We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere you could arrive at and forget to leave like Gauguin”
Review of Culdees Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fearnan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culdees Bunkhouse
Reviewed September 20, 2013

.I have visited Culdees at different times of the year ,summer for the sunsets and winter for the frosts and snow around the loch. This time I was on a company five day promotional tour and was positioning the promo vehicle for Eastern Scotland initially . After a meal I sat outside with John , the now manager , looking down on Loch Tay ,chatting ,sipping a red wine and watching the resident swallows and martins performing aerobatics around us , so unique . That sums up Culdees ,it is different . Ideal for walking ,photography or just relaxing and letting life pass by for a while,. the views are really stunning . Try and visit Fortingall and its church , and if you are reasonably fit plan a drive or walk around the hills and lochs behind the farmhouse . " Just do it ! "

Room Tip: If you are a family or a couple ask for a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britbrat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were a party of eight chaps out to explore the Lawyers, first impressions as we drove up were on the reserved side. To be honest though the place grows on you and by the time we left it felt like home. It is an ideal base for walkers being warm (including the showers) rustic and welcoming and if you look hard enough in there is everything there you should need including a great range of cookware. I was partcularly impressed by the enviromental aspect of he bunkhouse and by the aims for the future. The only downside was that we had read there was a pub within 800metres, if there is we never found it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank teepeeDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was a bit sceptical based on the other reviews but having stayed at the bunkhouse for a night, I would say it is a decent place. Warm, dry, comfy, kitchen has everything you need, sitting room comfy, beds comfy, showers worked, space to store my bike: value for money. I can't speak for the other accommodation, but the owners were friendly and polite and left me to my own devices. Granted, there are some odd bits, like the pair of sandals in the porch at reception with the sign "Don't throw out, these are for the japanese monk" but it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campervanconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Culdees is special, there is little doubt. Me and my boyfriend booked the family room for a night last month, I was pretty excited. I met Maryse and had a long chat with John, lovely people, lovely place. You can inspire the peaceful atmosphere that surrounds the place as soon as you step in. I love how we could use the kitchen to make our own meal, and how warmly welcomed we were. The place was a bit empty, but it was very clean and the room was superb! Very, veeeery comfy bed, with stunning views from the window. The area is beautiful, the main building is in the hill between the forest and the lake, you can see it in the photos! I still have the picture of the entrance as wallpaper in my mobile phone. I can't wait to go back!

Extremely good experience, something completely different from everywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cernunnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've given Culdees an excellent review before and nothing has changed - it's still a wonderful place to stay to recharge your batteries.
This year we stayed in the cottage, which is adjoining the far end of the main accommodation, and comprises a large dining kitchen, bathroom and sitting room & dining room on the ground floor, with a stair leading up to 2 rooms, each with a double and bunks, and one ensuite. Although we were again there with a large group and had booked the whole place, this is a lovely self contained wing and would be perfect for a break in it's own right.
Again Maryse & John couldn't have been kinder and again they had organised stunning weather! :-) The only downside is the ensuing depression when you have to tear yourself away & back to reality!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquagerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed here for two night with 10 other lads on a stag weekend ,downside 10 miles outside aberfeldy and as the town only has 1 taxican be tricky to get back to the diggs .we took cars in and were lucky to get the number of a mini bus that had taken us canyoning earlier in the day .on the previous night when we arrived we stayed in the bunkhouse and had a good laugh with all the instuments in the music room and as none of us can play a note you could imagine how that could be anoying but it was only our party that was there. the couple that run the bunkhouse are friendly if a little wierd but they leave you to get on with it . dont know if i would go up with the misssus as a large group of lads and a couple might not mix well in the communal areas when drink is involved but i think they have rooms in the farmhouse so that may be a better idea might be good to check first if you get good weather the view from the picnic tables is breathtaking you can see for miles down the loch,MAKES YOU PROUD TO BE SCOTTISH there is a hotel about 4 miles away for a drink and a meal walkable but not in the dark as you may get run down .beds were comfy and clean and there a showers dotted all over the place also has well eqiupped kitchen that sits about 10, we had a good time hope if you go you do to ..cheers

Room Tip: get room at the bottom of the hall as it is furthest away from the kit and bathrooms if you want a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank papapaulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here for three nights but was not long enough enjoyed this bunkhouse very much and cannot wait to return. Everyone is friendly and very helpfull in every way. It is being set up as an eco-village and is really interesting. You do really need a car to get around, although there is a bus service that does go close. It is very good for walkers from beginners to experienced. If you like to get away from it all this is the best place to come. It has a great view of Loch Tay. There is also water sports near at hand in nearby Aberfeldy and the other direction in Lochearnhead. The nearest shops and bars are up to 10 miles away so take some supplies with you. Cannot wait to return here soon. I was lucky to have been here in some really nice warm weather.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 825alexander825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fearnan
2.0 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
263 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boreland Loch Tay
Boreland Loch Tay
#1 of 2 in Fearnan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
1.5 mi away
Fortingall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culdees Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culdees Bunkhouse

Address: Boreland Farm, Fearnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PH15 2PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Fearnan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fearnan
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culdees Bunkhouse, with stunning views over Loch Tay, offers a wide range of accommodation, from a bunkhouse hostel, to B&B style family rooms and a real home-from-home self-catering holiday cottage in the midst of the beautiful Perthshire Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing