We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch is a treat...”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sheepwash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have just returned from Sunday Lunch at the Half Moon Inn and have to say that this is probably one of the very best that we have had in the area.

A warm and friendly welcome on arrival was swiftly followed by drinks in hand at the bar and then guidance to our table in the restaurant area. Here the service was again friendly and unrushed. We all choose a traditional roast dinner each, with choices of Beef, Lamb or Pork, with all the accompaniments, including a Yorkshire Pudding each. Served promptly and piping hot (which I always like) the meat was served with a large dish of red cabbage, swede, broccoli and carrots, along with a large bowl of lovely, crunchy roast potatoes - so many, in fact, that we had to leave some (which is almost unheard of in our house with two strapping teenage lads!).

An extensive list of desserts followed, with the boys opting for ice cream and my wife the raspberry & chocolate tartlet. I was too stuffed for pud! The main courses came in at a very reasonable £8.25 each with desserts around £5.00 each.

This pub has a nice atmosphere, great food and friendly staff - just the ticket for a Sunday lunchtime treat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went for lunch here after a cold walk in the N. Devon countryside. We - and our wet, muddy dog - were met with a warm welcome, blazing log fire and one of the best menus I've ever come across in a traditional pub. Three of us are vegetarian and the Half Moon's veggie menu was outstanding, at least 6 really interesting alternatives and not a goat cheese tartlet or veg lasagne in sight! All three dishes we tried were lovely and really good value.
Highly recommended for food, atmosphere and friendliness!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a friends wedding nearby,loved the unspoilt traditional pub feel and especially the large open fire in the bar,we received a warm welcome on arrival and were quickly shown to our room which was clean,spacious and warm we also had nice view of the village square,the room had a range of tea,coffee and toiletries and was as comfortable as you would wish for.
The breakfast was probably one of the best I've had at any hotel and the choice was extensive,there is a selection of fresh fruit,cereals and juices followed by your choice of breakfast from the menu,you'll be spoilt for choice.
Had one meal in the bar on the last night we stayed and again the menu was extensive and the food excellent,the service was also prompt and friendly,it wasn't particularly busy that night so the staff had time for a chat which all added to the feeling of being welcome,
Given the chance I would stay here again and would recommend it if your looking for a traditional British pub with good grub and service,

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleyMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My Husband, two boys, dog and I all stayed at The Half Moon and had a lovely stay. We had a family room which was roomy and had enough space for us and our dog's pen. The room was clean and bathroom lovely with a bath and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice, we would've loved to stay longer but we must work! The location is good to travel to Cornwall and local activities also the local shop is run by the comunity and offers a selection of food. Looking forward to coming soon to try the fishing. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here 5 years running. Wonderful place where dogs are truely welcome. Staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble. A great relaxing atmosphere where you can escape from the rest of the world and enjoy a quiet drink in good company.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed here twice this year and both times found it to be excellent. The food is brilliant - a wide choice of specials and a good choice on the standard menu. The breakfasts are as good as anything you get in a luxury hotel. Staff are all friendly (as are the locals). The bar is full of character - log fire and good beer. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Y0rktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We (two couples) visited three times to eat during a week on holiday in a near-by village.
The bar was busy on each visit and had a great atmosphere.You really felt the pub was at the heart of the village
There was a good selection of beer (including well kept real ales) and wines.
The menu (regular & 'specials') was one of the most extensive I have ever seen i a pub. I would normally be a little wary of such a large choice (turnover?) but everything we had (12 main courses and various starters and puds) was excellent.
Service was friendly and efficient.
I was brought up in the trade and know how much effort goes into building and running such a business. I only wish the Half Moon was not 200 miles from home!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOBOK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Address: The Square, Sheepwash EX21 5NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sheepwash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheepwash
Price Range: $89 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With delicious home-cooked food and a well-stocked bar, we, at The Half Moon Inn are well-known locally and further afield for the quality of our hospitality. We are also renowned for our links with local fishing and country sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing