We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant at Cromford is a unique historical building, built by the 18th century industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright, the pleasing ambiance with informal seating, high quality and great value service are the cornerstones of our customer offer to guests. The perfect place from which to explore the many attractions of the Peak District. Relax and enjoy a diverse range of food and drinks for every occasion. Serving everything, from our mouth watering confit pork belly, to the heavenly steak and BBQ brisket burger. Please note we have a changing menu so there is always something different.From our Lunch menu with sandwiches to our Light lunch and early bird menu and a la carte. Sunday lunch highly reviewed. Our handcrafted wine bar stocks over 70 artisan wines from across the world, along with local and international beers, real ales and barista made coffees, our gin range offers over 20 styles.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Paul and Tina took such wonderful care of me during my stay at their lovely Greyhound Hotel.

This place is a piece of living history - and my room was ever so lovely!

...oh, and breakfast was AMAZING!

Thank you...

Thank LuxuriousNomad_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments, looking forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends met here one Monday evening for dinner.
The pub has been beautifully renovated and looks absolutely amazing.
The bar staff were lovely and polite.
The food was very mixed, we had a sharing starter and that was delicious but we were unimpressed with our uninspiring mains. My friend had a pasta dish that was very oily and bland. We did tell the waiting on staff and they were fantastic, my friend picked something else that came, that was delicious.
Myself and friend had the goats cheese and med veg but it was very dry with chips to accompany. No salad or peas so the plate looked uninspiring. Unfortunately there was no kind of sauce so the pastry and chips were dry together and I honestly tasted no goats cheese at all even though this is quite a strong taste. We ate it because it wasn’t awful but was very average in my opinion.
Maybe we just picked the wrong mains for us?
Would we go again for food as locals? No probably not but because of the hospitality of the staff and the lovely interior we will most defiantly return for drinks.

Thank siobhan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Thank you for the taking the time to feedback your comments on your visit, we are sorry you did not experience food cooked to your liking, we have taken up these comments with the chef team.We have a new menu coming soon so hope you can come and taste new dishes. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Wow! This is a great place to eat. Excellent is probably not high enough of a description. Flavour fantastic and portions leave you comfortably satisfied.

We’ll be back

1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit staying at the ever delightful Greyhound. As usual there was a wonderful warm welcome after another long drive. The room was as usual spotlessly clean, modern and the modern decor perfect. I ate in the restaurant and had the Barnsley chop which was absolutely epic as all the food seems to be! Couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough either for business travellers or coupled looking for something a little different. 5* I will definitely be returning again.

Thank garystewart2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

What a treat it was to eat here. We were in a large party, so between us all we sampled everything off the menu and no one was disappointed. You know you’ve had good food when your fellow dinners are still talking about it the next day.

1  Thank LeedsTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback, we welcome your kind comments, looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing