We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Caldana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Montebelli. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was very kind and helpful. Everyone did their best to make us feel at home - they even prepared a beautiful chocolate cake for our daughter's 4th birthday! You can certainly spend your day at the hotel lounging around the pool but there is also lots to do in the area. We spent a day at the beach, took a day-trip to hot springs and had dinners in Caldana and Gavoranno. A+ vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goinplaces08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hello dear goinplaces08,
A+ guests deserve an A+ vacation. Don't you agree? You've been very proactive both on and off our premises. I agree there is also so much to do and to see outside of Montebelli. The area here is blessed with such beautiful sceneries, cultural sites, beaches, mountains and lots more. Thank you very much for the lovely review.
A kiss to your little girl and we hope to welcome you again in our big Montebelli Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 504 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our experience in Montebelli as a family of 5 (with 3 kids under the age of 11) was beyond our expectations:

They have excellent food. It is very delicious. There are 4-5 courses every night which give you quite a variety of taste. And the fact that the owner family dines there every night and shares the same food with you, makes you even more sure about the quality of the food and the cleanliness of the preparation.

The whole area is very safe for children. Our three kids aged 11 and 9 (twin daughters) easily roamed around the premises during the day and night times. They were quite comfortable with the staff who especially made the children feel very much at home. Once they found the cook and asked for a snack and he gave them a big bag of crackers as a gift. The fact that the dining area is in the older original part of the setting, makes it seem as if one big italian family is having a lovely dinner. It is nice that they kept the authenticity.

The kids-They went around around the whole area at nights ( the dogs who are owned by the owners of Montebelli) provided a feeling of safety and authenticity to us (although we don't own pets) so as parents we felt very comfortable regarding the safety and comfort of the kids.

My husband who is a national swimmer in Turkey especially enjoyed the pool which was bigger than what he and I expected. We spent much time enjoying the pool.

Alessandro the Manager of the hotel prepared a special birthday party for my husband out on the mountain and it had this theme of South Africa where we had a big fire, music for all ( the kids dancing in the middle) they carried many many tables out to the hill and made this amazing fish cooked in salt and great FABULA wine ( which is an awarded organic delicious wine which gives absolutely no hangover-tested;-) and a lovely millefeulle cake-all very gourmet and very romantic-great for a surprise birthday or proposal or wedding anniversary or even for kids parties. Alessandro went out of his way to make us feel at home ( in fact he does that to all the guests as his cell phone number is in the room next to the receptions number!)

We also went horseback riding both as a family and once separately with my husband. And we rode to the famous Montebelli tree where it is possible to meditate or simply take in the view and we rode through the vineyards (we are not horseback riding people but they have great trainers working in Montebelli so although it was our first time we were comfortable) and the grapes were almost ready to harvest so this was an extra beautiful touch.

Overall as the owners of Montebelli live and breathe and eat and ride and swim there themselves, they made sure there is a sense of quality and authenticity which reflects the culture and region-in every detail. We enjoyed staying in the new building and the spa was great too by the way, Sabrina is a great maseuse and reiki practitioner so that was another surprise.

WHEN WE WALKED IN TO MONTEBELLİ THE FIRST THİNG THE OWNING FAMILY: CARLA, LEO, RENZO, ALESSANDRO AND GİULIO TOLD US WAS: RELAX , ENJOY... So RELAX...ENJOY...

Room Tip: The old buildings rooms have the best Toscany view but the new rooms have better AC and newer bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YESIMDERVISOGLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Yesim,
I am sorry it took me a while to respond to your lovely review but we have been so busy. Anyway, here I am saying thank you a thousand times on behalf of all of us as your words of appreciation make us speechless. It's been a pleasure having you and we are particularly happy you felt a warm family welcome.
Come back soon! Un grande abbraccio (this means a big hug), from us all.
The Montebelli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

An atypical visit I suspect staying just one nigt on the way to Elba, but the location is a beautifu green oasis, the rooms lovely and large and clean and smart, the staff charming and the food delicious. The pool is somewhat small but there is lots of green space and the place would be a good base fo rthe region as well as for horse riding. The buildings are mainly modern so lack some charm from the outside, but the bedrooms are very smart inside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear ADL79,
first of all thank you for writing such a lovely review. From what I understood you must have slept in the country hotel as you speak of rooms without charm. Indeed, the 4Star Country Hotel is totally modern whereas the Agriturismo is definitely more traditional in style. It has tuscan antique furnishings, terracotta floors and a very natural country-like flair. Maybe, if you wish to come back for a visit, this might be a better solution for you. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon.
Warmest regards and thank you once again for being so nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wonderful location in Tuscany offering peace & quiet as well as many outdoor activities to those who are interested. Worth highlighting the superb spa which we really enjoyed. The food was great and the service was excellent and personalized-- we felt the touch of the charming family/owners who made us feel at home. We will surely be back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank selimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteb11, Public Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi selimone,
grazie, grazie, grazie mille! That is exactly how we want you to feel.....AT HOME! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. How about a Spa break?
A big Ciao from the Montebelli Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Beautiful location, luxurious bathrooms, tasteful spa, excellent cuisine, great starting point for mountainbike or horseback excursions, great beaches only 15 minutes away by car. Excellent, personalised service by the wonderful Neapolitain family with South African roots that has transformed this old Tuscan farm into a magic place that somehow manages to unite Italian hospitality with the tranquil magic of Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonasB516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Jonas,
thank you for your generous review. I am glad you could appreciate the tranquil atmosphere of our premises. Just wanted to rectify though the distance to the sea; it takes 20 minutes to the closest beach which is Castiglione della Pescaia. Maybe you drive a Ferrari?
Warm regards from us all and hope to see you again soon.
Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A fabulous week at Montebelli and we'll be back. Our two teens played tennis, swam, played in the gardens with other children, went horse riding and just basically had a blast while we chilled by the pool and I listened to the cricket because of the fast free wifi throughout the hotel. The pool was superb, the food terrific, the rooms clean, comfy and just about right. It's not a room service escape...but it is a rustic, perfect, relaxing, peaceful hideaway....it is close tone beaches but one visit for us was enough....they make bank holiday Monday at Blackpool look like a desert. As a couple of small points, I think Montebelli should put a small fridge in the rooms, it wouldn't cost much but in the height of summer it is a major hassle not having one... plus the prices for the evening meals are a bit toppy particularly for families.....I'm sure the many guests that eat out most nights wouldn't, if it was a little cheaper. For example, we ate at a beautiful little restaurant in Giancarico for half the cost and the food was equally good. But, overall Alessandro and his team have a magnificent escape and the midweek Braai in the bush was our highlight of the week....we could have been in The Kruger Park...the beautiful home produced wine and port helped as well.....can't wait to come back...thank you guys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hello BaskersonTour,
.....and we can't wait to have you back. Lovely review! Thanks, and I promise your suggestions will not be overlooked. Best regards from Alessandro and of course from the entire Montebelli Team.
Ciao e a presto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great great place
Immense, generous spaces
Tennis court, swimming pool, horse riding and..lots of stuff for kids... Which we left running around as we felt they were safe.
And a great spa!
The rooms are great as spacious ..
A great kitchen..
What do you want more?

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Stefano E,
YOUR review is simply fabulous! Thank you so much for saying such lovely things. Come visit us again, maybe for a wellness weekend break in Autumn! How about that?

Warmest regards from the Montebelli Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldana
6.2 mi away
Cordial Hotel & Golf Resort Pelagone
6.3 mi away
Country Resort Guadalupe
Country Resort Guadalupe
#1 of 1 in Braccagni
143 reviews
6.7 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nel Giardino di Alice
Nel Giardino di Alice
#1 of 4 in Gavorrano
65 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Terme Marine Leopoldo II
Hotel Terme Marine Leopoldo II
#1 of 8 in Marina di Grosseto
702 reviews
12.2 mi away
Fattoria La Principina Hotel
Fattoria La Principina Hotel
#1 of 2 in Principina Terra
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel

Address: Localita Mulinetto SNC, 58023 Caldana, Italy (Formerly Montebelli Country Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Caldana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caldana
Price Range: $110 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montebelli Agriturismo and Country Hotel is located in the beautiful Maremma land within the Tuscany region. It’s positioned only twenty minutes away from the sea, so guests can choose between the quintessential Tuscan country life or the beach. Montebelli offers the original Agriturismo and the more modern Country Hotel, all situated within the farm and all sharing common grounds and facilities: tennis, outdoor pool, biking, trekking, health club and free Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel Caldana, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing