We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgrace”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wondo Genet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wondo Genet Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wondo Genet
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We travelled here as a part of a group, and when we arrived, at the end of a long day's travel, we found that they had over-booked. They accused our tour leader of having messed up the booking, and said that he had only requested 6 rooms, but they had got tents ready already which rather gave the game away. So we went to a different hotel, in Awasa, which was lovely. We came back the next day and this time we had rooms ( the tents had disappeared, which demonstrated that they had intended to use them for our group!). We rather wished they hadn't. The rooms were dirty, the lighting poor, the beds bags of rocks. We had dinner in the rather peculiar restaurant (where else could we go) and it was cold and the fish, which in Ethiopia is generally gorgeous, was thin and chewy - as if they'd cooked the skin and left the flesh out!

The worst thing was that one member of the group got an electric shock from the shower. This could have been very nasty. Although they were moved to a different room, I would not put any money on repairs having been completed.

It's such a shame, as it could be a really nice hotel. The area is spectacularly beautiful; the hot springs nearby could be a real draw and the gardens are very lovely. But the hotel suffers from a lack of care which to my mind started at the top.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a pleasant and safe (ample security), hotel with somewhat tired, but very clean, chalet/terraced rooms. The grounds are lovely, full of mature planting and wildlife (even some hyaenas over by the futuristic restaurant at night), set amongst scenic hills, valleys, rainforest, pretty villages, waterfalls and Chat plantations (Chat is sold by locals outside the hotel gates, it's a mild, and legal, stimulant chewed with peanuts and will certianly send you up the mountain paths at a brisk pace). The food is nice and the service is attentive if a little slow (no matter, the staff were charming and there was little to do in the evenings anyway; relax.) The grounds are bordered by hot volcanic springs emanating from the hillside bedrock and streaming into both natural pools (eagerly used by very cheerful locals), and a large outside spa/swimming pool (luxury!), which is free to use for hotel guests. There are local guides available for very pleasant gentle hillside walks with some truly spectacular views, it's a very beautiful area. This is a relaxing place to stay and although the rooms are dated and nothing remarkable, it's nice enough for my needs, I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windowseatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Wondo Genet Resort is located inside a park near The Palace of the Princess. In fact the onwer it is not the state directly but through the Palace. The rooms were reasonable, the restaurant was sometime ago perhaps beautifull, however now everything seems to be abandoned. We fell sad loooking around the resort and we felt we were loosing our time sleeping there. So we recommend to chose another resort once in the area the are better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is situated in wonderful grounds, full of birds and mammals, and within walking distance of lush mountainsides and hot springs - and the only viable place to stay. The place was built for Haile Selassie and it is now getting rather `tired'. The rooms are OK, cleanish and functional. The bathroom was not so clean, produced only scalding water and the shower flooded it, something we found in many places. The restaurant is interesting or appaliing architecture depending on your point of view and the food it produces was pleasant enough. We had a good stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The premises are gorgeous, especially the gardens. The rooms are simple but clean. The bathrooms were quite dated with fixtures broken.

Depending on your taste, you might find the restaurant pavilion either exciting or an architectural crime. For us it was the latter as it just does not fit the location and landscapes.

The two greatest things about staying there for us were the amazing guided walks up the surrounding hills and a visit to the naturally heated swimming pools.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBorchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Travellers visit this town for its access to the hillside walks, the local wildlife and the pools fed by hot springs. Wondo Genet Resort Hotel is probably the only reasonable place to stay in this area. Apart from its location, the garden is its best asset which is shaded by some very tall mature forest trees. Wildlife is abundant, silvery cheeked hornbills,vervet and colobus monkeys being the most evident as well as colourful sunbirds visiting the flowers. Sadly the surrounding hillside has been severely deforested leaving very little of interest within a short walking distance. The rooms were comfortable but the bathrooms were rather worn with missing taps and the lever and top of the WC cistern. Restaurant service was variable depending on the number of guests which tended to be in groups of a dozen or more so that the food arrived cold on occasion. The swimming pool outside the grounds had warm water from the nearby hot springs. It looked inviting but we were there for the wildlife and did not have time to take a swim.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This hotel is sort of like a 1950's US motel spread out through the trees, but complete with monkeys. Room was fine, beds fine, plenty of hot water, from the hot springs I think. Food and service in the restaurant was OK. Bar was OK with good service.

Request for an additional towel produced a prompt delivery.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wondo Genet
0.0 mi away
Haile Resort Hawassa
0.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
#1 of 7 in Arba Minch
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Star International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wondo Genet Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wondo Genet Resort Hotel

Address: Arsi, Wondo Genet, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Wondo Genet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wondo Genet
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing