We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent !!”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sheepwash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

booked a table for sunday lunch at the half moon a few weeks ago and have since been back twice despite it not being a bit of a drive. food is just yummy with loads and loads of choice. their prawn curry is magnificent - like most pub/restaurants the bar area is far nicer than the fairly drab restaurant but who cares when the food and service is this good- cant wait to go again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Half Moon is just the most wonderful place to stay, its as simple as that, and a perfect location for exploring the beautiful Devon countryside. The room we had (No 6) was exceptionally clean with all the normal facilities and loads of character including exposed beams and a beautiful bathroom with fantastic power-shower. The food is exceptional without being pretentious and a wide choice of freshly cook meals available all at very reasonable prices. The breakfast menu is wonderful with a great choice of fruit and cereals and everything is cooked to order, not a hot buffet in sight. The bar has some great beers on tap, is very friendly and with quick and friendly service and a huge log fire for those cold winter nights. .The Half Moon not the the Ritz or some boring sterile and sole-less chain hotel its far better. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kemble3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Friends of ours moved to the area and recommended this place. It doesn't look much from the outside but inside it has all the olde worlde charm you could wish for and a stunning menu which is reasonably priced. Dog and teenager friendly, comfy beds with antique bedroom furniture. Huge breakfast - better than many 5star hotels we've stayed in. Close to Tintagel and Bude. Felt very relaxed here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed as a couple with our old greyhound Easter 2013 for 3 nights B&B plus we also chose to take our evening meals in the pub. This is a proper village pub with no airs or graces: just comfortable, clean rooms and excellent breakfasts and evening meals. It has a bar where meals can be taken and dogs are welcome plus a restaurant bit (but where dogs are not allowed). Lots of choice for breakfast including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (delicious) and probably the best beef and blue cheese pie ever on the evening menu. If you are looking for michelin starred contemporary food, don't stay. If you are looking for good, well priced pub food, well kept beer, nice rooms, a welcome for dogs and good proximity to places like Bude, Clovelly, Okehampton and Dartmoor then it is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0afie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped off to have lunch at this lovely country pub during our recent holiday in Devon. The service was excellent and the food didn't disappoint. The portions are large so make sure you have worked up an appetite. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend were cycling the coast to coast cycle route and decided to have our first stop in Sheepwash and worked our whole weekend round staying at The Half Moon inn, so when we managed to get booked in it was a real bonus. We arrived at about 4pm and went to our room, we were booked into room number 2 and it was in the main building. The room was massive and was nicely decorated, the old beams gave the room so much character you couldn't make that sort of character nowadays. There was a wedding party staying at the same time so we were very grateful we were put in a room at the end of the building away from the bar area, so not to be disturbed late into the night when the party goers came home. The shower was so nice and the extra touches of hotel guest toiletries were lovely and nice quality too. We had booked a table for the evening and this did not disappoint, The whole bar area had "reserved" signs on every table-so nice to see a busy pub these days. We both ate the Steak and Devon blue pie and it was just yummy, so much food, the staff serving were so friendly and yet utterly professional even though they were only young, an absolute asset to the pub. The gentleman behind the bar was a true gent and always waiting to pour me another pint!!!! I can honestly say I cant find fault in "The Half Moon" and highly recommend anyone to stay eat or drink here. The breakfast was lovely and the restaurant area was nicely laid out. We left to go on with our second part of the ride after a good nights sleep and a belly full of food. Thank you to everyone at the Half Moon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 2 and this was in the main building, the rooms outside looked really nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff ( thanks for the ice !), good food - the pate was lovely, the game sausages were very good quality and the red wine sauce was clearly home made and good .... large portions at decent prices too..... all in a lovely location. Nice local beer too !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Geoff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Address: The Square, Sheepwash EX21 5NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sheepwash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheepwash
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With delicious home-cooked food and a well-stocked bar, we, at The Half Moon Inn are well-known locally and further afield for the quality of our hospitality. We are also renowned for our links with local fishing and country sports. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing