We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but quirky hostel”
Review of Culdees Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fearnan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culdees Bunkhouse
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Now that Killin SYHA hostel has gone, Culdees is the only hostel type accommodation still open in the Loch Tay area.It offers two grades of room, at £17 per night for a basic bed in the bunkhouse, which includes a drying room, laundry and a well equipped kitchen, or £22 per person for a higher standard room in the main house. However beware if you book one of the family rooms as these contain a double bed and a bunk bed, whose upper level is dangerously high for a child and impossibly close to the ceiling for an adult!
First impressions are not reassuring, a collection of old caravans and some scruffy farm buildings greet you as you arrive, but the collection of buildings which form the hostel are charming, if a little confusing at first, and are clean and comfortable with many artistic touches. There is beautiful view down over Loch Tay from the terrace at the front of the house.
Culdees is not a normal independent hostel, it is rather the brain child of Maryse Anand who has a grand plan to create an ecological community here and there are a number of volunteers and others living in a collection of caravans, shacks and a yurt around this site. Much of it looks like it has been put together by enthusiastic amateurs but with a love for their work.
A problem which afflicts many independent hostels is that they are sometimes taken over by large, noisy groups whose main interest is the consumption of a large amount of alcohol. Fortunately if you have a bed in the main house you are fairly well insulated from anything taking place in the bunkhouse and it causes only minimal disturbance.
Culdees is a convenient base for walks on the Ben Lawers range and the hills along Glen Lyon and provides comfortable if rather quirky accommodation. Note that there is no shop or pub in Fearnan, the nearest pub is 2 miles at Fortingall and the nearest shop is 4 miles at Kenmore.

Room Tip: Loch View room has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guru902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 38 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

The bunkhouse was excellent. Good facilities, very clean and well thought out, with some nice touches not usually found in this sort of accomodation. Very relaxed atmosphere, assuming you are house-trained.
If like me you are collecting Munros it is convenient for the Glen Lyon hills, and even more so if you fancy doing the complete Ben Lawers traverse in one go as a linear walk. You can start or finish over their private land, and probably arrange transport at either end.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank munromanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I loved the atmosphere of the house (which is rambling and curiously laid out, so it's great fun getting to know it) the freedom to go wherever I pleased without feeling as if I was intruding, when I was told 'the house is yours, feel free', I believed it. Two rooms in particular, Loch View and the Courtyard room, are imaginatively decorated, I wanted to take the room home with me, it felt like 'mine', I was warm, cosy and comfortable in bed, I didn't want to get up. The rest of the house is eclectically furnished in a wide range of sofas, chairs and tables, the kitchens are well stocked with cooking implements, crockery and cutlery. I didn't feel I needed to be on ceremony in this unpretentious establishment, and despite things not being particularly new and shiny, my overall impression is that it is absolutely clean. I don't live on a farm, but I thoroughly enjoy getting my boots on and walking through wet grass and even some mud while being followed by the chickens and chatted up by the duck. The night in the barn with the open fire was great fun, one can make a lot of noise and not bother anyone. I liked it, a lot. Hotels are often characterless in comparison, I'm a farm stay convert. Oh, and it's inexpensive too! We've paid much more, for much less.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinFidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Staying at Culdees is like entering a different world. The whole environment is one massive farm with the dream of becoming a self sufficient community. Lots of stuff to see and talk about as far as eco initiatives are concerned. There's quite a few residences around the main building in terms of caravans, "cottages" and static "camper" homes. One can only assume these poeple are the early settlers to this community to be.

The main building is a rabbit warren of corridors which adds to the appeal (unless you get lost) and the rooms are delightful. Very quirky, but clean and tody and not a sniff of the impersonality of many hostels. There's toilets and showers dotted around and two kitchens. A massive "music room" plus another large sitting room make great social ares along with a large open "barn" with sofas in which I assume can be used by residents during warmer nights/days.

Views over Loch Tay are to die for and can be seen from some rooms.

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

Only a couple of minor grips inasmuch as not enough toilets/showers on 1st floor (3 rooms sharing one bathroom) and expensive for families; if there were us and the children staying we couldn't afford it which is a shame as we'd love to spend a week here

Room Tip: Loch Room has brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0bTheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Warm, friendly hospitable Eco bunkhouse. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and was interested to hear their plans for their ecocentre. It gave me an insight into how living with nature can be acheived.

Comfortable clean and wonderful location happy to help.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Articularintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Beautiful location overlooking the Loch Tay. Welcoming and friendly staff. Clean and well equipped kitchens and facilities provided. Comfortable beds. Unique music room. Plenty of parking space. I've stayed here on a number of occasions and am always happy to visit again. The approach road has been considerably improved from when I was there earlier this year and the place is looking tidier. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Near the oldest tree in Europe and 12 Munro's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasure-seeker-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Culdees is a very welcoming place to stay - a bunkhouse in the middle of an eco community. The accommodation is clean and tidy, and has everything you would need - bedding is provided, with beds already made on arrival. A large drying room was really handy. There is a very well-equipped communal sitting area, or you can share the larger "music room" with the community, with lovely views over Loch Tay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robc042011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fearnan
2.0 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
263 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boreland Loch Tay
Boreland Loch Tay
#1 of 2 in Fearnan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
1.5 mi away
Fortingall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culdees Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culdees Bunkhouse

Address: Boreland Farm, Fearnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PH15 2PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Fearnan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fearnan
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culdees Bunkhouse, with stunning views over Loch Tay, offers a wide range of accommodation, from a bunkhouse hostel, to B&B style family rooms and a real home-from-home self-catering holiday cottage in the midst of the beautiful Perthshire Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing