We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castellaro Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arma(Arma di Taggia)
$96
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Solidago(Arma di Taggia)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Lucciola(Santo Stefano al Mare)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aregai Marina Hotel & Residence(Santo Stefano al Mare)
$165
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa La Brise(Sanremo)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera dei Fiori(San Lorenzo al Mare)
$188
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Anthurium(Santo Stefano al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
75
154
141
88
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
154
141
88
85
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 543 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed at this resort for 3 days in August and booked it last minute so we got a fairly good deal.
The main issue we had was the lack of communication between the employees as well as lack of information provided to the guests. In these type of resorts you usually receive a guest directory in your room or apartment giving you an overview of facilities etc.
We had to call the reception for every question we had.
Further the restaurants were not good either. The ligurian restaurant claims to serve typical regional food but only has a pizze menu...no pasta either. The main hotel restaurant was disastrous to say the least. We saw a promotional flyer for a theme BBQ dinner wanted to reserve a table. We were sent back and forth 10 times and none of the employees knew about the promotion until when we showed them the flyer.
We finally managed to reserve our table and as it was our last evening of the vacation we were looking forward to an enjoyable meal. The employees could not inform us what the menu was until the food arrived at our table. The meat was cold and over cooked, barely edible. Finally after speaking to one of the employees we were not charged for the meal. This was not an ideal situation for us as we would have rather had a decent meal but it was better than nothing.
The children loved the resort though due to the activities etc, tennis, football courts and 2 swimming pools.
The apartments are well equiped. The spacious balconies could do with an umbrella, it is impossible to eat lunch out there or sit out there in the heat of the day without one.
The surroundings are tranquil and quiet but you are woken up by the flushing of your neighbours toilets or showers every day which is not ideal. The air con works well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amrathkurhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Overall we had a good weekend staying at this resort. We found a special offer so it was good value but it definitely is not worth the full price and is most certainly more a three star than a four. We asked for a quiet room and were given just that and the only noise we could hear were frogs croaking in the distance. The rooms are clean and comfortable but cowboys have been at work. There were countless problems with the electronic system which operated everything and even after we settled our account and returned to pick up our luggage we found we were locked out! The afternoon we arrived it was boiling in our room but the heating system (regulated by reception) could not be turned down so we had to have it turned it off completely. The staff, however, were very kind and came immediately every time there was a problem.
Breakfast was good with enough choice and we had two excellent meals in the restaurant.
The spa is well equipped with efficient staff and there is herbal tea, water and chocolates on offer. The pool area is dimly lit with scented candles burning all around it and is very relaxing.
This resort is located on the top of a hill and the road to it is not for the faint hearted. On one side there is the view of the sea and on the other some hills and, unfortunately ,the motorway.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshladyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Castellaro Golf Resort is situated in perhaps not the prettiest areas of Italy. While it may have all the facilities that warrant a 4 star resort the servivce is more 2 Star. On arrival it was apparent that we were in the one (mostly) completed building in a sea of development and the whole resort is not likely to be completed for at least two years. The images they use to publicise themselves are very 'selective'.
The 24 hour cafe refused to serve food because all the staff were recovering after a wedding the previous day. The safe in the room had not been connected and we were woken at 7am by heavy machinery. Our view being over a nice valley to the sea marred only by the heaps of gravel masquerading as miniature mountains yards from the hotel.
The grounds were in the infancy stages of much needed landscaping and due to events later in the week even more so by the time we left.
Breakfast was decidedly average more on par with a 2 Star rather than a 4 star hotel and if you were late often running short. There was no hurry to clear away dirty dishes. generally the place was understaffed.

Mid week due to torrential rain and thunder areas of the complex suffered severe subsidence and much of the ground collapsed. Of course in such bad weather most people wanted to use the indoor pool and gym - It was flooded!
Windows had been smashed and generally the place was in a worse state than before.
No compensation was offered except that having complained at the state of things at the beginning of the week we negotiated free tennis (did I mention you have to pay for all tennis , golf etc)

So give it a few years and it may be respectable but I suspect the problems run deeper than just the decor.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Beaks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellaroGolfResort, Responsabile reception at Castellaro Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellaroGolfResort, Responsabile reception at Castellaro Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews