We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Viewforth Cottage

Viewforth Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Twin bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and lots of cupboard space.
Dining room
Shower room with large shower cubicle, toilet and handbasin
Enclosed garden, perfect for children and pets.
Garden to the side of the cottage
The duck pond behind Viewforth.
Crawick Multiverse, a land art in Sanquhar. Just a short walk from Viewforth.
Viewforth has it's own private field ideal for children and pets to play.
Peaceful countryside walks just minutes from Viewforth
Countryside walks with stunning views just minutes from Viewforth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sanquhar, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CountyDur...
county durham
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

just got back from very restful weekend at viewforth. Very clean pleasant place. Locals very friendly. Lovely walks for our dog and very safe garden. Thank you Caroline for such a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely and clean also availability to everything we required.
Liked least: nothing we did not like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent self-catering bungalow”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a well-maintained and welcoming place to stay. The enclosed, secure garden was ideal for our dog. Caroline's attention to detail and welcome was much appreciated, the vase of flowers was a lovely touch. The location is ideal, being on the edge of the town and overlooking the pond area makes it quiet yet also very accessible to local amenities. There is good proximity to the Southern Upland Way and accessibility to the road/rail network.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Home from home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frosty321
co durham england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we have just come back from staying in the cottage for a week one of the best cottages that we have stayed in (and there has been a few) everything that we needed was there even down to a dog towel (we had our own for our whippet) only thing there was no tele in the bedroom lovely places to see and FROSTY enjoyed chasing the rabbits

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and friendly people around
Liked least: just sitting and hearing the ducks while having a glass of wine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Viewforth. We are pet friendly and always try to make our guests and their pets feel welcome. We have no immediate plans to add a TV in the bedroom as it is only a 2 bedroom bungalow and we try to keep the rental cost down but we will definitely keep it in mind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMILFORD
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from a lovely break in this wonderful cottage. Cleaned to a very high standard and a real home from home. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you for recommending Viewforth and glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J
1 review
“Fantastic Accomodation”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Viewforth is a great cottage and much bigger on the inside than the pictures would have you believe.

Cleaned to an extremely high standard and everything provided that we needed such as towels etc.

The location is great with so many things to do or yo go nearby.

We have already booked up again for next year and can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thank you for the good review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kengai13
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Viewforth in 6 months. Caroline is a fantastic host, the cottage was immaculate when we arrived, and is very comfortable with everything you could need. The cottage is spacious, very clean and well decorated, garden furniture in the garage, and the gardens are safe and secure for children and dogs alike, with the added addition of a paddock which gives more space for ball games etc. So quiet at night - peace perfect peace!

Very friendly locals, shopping area within 5 mins walk, although Tesco and Asda also deliver (free wifi!). Some brilliant local walks with the dogs, we also enjoyed some Forestry Commission walks, and an afternoon on the beach: all within an hours drive.

I would highly recommend this cottage for couples, families and those with dogs - you will not be disappointed.

We can't wait to visit in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyhing!
Liked least: Faultless
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richc470
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing home from home”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at this beautiful cottage bungalow. The place is spacious with large rooms & a big garden (fenced in for young children & dogs). The cottage is well equipped in every way & we enjoyed a much needed relaxing break. The village is only 2 minutes walk away & the locals are very friendly. We would definitely recommend Viewforth to friends & family & hope to return soon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing