We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Great Part of the Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willersley Castle Hotel
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent a night here on our way to Wales, liked it so stopped off again on the way back home. Large comfortable room with large bathroom. Great views from the bedroom window - meadow and river with craggy cliff. Stunning location, old hotel with bags of character, and old world charm. Large grounds to walk round. Staff very helpful and polite. Good breakfast - buffet style, with plenty of choice. Evening meal is at a set time and set menu with a few choices, but having said that, the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Willersley Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 323 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked Willersley Castle for my mother's 80th birthday lunch, so 45 people, many of quite advanced years, assembled on Sunday midday for lunch. It was very good. The management were most helpful throughout the planning, offering their advice and suggestions. On the day the operations manager (did not record her name - apologies) was extremely helpful, and the staff provided everything we wanted.
It was the perfect combination of low key elegance and relaxed atmosphere. The food was plenty good enough, not the finest gastronomic meal I have ever eaten but probably spot on given the target demographic, and the price was very reasonable too.
I would thoroughly recommend Willersley Castle for similar functions.

Room Tip: There is a limited amount of parking immediately outside the hotel, so drop off and unload first bef...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a great one night stay here in June. Superb view from my room. The pool was small but empty so I enjoyed using it both days. The food was mainly good and the staff very helpful. I was there as part of a conference but there were other guests there too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I have not stayed here yet. This is a review about the customer service.
We called in to have a look around, with a view to a future booking. Every member of staff was very accommodating and helpful. The Castle is in such a beautiful location, i can't wait to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONEST_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is breathtaking as you pull up the drive the staff and Kevin gm were fantastic during our stay the view was stunning from the 3 huge windows in our room the room some would say was dated but was clean and had all you would need the decor suited the setting the breakfast was great value for money and again breakfast service from the staff was fantastic the private pool was a little oasis and me and my boyfriend who aren't catholic or walkers and are 30 yrs old will defiantly be returning asap would highly recommend this hotel if you need to relax and switch off from the daily grind!

Thanks to all the team

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmamarie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was definitely not worth the £80.00 we spent for 1 night. The room we were given was not even in the main building, but an additional run-down building to the side. Our room was tiny and in desperate need of renovation. The bathroom was appalling, I can't begin to describe it. The wallpaper, bed sheets, curtains, light fittings, carpet, I could go on, were all dirty and dated. The whole building had a damp and dirty smell. There was a crack in the bedroom window and our 'view' was of bins and waste. The staff were not friendly. This hotel was not worth £20.00 per night let alone £80.00

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, General Manager at Willersley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Miss Z

Thank you for your interesting review of Willersley Castle Hotel. The building that you stayed in is the Mews Annexe which it clearly stated you may be in throughout your booking. This buillding is the old stable block and has some quirky shaped rooms due to the nature of the 230 year old building, none of them I might add look over the bins.

Some of our rooms are indeed in need of refurbishment and our on going maintenance schedule continues to work its way around the buildings.

Willersley Castle Hotel is a beautiful building but it isnt to everyones taste and we do recognise this, what is most dissapointing is that you failed to mention any of your disappointment to the Duty Manager who may have been able to help.

Your comment on the unfriendly staff surprises me as we have an excellant reputation for customer care. Indeed if you observed the other reviews you would see that generally guests think our staff are more than helpful and very pleasant. If you wish to let me know what the issue was I would welcome your contact either by phone or by email on kevin.willersley@christianguild.co.uk.

You were clearly unhappy with your stay and for this I would like to apologise, however there is little we can do after the event and had you discussed this with the Duty Manager we could have probably rectified your concerns. With regards to the cost of your 1 night break, our tariff is comparable to other local hotels and B&B's in the area and have comparable bedrooms.

On the whole our reviews are good and it is very much individual perception as to whether the hotel is good value or not. Our high percentage of return guests suggest that the majority of guests are pleased with what they get.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Kevin George
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A second visit. Thanks to the Operations Manager for sorting out our booking at 10:30pm - which I'd failed to book correctly.

As the reviews state, this hotel is simply decorated but the staff and other guests are very friendly. Come ready to have a chat over breakfast and a smile from all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maud180291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
18.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,805 reviews
11.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willersley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willersley Castle Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cromford DE4 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cromford
Price Range: $80 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willersley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willersley Castle is a 200 year old Grade II listed building, commissioned by the great industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright. It occupies a magnificent position on the edge of the Peak District, overlooking the River Derwent.Designed in the Georgian style, Willersley Castle stands in 60 acres of grounds ranging from meadows to limestone crags, on the outskirts of Cromford, just south of the spa town of Matlock Bath.It makes an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District National Park. With its dramatic gritstone edges and vibrant limestone valleys, Derbyshire is a walkers’ and climbers’ paradise, full of geological gems like the show-caverns at Castleton and the imposing cliffs of Matlock Bath.The area is steeped in history, from the grandeur of Chatsworth House to the elegance of the spa town of Buxton and the rich industrial heritage of Wirksworth, Cromford, and the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Willersley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willersley Castle Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing