We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic wedding venue”
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We held our civil partnership at Alison House Hotel, Cromford on Saturday 20th April 2013. And it was perfect!

From our very first visit to our return today (one month later) Sharon and her team have been fantastic. All of the staff helped to ensure that the preparations for the big day went smoothly. They helped find practical and cost-effective solutions to any problems and reminded us of things that we had overlooked. On the day, the staff were professional and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The venue itself was ideal for our needs – with just 28 guests including ourselves – but the grounds are lovely and the option of a marquee makes it suitable for larger weddings as well.
The ceremony and the reception were both held in the dining room. The room was transformed after the breakfast sitting. The room was light and airy but had a special intimacy that suited our occasion. Following the ceremony, there was opportunity for people to have a drink and mingle, while the staff reset the room for our meal (delicious afternoon tea, including local Bakewell Tarts and homemade lemonade).

The dining room was used again for the evening meal. All of the food was delicious and guests were impressed by the choice of four options for the main course (at no extra charge to us).
We made use of the lounge for photographs and as somewhere for people to gather before the ceremony and evening meal. We used the garden room for our evening entertainment – allowing us more space and flexibility.

Many of the guests stayed for the whole weekend and so were able to enjoy all of the hotel’s facilities, including an impressive breakfast menu (again the standard of food was excellent – we even want back tonight for a celebratory meal). There didn’t seem to be any problems with any of the rooms – and, again, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff.

A special mention must go to Sharon, who absolutely works her socks off and runs the hotel with a big smile and great skill. Her no-nonsense, practical attitude is a blessing, especially in the wedding industry where so many people try to sell you as much as they can. We were pleasantly surprised when we received the final bill and could not believe the value.

We were delighted to find such a gem tucked away in the Derbyshire Dales. We live nearby and will be visiting regularly. If you are looking for a wedding venue in Derbyshire then we can highly recommend Alison House Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KellyNicholls27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 392 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely hotel with stunning views and lovely grounds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed the one night to attend a wedding reception in Matlock Bath which is a short taxi journey or good 10 -15 min walk. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Could not fault this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we recently had our wedding at Alison House, (10th May) and want to thank all the staff for making our day just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and all our family and friends without exception thought it couldn't have been better. Some of our party arrived on Thursday, we had the whole hotel on friday and most of us stayed until Sunday, infact everyone had such a great time we are planning a 'wedding renunion' for next year!! therefore nothing else needs to be said. Wonderful time had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTW368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My sister had her wedding at Alison House on 10 May and it was a wonderful time. All the staff were very hard working and attentive to make this a memorable occasion. The grounds are beautiful and the house lovely. Would recommend Alison House Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have just spent the weekend here to celebrate friends getting married, a beautiful venue with all needs catered for, very comfortable accomodation set in lovely grounds, the staff were always friendly and happy and nothing was too much trouble, very attentive to all guests. would reccomend to all friends who need a good function for any party celebration.

Room Tip: choice of cottage rooms attached to the hotel, very quiet as its tucked away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 532Dawn532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were over for a concert in Matlock Bath (an easy 10 minute walk away) and after a long drive it was great to be greeted The staff were really nice and helpful, giving us directions and telling us where else we could eat even though they have a restaurant in the hotel.
The room we stayed in (a room in a separate house beside the hotel) was perfectly adequate. The beds were quite creaky but the shower was lovely and strong. It could have done with a bit of freshening up but it was clean and tidy.
The dining room is something else though. Immaculate! They obviously spend their money making sure the main hotel is perfect.
The breakfast was fantastic. A really good range of cooked items and all prepared fresh. A decent selection of juices, fruit, yogurts, cereals, anything you could want.
It was also in a really quiet spot with no traffic going by and it is well signposted and easy to find.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosthesnake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Alison House on a visit to Chatsworth House and the Peak District. This hotel is in a very good location as a base to visit the most popular attractions in the Peak District. It is a hotel with character, set in lovely gardens, with wonderful views. The room was very comfortable and clean .. very comfy bed!
Maybe needs updating slightly, but didn't spoil our stay in any way.
The staff were very friendly and helpful .. making it feel very homely.
Breakfast has lots of variety and was well cooked, as was the evening meal in the restaurant.
Enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby6859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.3 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,076 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range: $69 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing