We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just spent three nights in one of the self-catering cottages in the dog friendly Blackaddie Country House Hotel but after having dinner in the restaurant the first night, there seemed no point in bothering with cooking for ourselves. Ian and Jane run a first class establishment and obviously are continuing to improve the hotel over time. The staff is friendly and know their stuff.

By all means treat yourself to the Cooking Day with Ian. This was my anniversary gift from my wife and I had a great time and learned so much. Ingredients are sourced locally and many things come directly out of his gardens and greenhouse. We are so pleased we stayed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 374 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our second short break at Blackaddie and Ian McAndrew continues to produce the most wonderful and beautifully presented food - of Michelin-starred standard but at a considerable discount to what one would pay for example in Edinburgh. The tremendous standard is also carried forward from dinner to breakfast. Service is efficient and friendly.
The nine rooms are in the process of being refurbished and reorganised into six, such that a higher standard will compliment the dining experience. Currently only one of the refurbished rooms is available and, in the meantime, the original rooms are rather dated, although perfectly clean and comfortable.
The food alone, however, makes a stay here, at a location alongside the River Nith, an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stopped in for lunch and had a fantastic meal. We stumbled upon this place on a road trip of Dumfries & Galloway and had a wonderful lunch. The owners are in the process of upgrading the rooms, but if their care at this is as good as in the dining room, then the rooms will be wonderful.
The food was delicious and beautifully presented with very good service - we can certainly recommend it as a place to eat. A lovely setting right on a river with great views of the hills.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AitchX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from another fabulous weekend at Blackaddie House. The food is excellent as are the staff and accommodation. You feel totally relaxed in the surroundings and a walk by the river clears the cobwebs away. We shall be returning to see what new delights they have on the menu. There are so many places to visit from here - we visited Culzean Castle this time.

Room Tip: A room with a view looking on to the river is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linedancer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Comfortable rooms - ours had a superb view over the river. Dinner was outstanding, Michelin star level. Breakfast excellent. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen_tilsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

A group of 10 took over the hotel for 2 nights and a good time was had by all. The food is out of this world - I don't think I have ever tasted such brilliant food. Chef and owner Ian McAndrew was the youngest ever Michelin star holder at a previous restaurant. I cannot understand why he hasn't got one at this hotel.
The rooms are in the progress of a massive refurbishment/redesign with the original 9 rooms being made into 6. We stayed in the only one so far to be finished and it was a delight. Beautifully furnished and with a fantastic bathroom - jaccuzzi and separate shower. When the rest have been done this will be THE place to stay in Dumfries and Galloway.
Ian and Jane Mc Andrew went out of their way to make our time with them memorable.

The hotel is in an ideal location for visits to Dumfries House and Drumlandrig Castle, not forgetting the Lead Mine museum. If driving along the A74(M) leave at junction 14 and come down the valley on the B7040 and B797. Even in poor weather it is a lovely run.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed the 7 course gourmet menu with matching wines and can honestly say that this was on one of the best meals I have had in a long time. Good service, friendly staff and a great breakfast the next morning all helped to make my stay highly memorable. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markspoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
12.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
0.4 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
212 reviews
18.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
23 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
11.1 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackaddie Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Address: Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Price Range: $230 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackaddie Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed comfortable award-winning 4 star restaurant with rooms in beautiful surroundings with fantastic food and friendly staff on the banks of the river Nith in Dumfries and Galloway. Close to Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries House and Crawick Multiverse. Fishing available. On the Southern Upland Way in beautiful walking and cycling country. Next door to a swimming pool with golf course less than 1/2 mile away. Only 45 miles from Glasgow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blackaddie Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing