We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious - no. Comfortable - yes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Willersley Castle Hotel
Stoke
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Luxurious - no. Comfortable - yes.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We visited Willersley as part of a church group. This was our fourth time here. Our group was much smaller than the last time and so there was much less pressure on the staff, particularly at mealtimes, so service was better. The regular staff are very helpful but some of the newer staff did seem to need a bit more training on how to serve food and collect dishes. Our room was, as usual, clean and tidy and this year I managed to get the radio to work. A couple of our friends had a disquieting experience, literally, as previous guests had set the alarm for very early. Please note -no TVs in rooms. We did have a room at the front facing across the valley which was a big plus.
There were mixed views on the food. We thought it not so good as previous years but others disagreed.
There are great walks from the Castle. We managed to make it down to Cromford Mill for the first time which overall we found a bit disappointing.
Our church voted to return next year and we will almost certainly return as well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasdrubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    108
    39
    22
    22
See reviews for
48
134
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a terrible place to stay. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, there is too much yummy food, it is far too comfortable and too hot. But on a positive note, no TVs in the rooms, peace and quiet, fantastic views, lovely surroundings. The wifi is limited in range, so you probably need to sit in the hallway or lounge. Some friends claim they can get it in their rooms above reception, but never in the rooms I've been in. Last time I could get the wifi signal but couldn't access the internet (the staff acknowledged there was a problem) I stay here for three nights every November for a conference every years since 1993. I keep trying to persuade the conference organisers to move somewhere closer to where I live. I suspect if they did move it they would be lynched. It is not perfect, some of the rooms have ill-fitting windows and not all en-suite rooms have showers, but allowances have to be made for the age of the buildings. The Mews, slightly further up the hill, is a little more private. Even further up is the relatively new swimming pool (y wife loves it - I never use it). The cost is for evening meal, bed and breakfast. Because it is a hotel and conference centre you can get quite a mixed bunch of people. Back in September I found myself amongst a group of over-80s dancers. The one (real) drawback is that the converted the snooker room into a meeting room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greavsie1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

One of favourite places to get away for a weekend. Can't afford to stay longer, but beautiful location. Lots of short walks. Swimming pool provision is very generous as all half board evening meals and massive breakfasts. Lots of elderly, regular guests. They make a real fuss of our young family.

Room Tip: overlooking front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a family gathering for 35 of us to celebrate the birthdays of my wife and I. This meant catering for all age ranges from 2 years to almost 80 years. The families were thrilled by the position and the character of the hotel and the wonderful views from their comfortable rooms. The swimming pool was in constant use and thoroughly enjoyed by all. Our celebratory meal was in a separate room which meant that although it was noisy at times because of the young children there was little disturbance to other guests. The food for the dinner was excellent as it was for breakfast the following day.

The service could not have been better, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we would give particular thanks to Sharon who organised the whole event with great care and professionalism. The religious orientation of the organisation which owns the hotel was only evident in the care and consideration we were accorded by the staff. Overall we had a wonderful celebration and cannot speak too highly of the hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booked last minute , cracking deal on two rooms, dinner bed and breakfast. Took two of our kids , Jessica's 7th birthday so came prepared with cake and candles !
We love stately home type Hotels, this one is run by the Christian Guild, we are not in the least religious , most of the other guests were quite senior but very nice and friendly.
Anne on reception could not have been more helpful, Imke the manager ditto, organised for cake to be brought into dining room with candles as a suprise and everyone sang happy birthday.
Negatives,not many , no tv's in bedrooms and dinner is at 6.30,one sitting ( good fun though ) and the Hotel would benefit from some updating.
Positives, loads, great location,fab views,really nice gardens , short walk to Matlock Bath and Matlock, huge new pool, very friendly staff and guests, food good and really plentiful.
We will return :-)

Room Tip: Stay in the main house, rooms are available in the mews a few meters away but are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel-guest45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Willersley for a short break of 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Superbly positioned for Matlock and the Derbyshire Dales, and in a stunning position overlooking the River Derwent. Staff at the hotel were welcoming, and the room very good value for money. FANTASTIC buffet breakfast which set us up for the day! Matlock Bath is a lovely short walk along the river bank past Masson Mill and the weir, and there are some lovely paths around the hotel for a wander during the day. Cromford Mill and the canal are at the bottom of the sweeping drive. The swimming pool was clean and looks very new... a great way to relax after lots of walking (and you can count the rabbits outside as you are swimming up and down!) All in all, a lovely welcoming hotel and we will definitely book to stay again.

Room Tip: Fantastic views from the rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Christian run, converted castle type hotel aprox 20 mins drive from Alton towers - which was the sole reason for our stay. Only a 2 min drive away from Matlock, where there are some nice little bars and places to eat. Hotel was undergoing some renovations, so soem scaffolding to the side. The Hotel is very 'religious' in decor/pics/ornaments etc, and we are not religious. However dont let this put you off in any way. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice, and the price of £50 a night for a double was great for its location. Our room had a fab view out over the nearby river and bed was extremely comfy. There was a restaurant downstairs, however we got food in Matlock, so cant comment on what the food it like. Would highly recommend and would stay there on our next visit to Alton towers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charrison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
6.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willersley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willersley Castle Hotel

Property: Willersley Castle Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cromford DE4 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Willersley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willersley Castle is a 200 year old Grade II listed building, commissioned by the great industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright. It occupies a magnificent position on the edge of the Peak District, overlooking the River Derwent.Designed in the Georgian style, Willersley Castle stands in 60 acres of grounds ranging from meadows to limestone crags, on the outskirts of Cromford, just south of the spa town of Matlock Bath.It makes an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District National Park. With its dramatic gritstone edges and vibrant limestone valleys, Derbyshire is a walkers’ and climbers’ paradise, full of geological gems like the show-caverns at Castleton and the imposing cliffs of Matlock Bath.The area is steeped in history, from the grandeur of Chatsworth House to the elegance of the spa town of Buxton and the rich industrial heritage of Wirksworth, Cromford, and the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Willersley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willersley Castle Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing