We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, family run hotel”
Review of Nithsdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nithsdale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Friendly, family run hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked a 2 night stay here via a KGB deal and got excellent value for money.

We were warmly greeted and shown to our room which was perfectly adequate if a little dated and the promised bottle of fizz was already in the ice bucket.

The bed was comfortable, the TV worked, the bathroom was fine though the shower took a little while to warm up and we didn't expect aircon although it would have been nice as it was very warm during our stay.

We had dinner here both nights (the first night included as part of the deal) and had no complaints. No it's not haute cuisine but it was nicely prepared and served by friendly staff and the breakfasts were good as well.

The area around Sanquhar is superb and must visit here again and do some touring on the motorbike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prefdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
21
125
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two night dinner b and b. Staff were great, room very clean. However hotel needs updating and I dont know what other reviewers ate but the food was awful in my opinion. I had a chicken dish that tasted of plastic. Breakfast swimming in grease. I didn't complain as there was only staff who I have said were lovely, no manager or owner to complain to. Work is being carried out on hotel so hopefully this will reach kitchen. Owner who ever you are, your staff are a credit to you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had brilliant lunch at this hotel - food was lovely and very reasonable. Staff very helpful and friendly. Choice was very extensive and very well presented. Will return and maybe stay here when next in area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

When we arrived there was extensive refurbishment to the function room, which was very noisy !!!!!! lot of hammering, drilling etc, we had been informed that there was redecoration, but not to this extent. The food was very good, with a huge breakfast, enough to see you thru the day. The rooms were small, but adequate if you were not a large person. Unfortunately there was not good double glazing and the traffic noise was horrendous all night long, there are large goods lorries going thru the town every 3 to 4 minutes!!!!!!!, we were with friends and none of us could get any sleep. For what we paid it was OK.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a two night break and found it to be very friendly and professional.
It never was going to be the ritz and at no point did it pretend to be either! The food in the restaurant was without fault and fantastic value for money.
This seems to be a family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble for any of them, they work very hard to keep customers happy and overall I would certainly return to the nithsdale.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fly_high01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

when I first read some of the reviews on trip advisor after booking I wondered what I had let myself in for..no need!!! first of all, not a HARD BED, a firm 6 ft wide comfortable bed with lovely white sheets and ample towels etc. Yes it's a small family hotel, hard working folks who have put a lot into turning it into a place to go. Sanquhar is a small friendly village central to lots of places in Dumfries and this hotel is smack bang in the centre. If you're looking for the Hilton in a country village then fine, pay ridiculously high prices, but, if you are looking for a reasonable priced, decent, small homely place, then that's the Nithsdale. I would go back... their evening meals are excellent. Well done and thanks for having us... Cathy and Lewis Robertson

Room Tip: we were at the front, room 11, if you have problems with stairs speak to the owners when you phone t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through a deal.
To be honest wasn't expecting much.
But pleasantly surprised. Yes there is work in progress, but it doesn't bother you.
The rooms are a little tired, but hey, for what you pay, what do you expect?
On the other hand, the food is fantastic, from the breakfast through to the dinner.
Nothing is too much trouble for management or staff.
The noise from the road is non intrusive, and we had a room on the road side. Didn't bother us at all.
All in all, we had a lovely stay. And would visit again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MC_Yorkshire50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
0.4 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
12.3 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
10.8 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
14.5 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nithsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nithsdale Hotel

Property: Nithsdale Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Sanquhar DG4 6DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nithsdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nithsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing