We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cottage in a most beautiful location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fearnan, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Zoe L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage in a most beautiful location.”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from Alligan after a 5 day trip. The cottage is lovely and there was plenty of space for the 6 of us. All that you need is there, except food we needn't have taken any household items.

The location is wonderful with open views of the loch from all of the comunal areas - even the utility room. We had sunshine, mist, rain and drizzle. All of which will offer you an entirely different view. The garden is also beautiful and attracts lots of the local wildlife.

We loved it here and it will stay in our memories for a long time. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it is to an excellent standard.
Liked least: Too short a holiday!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2016
Hi Zoe. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Alligan. Loch Tay and all that surrounds it is a delightful and fascinating part of Perthshire and I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay. The weather is I am afraid a bit of a lottery no matter where you choose to go in the UK but as you quite rightly say it can add another dimension to your holiday. Haste ye back.
James Fair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed here with my two children, aged 14 and 12 , and my mother. We had a fantastic time. The house was beautifully equipped, warm and had amazing views. The garden was excellent for the children to play in and for the adults to enjoy the scenery and relax. I highly recommend Alligan' as a wonderful holiday destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and views
Liked least: The relatively slow wi fi and the boiler ( which heated hot water when needed but the water wasn't always hot enough for a b
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Hi Alison. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay at Alligan. We do try very hard to please.
It is nice to see the garden springing into life again after a long winter and the views over the Loch at this time of the year are something else. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards
James and Liz Fair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie19...
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with excellent views”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Could not ask for a better accommodation. Equipped with all requirements. Spent a fabulous week. The view from almost all the rooms is fantastic. Must admit that everyone of us fell in love with this cottage whatever the kind of weather it was. In fact we had sunshine, we had rain but still we were eager to return back to enjoy the cottage whenever we went out.
Highly recommended. Excellent accommodation for friends or families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views in comfortable accommodation
Liked least: internet sometimes poor - could be the weather
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Hello Carmel.
How very kind of you to take the time to leave such a positive review. Much appreciated. Fearnan and especially Loch Tay is a delightful part of the world. We do try very hard to please. Haste ye back.
James.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg S
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great stay ”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Me, my girlfriend and her mum had an amazing stay at Alligan for the week. Great views, amazing weather, plenty to do and a lovely home.
We enjoyed a walk up Ben Lawers mountain, a visit to the beaches around the loch, walking up the falls and visits to the local areas.
Alligan was provided with more than we expected and we couldn't have been happier. We have come away very relaxed and refreshed. Highly recommended and we would love to visit again.
Many thanks to James also with quick responses to any queries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Hi Tom. Many thanks for leaving such a positive review. Makes all our efforts seem so much more worthwhile. Glad you all enjoyed the Loch Tay experience. It is a lovely part of the world. Haste ye back.
James and Liz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing view, amazing house, amazing owners”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Alligan with my mother and my teenage son. What a find! I had been put of private rental by some very oversold, shoddy lets - Alligan is the opposite. A tardis of a house with room for everyone and the most wonderful view I have ever had on holiday. It was perfectly prepared, even down to the bird feeders being full. It was outstandingly clean and well-equipped and the owner could not have been more helpful. James contacted us several times before and during our break to make sure we had everything we needed - especially since my mother was elderly. We cannot wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view and the help from the owner
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
Helen. How good of you to leave such a positive review. Much appreciated. It is a lovely part of the world and we do try very hard to please.
Haste ye back.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hi
We really me and my family with childrens enjoyed our time in this place , it was something out of what we thought . Great location , with great view , and tidy house. Everything was arranged nicely . I recommend this place to everyone and of course in the future my number one choice. Hope the best to James and many thanks to him.
Regards
Ali

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2015
Thank you so much for your visit and your very kind words. It was a joy to have you stay at Alligan on Loch Tay - it is a lovely and enticing part of the world. We really hope you will have a chance to re visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, very well equipped, house with lovely garden and stunning views over Loch Tay”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spacious, very well equipped, house with lovely gardens and stunning views over Loch Tay. There are some pleasant walks directly from the house and Kenmore, Aberfeldy and Killin are well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and facilities
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review. Hope to you see back at Fearnan sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing