We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
Review of Nithsdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nithsdale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here overnight in Feb 13. The place is currently having a bit of a make over, so in part the place's decor was a bit dated but in others, absolutely fine. Breakfast and evening meal were served in thr main public restaurant. Meals were very good indeed with great service from attentive and helpful staff. The main bar area was open late, and was a pretty friendly place to have a few drinks with the locals.

The hotelier was very helpful, free parking adjacent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
21
125
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed on a deal, our room was very small, tiny shower and toilet, but clean comfy bed. The staff are unfailingly helpful and cheerful, the breakfast was great and we enjoyed our meal on the first night. One criticism . . No curtains to block out the light, only thin blinds.
Very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiftynextbirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights on a KGB Deal - the owner (Maura) could not have been more helpful. After reading some of the more useful (& realistic !) reviews on this site we asked for a room away from the traffic which they supplied. Although the room was a bit small it was clean and perfectly comfortable. The meal we had on the first night was very nice and we didn't pay any extra. The breakfasts were also good & freshly made to order.

Honestly, what can you expect for £40/night B&B - free steak & champagne ??? They are trying to run a business, for goodness sake....and if you threw the perry (which was perfectly drinkable) down the toilet, more fool you.

We would definitely come back, we received a lovely welcome. It's not perfect so can't give it 5, but have no hesitation in giving 4/5.

Thanks again, Maura. May you continue to attract appreciative guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougsJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Well the town is lovely, nice countryside and all the locals were pleasant. Sadly the hotel is not run by the locals. The owners were rude and could not have made us any less welcome. We came on a groupon deal we were meant to get champagne, we got, or rather the toilet got, sparkling perry. We were meant to get a 3 course meal our groupon price £252 was calculated using the most expensive items on the menu, they tried to charge us extra for anything over £7. After complaining we continually got stared at and and were made to feel uneasy by the staff. We did not stay for the second night we decided it would be more pleasant staying at home. The food was good though and the bed was comfy, but sadly me, my wife and the dog won't be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SiobAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

After being given a review card from the hotel on departure we thought we'd leave one and review our stay. The hotel was overall clean, staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was of very high standard. The hotel is only small and Sanquhar is also a little town. It was ideal for what we were looking for. We researched the hotel and the town before going. The walks and scenery are breath taking compared to the city. We stayed under a 2 night deal we purchased off the internet which was good value for money. The room was clean and tidy a bit on the small side but its an old building i dont think the owners could do much due to the structural side of things but everything we needed was in the room.We ended up eating the second night in the restaurant, it was a delight to have a turkey dinner with all the trimmings served to you for a change instead of cooking it from scratch.
I would recommend but it just depends what your looking to do.. its quite a small community. It was ideal for us because we love walking and the outdoors. The nearest main town is a half an hour drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a two night break here which, whilst Sanquhar isn't the most exciting place to stay, the hotel was comfortable, warm and friendly and not a bad place to explore the area from as it is between Dumfries and Kilmarnock. The hotel is undergoing alot of refurbishment at the moment and will have quite a large function room to the rear eventually. The dining room offers good food, both evening meal and breakfast and the wine list is also very good. They have a recently refubished TV room for guests and a public bar with a pool table room which can be quite noisy from the youngsters coming in to drink and play at weekends. The bedroom was adequate however, getting in and out of the bath to have a shower proved difficult for someone with limited flexibility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quarryfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in December on a 2 night KGB deal. The hotel is under refurbishment but looks like a mad joiner has been let loose on the place with unfinished woodwork everywhere. The deal offered champagne on arrival but we got sparkling perry! Our room was very strange and felt more like a bedsit than a hotel room, and you had to go through the dining room to access it. No curtains on the windows just blinds, so the streetlights shone through and everytime a car with headlights passed it illuminated the whole room. The bed was pushed against the wall so you couldn't get in from one side and there was nowhere to put a glass of water and there was no headboard so you couldn't sit up in bed as there was a gap behind the bed.The bathroom was very small and it was difficult to get in and out the shower due to a large piece of wood attached to the towel rail. The shower head would also not stay upright so made showering very tricky. We left after 1 night as it's more comfortable at home. The only saving grace was that the food was quite nice, except for my husband's warm egg mayonnaise at dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guestedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
0.4 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
12.3 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
10.8 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
14.5 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nithsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nithsdale Hotel

Property: Nithsdale Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Sanquhar DG4 6DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nithsdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nithsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing