We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food of dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel and we have to report that we had a most enjoyable visit topped off by the utterly wonderful food on offer. My wife and I enjoy eating out whenever we can and have dined at most of the best eateries that Glasgow has to offer yet none of those establishments could match the dinners we had over both nights of our stay! Indeed, the only other meal that was comparable was a stupendous meal we had at Bohemia on Jersey four years ago. Take a bow Ian McAndrew! A friendly front of house welcome from Jane, Ian's wife, was also on offer and our thanks are also extended to Michael, the bar and restaurant manager who was very professional and efficient in ensuring that the whole dinner experience was a joy from start to finish.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed recently at the Blackaddie, where we found the food to be of outstanding quality and presentation. The food is truly of Michelin Star quality, and it can only be a matter of time before chef Ian Mcandrew achieves this status for Blackaddie.

The added bonus of the luxury accommodation amidst a tranquil riverside location makes this establishment a must for those who enjoy fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: The grouse room, spacious with four poster bed and wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at this country retreat last night on the edge of the village of Sanquhar and less than 50 minutes from Ayr. Looking for a night away, but not wishing to have a lengthy journey, Blackaddie fitted the bill perfectly. Owned and run by Ian and Jane McAndrew, this 8 bedroom hotel is set in its own 2 acres of grounds bordering on the river Nith. A very warm and friendly welcome awaited our arrival, and after being shown to our comfortable and cosy room, was followed by a relaxing cup of tea in the library. Despite the atrocious weather outside Jane was attentive to our every need and encouraged you to "make yourself at home". Pre dinner drinks in the bar accompanied by mis en bouche were followed by what can only be described as a dinner of gastronomic quality and presentation. The Salmon and Trout mousseline and pork terrine starters were masterpieces of flavour, followed by confit duck legs with pressed potatoes and puy lentils. Pannacota and a cheeseboard, completed this superb meal, accompanied by a superb Aussie red from Ian's extensive and varied wine cellar. Truly a meal to remember and certainly worthy of a Michelin star by any standards. Our visit was completed by not just any old breakfast, but by more freshly cooked local ingredients presented in a continuing appetising manner, that really tasted as good as they looked.

It was with a tinge of regret that we left to continue our journey, but we will most certainly return to savour more of Blackaddie's gourmet food and hospitality. This hotel should certainly be on every food lovers "must visit" list.

Room Tip: Try the master bedroom with giant four poster bed and luxury slate tiled bathroom with jaccuzzi bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodanthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed at Blackaddie for a second time last night. Ian is a fabulous chef and the 7 course gourmet dinner did not disappoint and indeed was as good as any meal I can remember, including several Michelin starred restaurants. Our room was well appointed with a comfortable super-king bed and super shower and spa bath. We'll certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Ptarmigan is a comfortable room and dog-friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godfrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Food was out of this world. Bedroom (partridge) was very spacious with a great shower and bath, and probably the most spacious, most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. The owners were away when we were there -- we were instead very well looked after by Mick. Not a huge amount to do in Sanquhar itself but this helps keep things tranquil.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is our second visit to Blackaddie Country House Hotel, and with rooms perfectly renovated to an extremely high standard, once again Ian has taken us on a food experience that only dreams are made of! This is not just dining, but a fine art and a pure delight to the palate.

With warm and welcoming staff, this hotel is an absolute hidden jewel. We will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a river view - beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had I not knitted a pair of Sanquhar gloves for our future daughter-in-law we might have never found Blackaddie - and what a find it has been for us. Ian and Jane are wonderful hosts, the hotel is fantastic and we have seen some of the refurb that is going on. The food is fabulous - no pub grub here - only the best ingredients that are lovingly prepared, cooked and presented for you.

The whiskey collection behind the bar is worth considering.

We have stayed at Blackaddie in May last year and returned again in August this year. it was a wonderful place to chill out and relax and 'just be'. My husband is a keen fisherman and delights in fishing the Nith. So we will be going back again to Blackaddie next year. It is such a pity that we cannot stay more frequently.

Do consider staying at Blackaddie if you are visiting Scotland.

Room Tip: Ask for a "premier" room - they've been beautifully refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
18.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
212 reviews
12.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
19.4 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
279 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackaddie Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Address: Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Price Range: $628 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackaddie Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed comfortable award-winning 4 star restaurant with rooms in beautiful surroundings with fantastic food and friendly staff on the banks of the river Nith in Dumfries and Galloway. Close to Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries House and Crawick Multiverse. Fishing available. On the Southern Upland Way in beautiful walking and cycling country. Next door to a swimming pool with golf course less than 1/2 mile away. Only 45 miles from Glasgow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackaddie Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing