We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, fantastic activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nellim Wilderness Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nellim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went here for our honeymoon and spent a week at the hotel, doing most of the activities they had on offer. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were very friendly, our room (small apartment) was amazing, and the food and service were all very good. Special mention for the guides of the activities, who were all absolutely excellent! A very special holiday at a very special location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Monique78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Nellim Wilderness Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stress at the outset that have not stayed at this hotel, This review focusses instead on the icustomer service we received when trying to make a booking.

Four of us tried to book one of the cabins for March 2014. The hotel tried very hard to sell us a package at a total cost of more than €5500. When it became apparent we only wanted the cabin and not all of the bells and whistles (much of what we'd done before) then all communication ceased and we were left unsure as to whether we had a booking or not. Repeated emails asking about our reservation were totally ignored. We had to resort to emailing from a different email account asking about the same dates (at which point we got an immediate reply) to discover we didn't have a reservation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
13  Thank TimeZoneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent four nights at the Wilderness Hotel in Nellim on a short break, booked through theaurorazone in March 2014. The snow was lacking but we still managed some amazing activities including rolling a Skidoo on ice on Lake Inari (wife on the back!). The hotel was fab and all staff really friendly. Food was amazing and the drink not too expensive. Rooms were a bit basic but the main building was converted from a school - bathrooms even more basic but everything else made up for this and we were out most of the time anyway. We saw the aurora on two nights but it was weak - don't go just for this and don't be surprised at the number of Japanese doing the same trip but to other hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the newer buildings.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PSE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our second time to Finland and Nellim is really quite remote, from nearest airport it was a 50km drive to the Hotel. First impressions were very good. Hotel is warm, well appointed, all activities are well organised and planned. Weather was disappointing but there was little anyone could do about that. Food at the Hotel was plentiful and of good quality, and very welcome after days out in the snow.
2 great dog sled trips and an excellent day out on snowmobiles, many thanks to Rambo for sorting out my wife's minor mishap, with minimum of fuss. Excellent, and really challenging cross country skiing course certainly burned off the calories. Well stocked bars and considering vthe location very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_Bike_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent four nights at the Wilderness Hotel in Nellim on a short break, booked through theaurorazone (trip: Northern Lights over Lake Inari)
We did get to see the lights on night one so we got off to a great start
The Hotel is in the middle of no-where but has all you need for a comfortable and warm stay (especially the bathroom heated floor)
Our room had plenty of space
The food was excellent and the pre-booked activities were great (snowmobiles, snowshoe trek, , husky ride,
Can recommend this trip highly enough

Room Tip: Make sure you try the Sauna (private) and sleep one night in the Bubble
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed with 3 couples in room 303. Small but comfortable with private sauna. The excursion were great but often shorter than announced.
Credits should go to the excursion leaders; they cared in a responsible way but they were sloppy about safety instructions, except Matthias, the Dutch guy.
The food was great! It really was.
The "but..." In the title refers to the management. Hire a foreigner to care about your daily operations; it will be worth the cost.

Room Tip: Room 303 was great for us, 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom, a sauna with shower and a big living room. A smal...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Nellim for 6 nights during March 2014.
The trip started off for us as a northern lights trip, but by the end it was all about the whole experience and all the wonderful activities we got to do.

We booked our package through the Aurora Zone rather than directly through the hotel, although if I was to go again, I would happily book directly through the hotel.

The hotel staff were wonderful and looked after us from the moment that we arrived. We had asked for a room with a sauna and this was sorted out for us prior to arrival. The staff were all extremely professional and friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The guides who took us out for the activities were all brilliant. They were all very knowledgable and ensured that we were going at a pace we were all happy with. There was no rush to return from activities or any clock watching which was nice.

A few people in previous posts have complained about the food, however we loved it all. The breakfast, lunch and dinner selection was more than enough and catered for all diets. The food was wholesome and plentiful.

We were lucky enough to see the lights on both our first and last nights, however unfortunately for the first night we did have our camera set up correctly.

I can't recommend this hotel enough and really hope we get to go back soon!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank amandeep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellim
23.7 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
352 reviews
23.4 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
24.4 mi away
Aurora Village
Aurora Village
#3 of 5 in Ivalo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Ivalo River Camping & Resort
24.4 mi away
Naverniemi Holiday Center
22.3 mi away
Ukonjarvi Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nellim Wilderness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nellim Wilderness Hotel

Address: Nellimintie 4230, Nellim 99860, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Nellim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nellim
Price Range: $141 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nellim Wilderness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nellim Wilderness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing