We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and friendly”
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Value and friendly”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - lovely quiet location, close to Matlock Bath , room spacious , clean and food good quality and locally sourced. The staff were excellent , nothing too much trouble, very friendly and helpful.
Can't praise it enough.
Shall return again and reccommend to friends!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    89
    36
    21
    9
See reviews for
87
163
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Perhaps we were unlucky that the manager and the chef were both off when we visited. The room was nice and the hotel in a lovely setting, our first dinner was dreadful, veg that had obviously been kept hot for hours, my steak (I asked for medium) was well done and tough, my wifes' chicken was dry and tough. Breakfast the next day was as bad, all items cooked for hours and kept hot, waited 20 mins for toast. There were no comments that we left our meals, the staff just took the full plates back to the kitchen. While we were out during the day the maintenance man decided to do some decorating in our room, he moved our cases under a window because they were in his way and left the window(a large sash) fully open to reduce paint smells. During the afternoon there was a heavy rainstorm which flooded our bathroom, the cases and all the personal belonings on the windowsill.
We went downstairs to get someone to clean-up and said at reception that it would be a courtesy to guests if we could be advised at breakfast that the room was being decorated during our stay so that we could arrange our things accordingly. The maintenance man took exception to this and this culminated in a stand-up row with him, whilst other staff looked on aghast.
We received an apology form the manager when she returned, and a coupon for a free nights accommodation, but we returned this as we could never stay there whilst the hanyman was still employed there. It was a really dreadful experience and we left after two nights, although we had booked three.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minitemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Superb location. Great views. We stayed here for the weekend as friends were getting married. Great idea to have everything under one roof. Breakfast was OK, wedding breakfast catered for all food tastes. Plenty of food. Hotel staff very friendly & very helpful. Shower not the hottest, but adequate. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5onic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

initially the hotel lookeed great,lovely location,peacefull.
the rooms were grubby,cobwebs etc.no television reception,no hot water in shower,fortunately we had a bath which did have hot water.
sunday lunch was not good tough beef poor quality lamb.
the breakfast was dreadful,burnt egg,burnt bacon.
no apologies
not going back again,nor should you
pablo y elena

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedroyelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We married at Alison House on a weekend in June 2010 with our close friends and family around. We hired the hotel for the full weekend exclusively for ourselves and guests. On booking the hotel we were told it would cost £2000 for the hire of a marquee, we did not not want a large plastic white marquee spoling the atmosphere or the fantastic gardens and views of the lovely old house, but that was what we got so pictures had to be re-thought! not a great start. As the weekend progressed it did get better the food was lovely and the chef was only too happy to help, the BBQ on the friday was a great hit with all guests and the wedding breakfast choosen by ourselves was very well done. The staff stayed with us throughout the weekend and they were all very helpful and polite nothing was too much. The Arkwright suite was wonderful, a roll top bath in the largest bathroom ever seen in a hotel and fanastic picture perfect views, again spoilt by a large white plastic marquee. I would recommend this lovely old house for any couple wanting to get married only if you do not want a marquee like us find out if it will be there, or if you do and have a large party you will be charged for it and it would be there anyway!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our friends that we spent the weekend with stayed in the cottage next to the hotel it had mixed smells of dog cigerettes and damp.The decor was of a sale room,awful.
Our room was just big enough to swing a cat but you needed to be very clever to use the hair dryer in conjunction with the mirror as the only mirror was in the bathroom but the plug was in the bedroom.
The shower mat had seen better days and general standards were well below those of what is expected in a guest house let alone a hotel.
On booking we expected we had vacate our room by eleven but a sign in the room made it quite clear we had to vacate our room by ten-no great loss as we wanted to be away just the breakfast to look forward to as it stated how wonderful the local sausages and bacon was.
the breakfast was swimming in some liquid after three requests for extra toast we eventually recieved some but my wife after requesting mustard on two occasions gave up.The sausages weighed up our weekend in this hotel,so very dissapointing

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterfru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east england,uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

A lovely hotel, very chilled, and so friendly nothing was too much trouble. we stayed in the annex in a small room which was quaint and cosy. Every room is difference and as we were in a large party we checked all the rooms out,the hotel is like a rabbit warren as there is many staircases and ways in and out, which all just adds to its charm.
The Whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and rooms are cleaned daily with new towels but i am sure if you needed anything you would only have to ask.The breakfasts put many hotels to shame, there was plenty of choice and could do anything you really wanted.
you can also hire the whole hotel and if i lived nearer to it i would !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
7.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
8.3 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Property: Alison House Hotel
Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing