We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average ingredients, tacky decor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Casale - CLOSED

Il Casale
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average ingredients, tacky decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had high expectations of Il Casale- it had come recommended. But we were so underwhelmed.

We went on a Thursday, so not a busy night, but we were one of two tables, and the atmosphere was poor. The music was terrible, really terrible. At one point there was an easy-listening Christmas carol mix. In June. The decoration is tacky; wagon wheels and little patches of brick tiles for that 1970s rustic look.

The staff were pleasant and attentive, the wine list limited, but our bottle of Pinot Grigio was nice. Very tasty olives were brought to our table on arrival.

We shared the tricolore salad to start. The ingredients were all fine, but just fine, nothing to write home about.

We had pizzas for our main course. The base, I must say, was excellent, thin and crisp. Very good. But the toppings... another story. An extremely salty and herby tomato sauce (so herby that I couldn't taste tomato) mixed in with (maybe grated?) cheap-tasting mozzarella. The cheese and mozzarella looked as if they had been mixed together ready to slop onto the bases, leaving an unappetising orangey-red lumpy sticky-textured mass. My pizza was an olive and caper pizza. It had 6 olives and 5 capers on a large pizza.

We mentioned the stinginess of toppings when paying- they apologised and said to mention it next time, and they would make sure there was more. I don't think we should have to request a fair amount of toppings. If the tomato/cheese had been more flavoursome it wouldn't have been a problem, but the pizza needed the toppings to make it interesting. There certainly won't be a next time.

I can see why people might like it here- the staff are friendly, the prices reasonable, the food adequate, but it really doesn't deserve the five-star reviews it's been getting. Not a nightmare, but certainly not a star.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VeggieVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    19
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Meal: Authentic, Delicious, Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Fabulous per-theatre meal. The service was excellent. The food was authentic, home cooked, hot and delicious. Great value for money too, we would definitely recommend and will be going back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeToTheFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always delicious and always charming x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Ever since it opened Il Casale has been a total gem and has remained focused on delicious food and great service. The owner Giuseppe and his team just can't do enough to cater for the customers. Their effort and passion is always totally appreciated and the kids love experimenting too. So far we have been able to rock up randomly midweek (and they always manage to squeeze us in at weekends!) but it won't be long before they have a serious waiting list. We love having Il Casale on our High Street - thank you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SJTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was our first visit and as soon as we walked in to the restaurant we knew we had made the right choice. We were given a warm welcome and a friendly smile. The menu and wine list has a wide variety and very reasonable priced. Giuseppe was only too willing to help with anything we asked him and as it was a special occasion he helped us choose our wine which was excellent. The food was piping hot , very well presented and was delicious.The Tiramisu was scrumptious and home-made. We will definitely be going back their again and we wish Giuseppe and all his staff all the best we will see you again very soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowysnowdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - this is a real gem of a new restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

From the warm welcome to the fabulous food, this is a real gem of a new restaurant. The menu includes dishes from Puglia and Calabria, as well as the usual pizzas and pasta. Everything is home prepared and cooked, including wonderful little grissini sticks.The menu includes a large, exciting list of starters, followed by very tasty pasta dishes (I have had the Spag. Bol. and Spagetti alle Vongole (clams) - both very flavoursome and fresh tasting). We haven't had pizza yet because the 'secondi' dishes are just so exciting! Steaks, chicken and veal dishes, fish dishes, including sea bass, which you can have filleted for you at your table if you wish. My favourite is the Zuppe de Pesce, a wonderful fish soup with mussels, calamari, lemon sole, prawns and crayfish. Heaven! A good selection of desserts including a cheeseboard and very reasonably priced wine selection. The service is attentive without being intrusive.

We have eaten at Il Casale 3 times since February 2012, both as a couple and with family. Each time it is just superb and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovemydog_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Casale also viewed

Hampton Hill, Greater London
Hampton Hill, Greater London
 
Hampton Hill, Greater London
Hampton Hill, Greater London
 
Hampton Hill, Greater London
Hampton Hill, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing