We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for Aurora~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nellim Wilderness Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nellim
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for Aurora~”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time I stayed in this hotel, the staff are as nice as a family, they don't have straight rules as normal hotel. The location is far away from city that its quite enough to discover aurora, the room rate is good, the activities are enjoyable since it located at a much more natural area. One thing is you can only dine in the hotel, or by the food in advance and cook in the suite with kitchen. Overall, it's an enjoyable stay in here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    91
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
103
234
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We travelled independently so arranged activities with the hotel directly. Emails were generally answered promptly but some required a reminder after a few days.

Location is fantastic, a short walk to Lake Inari and perfect for trips into the wilderness for seeing the Northern Lights.

We stayed five nights with activities every day including snow-shoeing (excellent) and a day with a reindeer herder, also excellent - watching the reindeer-herder get at his nets which were strung out below the ice of the frozen lake was fascinating. We had also booked a four hour husky safari including lunch but we got a shorter trip with only a snack - no explanation, apology or refund was given, despite giving the hotel several opportunities to do so. As this was one of the most enjoyable activities it was particularly disappointing.

We had three Aurora Camp night trips to see the Northern Lights on snowmobile-drawn sledges. These are not particularly comfortable but do the job. One night there were too many people and the staff asked for volunteers to drive snowmobiles. A fire was always built at the camp and hot berry juice and snacks provided - if you stay any length of time you'll get rather tired of the hot berry juice, it's served on every excursion!

We were, though, lucky to have our day on snowmobiles take in reindeer racing in Ivalo - a very long day but good fun.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the evening meals. These were always from a buffet with excellent soup, a choice of two hot main courses with vegetables, potatoes, etc, and a cold dessert; plus a selection of salads. The chef does amazingly well from a small kitchen with only one helper and he was always cheerful.

One thing that lets the hotel down is room service. Our room (which was spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom) was serviced the first two days and that was it - when we told the receptionist that our room wasn't serviced on the third day we were told the rooms are only serviced every other day. Despite this our room was never again serviced to the end of our stay.

Cold weather clothing supplied by the hotel was excellent.

AURORA ALERT: make sure to ask at reception for an aurora alert mobile phone - we just spotted the notice, which had been hidden under paperwork on the reception desk when we checked in, and the receptionist had not told us about them.

We were extremely lucky to see the Northern Lights every night - the aurora alert did its job for us the nights we weren't out on an excursion. The view from Lake Inari is just as good as from any of the Aurora Camps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markgroeningen, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a 4days/3 nights Nothern lights adventure package (about 1000€p.P.) for mid-March. First thing to say : don't expect to see northern lights every night, the lights are like a bonus during your stay, the weather decides it for you, we just saw some flashes but not a sky full with lights, anyway our stay was excellent. As all thestudios with sauna were fully booked we got a big appartment with kitchenette, two sleeping rooms and a living room, no luxury but cozy and comfortable (anyway after all the activities you will be so tired every night that you will sleep like a baby). We got a booking confirmation beg. of January and then nothing more during two months. After a couple of calls the payment was confirmed 1 week prior to the trip.
Everything is included in the package price : warm socks, snow boots, overall and of course the food. Concerning the food, the quality was good but I would never rate it as outstanding like somee reviews. It was simple and good (reindeer meat almost every day), dont forget that the next supermarket is 40kms away. You must pay for the drinks (about 5€ the beer pint) and 35€ for a bottle of wine. The activities were really nice : snow-shoeing, snow scooter (one time during the night and one time during the day) and husky "safari". Hard to describe, you must just experience it once in your life and you will never regret it. Every night you will enjoy the northern lights camp, close to a nice fire you will chat with the guides and the other guest and hoping to see lights, again even without seeing lights we enjoyed it. Only critic : you go to the camp in a rustic wooden trailer fixed to a snow mobile, very uncomfortable if you are tall like me). The guides were all very friendly and competent. Pekka the musher, Joonas, Matti, Pete, thank you for the good time ! Last but not least Noora who was fantastic. A pity that the sauna is hidden in the basement of the building, no real flair, so we didnt even try it. Yes it was a superb stay but for this price I was expecting a little bit more personalized service (greetings from the managers for example or smaller groups, sometimes we were a group of 18 for the same activity). So 5 stars for the experience, 3 stars for the rest which makes an average rating of 4.

Room Tip: If you go there during winter book a studio with sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We travelled to Nellim in March for four nights and had the most fantastically enjoyable time. The location is almost total wilderness and we were lucky enough to see the lights on our first night there which made it all worth it. The hotel is cosy, clean and has a great buffet restaurant. Our room was simple and comfortable and we paid to have a room with a sauna which I would recommend as it was a lovely to go back to in the evening. The activities were brilliant and well organised - I particularly enjoyed the snowmobiling and my wife loved the huskies.
We booked through The Aurora Zone who were extremely helpful and knowledgable. All transfers and cold weather clothing are included and as there is a Rep on site (the ever helpful Peter) so there is always someone to answer your questions. I would recommend booking through them as we saw some other guests show up who had booked individually and the hotel had no record of their booking and there was a lot of fuss before they could get their rooms.
All in all it was one of the best trips we have ever been on and we can't wait to go back to the area again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spend a great time in the Nellim Wilderness Hotel, enjoying a lot of activities in the snow. But, we did miss the real Finland culture, like the famous open Finland sauna near the lake. There was only a miserable sauna somewhere hidden in the base of the building, without any connection to the outside. Furthermore, there was an oldfashion rule of parting women and men in the sauna, while Finland is wellknown for his open spirit where everyone is sharing the saune together without prudish behavior. Unfortunately, we couldn't find any trace of this wonderfull Findland culture.
The room service was very poor. They didn't change the bed sheets offen.
The staff was very friendly, especially the non-locals. The local guides tend to use the tourists as an audience to demonstrate there privileges. The guides like to do exactly what is forbidden for tourists, on that way creating confusion and segregation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from the wilderness hotel at Nellim. We had the most wonderful time and truly one of the best holidays I have ever had. The hotel is great, the guides are wonderful and lovely to spend time with. We saw the northern lights for three nights with the most amazing display. The activities were all well organised and everything was provided that you needed. Take really warm clothing and I recommend hand warmers as it can get really cold on the snow mobiles. The food is all homemade and usually there are two choices at lunch and dinner. We really enjoyed the food especially after snow shoeing or cross country skiing. I thought it was perfect being in such a beautiful and remote place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel and experiences lived up to the positive reviews others have posted. We had a fantastic time. We enjoyed all the activities, although husky sleding and night snowmobile safari were our favourites. Room warm and clean with a heated floor in the bathroom. Food hearty and full of flavour. Equipment of a high standard and adequate for the minus 34C. Plans afoot to expand the hotel so may be less of a wilderness experience in future years.

Room Tip: The best rooms in the new block seem to us to be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaveTigerNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellim
23.4 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
23.7 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
115.0 mi away
Levi Suites Levi Gold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
608.6 mi away
Hotel Helka
Hotel Helka
#13 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
24.4 mi away
Aurora Village
Aurora Village
#3 of 5 in Ivalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
24.4 mi away
Naverniemi Holiday Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nellim Wilderness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nellim Wilderness Hotel

Property: Nellim Wilderness Hotel
Address: Nellimintie 4230, Nellim 99860, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Nellim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nellim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nellim Wilderness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nellim Wilderness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing