We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Nithsdale Hotel(Sanquhar)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Cumnock)
$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railway Hotel(Auchinleck)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Moffat House Hotel(Moffat)(Great Value!)
$75
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
260
67
29
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
67
29
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfine diningian mcandrewpartridgesorbetpennefudgefantastic foodbanks of the riverwine listthe table d'hote menucountry housesouthern upland waycheeseboardjacuzzi bathgourmet dinnerbiscuitsfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 378 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Having checked Tripadvisor booked a lodge and expected "fine dining" in the hotel for evening meal. The lodge was big and adequate in a lovely position but the evening meal was disappointing to say the least. The choice was extremely limited and pretentious. We visted the local hotel in village and enjoyed a much more satisfying meal for a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: Eat out! Or take your own for lodge
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem. The accommodation - perfection. The owners Ian and Jane look after you very well. Mic the restaurant manager certainly knows his job and goes out of his way to make you welcome. But the highlight is the fine dining - as although we have eaten in many different establishments both in the UK and abroad we have never had food to compare with Ian's dishes - perfection.
P.S. The dog enjoyed herself too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at charge Illey die in April through Secret Escapes.
I've never been up to that part of the country before so we made a weekend of it visiting Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Morton Castle before hitting the
Blackaddie.
It's on the edge of a small village, set in beautiful Scottish countryside.
The hotel itself was nice and set to improve as the owners have plans for refurbishment. We were in the Mallard room which had the most amazing view over a small stream running through the green fields. Genuinely picture postcard view.
When we saw the menu for the fine dining restaurant it looked amazing and the hotel had no problem allowing us to it grade which was grant because the meal that
followed was the best my wife and I have eaten as a couple.
Ian McAndrew is the real deal. Course after course of sublime food, from confit of Chicken with chargrilled watermelon, beautifully cooked trio of pork, an amazing banana dessert and more. Absolutely superb food. Nice wine too!
Slept really well overnight and breakfast the following morning was again superb.
I chatted to Ian's wife a bit in the morning and she's so friendly.
The Blackaddie is a must visit place. I really can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Excellent stay in one of the lodges with our dog. The staff are very welcoming and some truly excellent walks in the area. The food is Mitchelin star quality, very intimate dining but with exceptionally friendly and well informed staff. Can't recommend a stay here highly enough.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just spent three nights at this delightful country hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard with an efficient and effective jacuzzi bath and large super king size bed in the Ptarmigan room.

The food could not be faulted with a varied menu each day cooked to order on what felt like a personal basis by the owner Chef, Ian. It was close to having your own cordon bleu chef dealing your personal needs. Who could want more!

It was immediately apparent that the staff worked well as a team, with the attentive Maître D, Michael going out of his way to make us feel like valued customers, who will endeavour to return.

Alongside Ian was his Wife Jane who was quite obviously passionate about getting things right. It certainly worked for us and I have no reservations about recommending Blackaddie House to anyone wanting personal service in what can be a stunning area of Southern Scotland when the sun shines beautifully over the neighbouring hillsides like it did for us. Peace, tranquility and exceptional food.

Room Tip: Our superior refurbished room was very well apportioned.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talkstoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews