We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit - delicious homemade food!”

The Market Place Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - delicious homemade food!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Gorgeous homemade food in a cosy setting. Main Course & Desserts were delicious.
Memorable evening celebrating our Wedding Anniversary.
The restaurant is worth a visit, especially for a special occasion, you need to book though, and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    58
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Are we lucky this is our Local!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After Sunday lunch "Jo" gave us a look at the new area at the rear. Things only get better!, the staff here are fantastic and welcoming , the choice on the menu even the trip back in time with a sizzling steak/chicken etc, I just love working my way through the menu and now, with the lighter meal option in the new extension . Brilliant , keep it up

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited here after reading good reviews and we were not disappointed. We did book in advance(it was advised) the choice of food was good,the service was excellent as was our food,tasty,hot and plenty of it.Only slight downside your clothes do smell of smoke when leaving nothing that a washing machine can't fix!A great evening:)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

It's no secret that this is our favourite restaurant in the area and this time we visited the restaurant with friends who were dining here for the first time. We were seated promptly upon arriving at the restaurant and were allowed to relax and take our time choosing from the menu.
As usual the food was wonderful and we were spoiled for choice, but who can resist steaks on the iron with baby roasted potatoes. Our guests remarked that it was the best meal they had tasted and have already booked to visit here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaddyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Run Business, Great Value!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

this is a small restaurant in a nice village, amazing food, fantastic staff and amazing value! I eat here regularly with friends and family! I would recommend anyone to try it! its a small restaurant, romantic, with great food and service!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Place Restaurant also viewed

Cromford, Derbyshire
Cromford, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Market Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing