We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful in wonderful West Wales”
Review of Glan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dinas Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glan House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dinas Cross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We could only stay for 1 night, but this delightful Bed and Breakfast was a great find. From warm Welsh cakes and tea on the patio on arrival to our departure we were made to feel welcomed and looked after. We had 2 lovely rooms,very comfortable and beautifully refurbished.

Very good breakfast, healthy options and the more traditional ....

An excellent location- a pretty 15 minute walk down to Aberbach beach and a 5 minute drive to Newport with the consistent,delicious food provided by the Golden Lion Inn (suggest booking) and some easy walking from the scenic Parrog.

For a tranquil,cosseted stay in real comfort- look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffSkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We often take short breaks in B&B accommodation and have been to many excellent ones (some quite awful!!) but Glan House has won our our top award. We can only echo the other comments you will have read from the other reviewers. A really lovely couple of people of obviously enjoy being hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they've probably anticipated your needs anyway. Loads of ideas for things to do and visit and Patrick cooks a superb breakfast. Everything is beautifully clean but there is lovely warm atmosphere. Chris met us with tea and warm Welsh cakes. Not only can we not fault it, we can't imagine how it could be bettered. Our room was very spacious with a really good sea view. We will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at Glan house which is an outstanding B and B, the whole house is immaculate. Christine and Patrick were excellent hosts, nothing was too much for them. On arrival, Patrick insisted on taking our baggage from the car to our room which was spotlessly clean, while Christine made us a pot of tea and Welsh cakes which we thoroughly enjoyed on the patio. Breakfast was freshly prepared for each morning and was plentiful. Both Christine and Patrick were very knowledgeable about the immediate area, and further a field, especially with regards to walking routes. There were guides, maps and even a DVD available for the area, all of which could be borrowed. We will certainly be returning

Room Tip: Room 3 has a view out over the garden to the sea and entrance to Fishguard harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drs-swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We can not fault any part of our stay at Glan House. Patrick and Christine were the perfect hosts, offering tea and welsh cakes upon our arrival. The breakfast was delicious and of high quality. I have never stayed in such an immaculate place, everywhere was spotless and the attention to detail, and finish of the interior was outstanding. We were very thankful of their local knowledge and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayheaven00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After staying in a variety of B&Bs in the area while walking the coastal path, it was more than a relief to turn up at Glan House. Chris & Patrick warmly welcomed us into their immaculate house with tea & Welsh cakes & then taken down to the pub to eat by car because it was raining. The rooms were beautifully clean, the shower was great & I had the best night sleep I'd had in a week! Breakfast was delicious & plentiful & toast cooked on the Aga is definitely the best. Sadly we could only stay one night. I will be recommending Glan House to all my friends who are visiting this area, it is by far the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for the weekend recently and will definately be going back. A lovely location, a spotlessly clean house/room/ensuite and a very warm welcome from Christine and Patrick. Breakfast was freshly prepared and excellent on both mornings. Christine and Patrick are a mine of useful local information and were really helpful during our stay. Thank you both very much.

Room Tip: All rooms are v good. Coast side facing will be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Glan House was one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in. Chris and Patrick were wonderful hosts - couldn't do enough for us and had fantastic local knowledge which made our stay much more pleasurable. When we wanted to do a local walk, chris actually came part of the way with us to make sure we didn't get lost, and she also offered to take us and pick us up from the local pub for our meal so we could have a drink. We heard from the landlord of the pub that once one of her guests was there and it started to rain so Chris had phoned the pub and said she would pick them up. They certainly go the extra mile for their guests. The room was large, immaculately clean and beautifully furnished with a lovely seating area with a seaview. We were welcomed in the garden with tea and cake and the breakfast was to die for, absolutely delicious. We would certainly go back there. 5 star treatment at 3 star prices

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Cross
3.4 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y Garth B&B
Y Garth B&B
#2 of 4 in Dinas Cross
113 reviews
0 mi away
Tabor House B&B
Tabor House B&B
#3 of 4 in Dinas Cross
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan House

Address: Dinas Cross, Dinas Cross, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0XQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth > Dinas Cross
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Cross
Hotel Class:4 star — Glan House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Glan House Dinas Cross, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing