled up to the front of the stunning property, to touring the Messel designed interiors, I was totally blown away. The exterior is incredible, with stunning views of the blue sea all along the front which you can enjoy in all three main dining areas. I love the gully full of flowers, perfect for sauntering down to the beach - where you can relax or enjoy water sports, paddle boarding and the speed boat. The infinity pool is the perfect temperature and ideal for a lazy few hours between snorkelling with turtles and exploring the island. Each room is gorgeous, with very comfortable beds and all the top amenities you could need. But perhaps the best thing about this incredible property is the amazing staff who go out of their way to make your stay such a special one. There's a very relaxed, happy atmosphere and you're made to feel at home from the second you arrive. Thank you all for such a special stay full of memories that I'll always treasure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of your experience at Crystal Springs for us! Your descriptions of the villa and surrounding area are so lovely to read, and we're so happy that you enjoyed the Messel designs so carefully restored. It goes without saying that the staff here are key to our guests experiences - thank you for putting the spotlight on them. Hope to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeM17
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape in Beautiful, Exquisite Sanctuary”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

As soon as you enter Crystal Springs you realise it is a very special place. A beautiful and elegant house in a luscious well tended tropical garden.
The villa is decorated at the highest standards of taste and elegance and the main room's large open window overlooking the private beach and the turquoise blue sea is the setting of dreams.

At Crystal Springs the days go by nonchalantly. There are so many things to do: swim at the secluded beach, paddle boarding, waterskiing or taking the boat to tour the lovely adjoining bays, for a bit of snorkeling. There are several dining areas so you can have lunch/dinner in a different setting every day.

If you are looking for total relaxation just lounge by the infinity pool overlooking the magnificent tropical sea, maybe after having done some yoga with a private teacher.

The staff are outstanding and looked after us incredibly well, discreet yet always present.and friendly.

Perfect is an often misused word but in the case of Crystal Springs I cannot thing of a better one: It's perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Thank you for the glowing review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give such a detailed overview of your holiday, and a glimpse into what Crystal Springs can offer. Hearing lovely things about the villa is always appreciated, but your kind words about the staff and all that they do is even more rewarding! We will be sure to pass on your compliments. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msiegel12...
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“This is paradise”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Crystal springs is perfection. From the moment you drive through the gate you will be in paradise. The rooms are beautiful and magnificently restored to the authentic Messel design. The staff is warm and professional. Meals are delicious. Whether it is swimming in the Caribbean or the infinity pool , working out in the gym , paddle boarding or boating....there is plenty to do ...
The property has several locations for indoor and outdoor dining and just when you thought it couldn't get any better, it is possible to watch almost any movie in the home theatre.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We love feedback, and all of your kind words and compliments are very much appreciated - we'll be sure to pass on your review to the rest of the team at Crystal Springs. We hope to see you back in paradise sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crystal Gem”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

No luxury resort or luxury villa I ever went to compares to Crystal Springs!
The beautiful architecture and stylish design of the property are blending with the lush tropical vegetation and landscape which gives you a feeling of being one with nature...not to mention the most amazing nocturne concerts of the crickets and mini frogs accompanying your dinners, meditations and sleep!
The property location with its private beach makes it very special and unique on the carabean side of Barbados...definitely the most beautiful property on the Island!
The elegant mosaic lap pool is situated on a side of the property overlooking the sea but not interfering with the beach.
I was looking for a "real vacation" with plenty of water activities coupled with relaxation, work outs, yoga, massage and good healthy food, no TVs in the bedrooms but a movie theater just in case and it was a dream come true!
Staffed with 18 kind and smily people who you barely see around but feel the impact of their excellent service...everything runs so smoothly you think it happens on its own.
To me the best overall experience was to feel very much at home where you can just wear a short and t-shirt or a bathing suit all day long without offending the coziness and elegance of the rooms, living room, multiple dining rooms and especially impeccable decorated bedrooms and well equipped bathrooms.
The other special aspect of the experience is the distribution of the bedrooms which makes you feel you are alone in the property if you need privacy despite the fact we were 10 of us!
We left leaving our hearts behind but with one only intention: to go back as soon as possible

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, Alain! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed account of your experience. Am so happy to hear that you had a lovely time and a "real vacation" as you say. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the staff, and we all hope to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
925joelle
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection achieved”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Crystal Springs is a magical place for a perfect vacation..family reunion, gathering of friends, retreat. The staff is first rate, friendly and genuinely interested in serving. From the moment you set foot on the grounds, every need is attended to. The décor of the house and its multiple building is exquisite and in harmony with the relaxed atmosphere of an island home.
How to spend each day? Swimming in the ocean, lying by the infinity pool reading a book, paddle boarding, yoga, exercising in the gym. Activity is required as the meals are delicious and well, it is hard to resist temptation! Exploring the island is recommended as the Atlantic side is wild and beautiful. There are beautiful gardens and many distilleries.
In short, you can't go wrong here. Relaxation is achieved within minutes of your arrival. The only negative is that you have to leave

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Crystal Springs, along with the great examples of daily routines and activities at the "magical" villa and surrounding area. Another one of our favourite things to do is a day out on the villa's private boat, spending time snorkeling with turtles and picnicking on secret beaches - we will have to arrange this for you on the next visit :)
Thank you again for all your kind words (which we'll be sure to pass on to the staff) - we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAKingsto...
Annandale, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Crystal Springs is nothing short of magical. The property, the staff, and the location are second to none. The property is absolutely breathtaking, and the staff couldn't be more friendly, accommodating, and professional. The food is fabulous.

I've stayed at Crystal Springs several times with the first being before the new owners purchased it. All I can say is if you stayed here prior to the new owners, you owe it to yourselves to come back and experience it after the new owners. From what I understand, they basically took the property down to it's shell and rebuilt it in keeping with all the beauty and splendor that Oliver Messel originally intended for it. It will not disappoint.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Crystal Springs. We are so grateful for all of your kind words, and are happy to hear that you were able to experience and enjoy all the new renovations on this return trip - it is indeed a beautiful restoration of the original Oliver Messel design. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the staff, and look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt New Jersey USA
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing