We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in a gem of a B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a gem of a B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked a three night stay at Summerhouse, as we were visiting family in Highcliffe and we could not fault it. The rooms are lovely, with tea and coffee and plenty of it! Sue and Rod are so welcoming, and went out of their way to make our visit a real home from home.The breakfast is really good and well cooked, and it is served in a pretty conservatory over looking the garden where you can watch all varieties of birds that visit Sues garden every morning! The house is situated in a very quiet lane with almost no traffic, and with the gorgeous comfy beds, you are pretty well assured of a good nights sleep.Well done Sue and Rod, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Markbeech, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Set back from a quiet residential road with ample parking this is a delightful place to stay. I found the owners provided the perfect combination of attention and discretion. Absolutely spotlessly clean (and I have excruciatingly high standards!) and very well appointed accommodation coupled with beautifully cooked and presented, delicious breakfasts made my break, to see family in Hampshire, quite outstanding.

I very much hope to visit again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Garden Room which has its own front door; which provided a measure of independence t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A wonderful find in Barton on Sea. Sue and Rod are fantastic hosts, and the property is brand new and very clean. The rooms are beautifully decorated with taste, with great facilities - fantastic tea and coffee making tray with amazing biscuits, lovely toiletries supplied, and very comfortable rooms. Excellent value for money, and incredible breakfast with fresh butcher-bought bacon and sausages. A wonderfully hidden location in Barton, and close to our family. Top marks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm almost reluctant to write a review, I'd like to keep this place a secret!

Sue was friendly and efficient from the moment I contacted her to organise a booking. It took barely any time at all to find out that the B&B was available and have the room all booked up.

I let Sue know our estimated arrival time, and her and Rod were there to welcome us warmly. We were shown our room, given a quick tour of where breakfast etc would be served, and given the keys. We were made to feel totally at home, and were encouraged to feel as though the Summerhouse was our home for the weekend.

Our room (the Green room) was beautiful, light and airy (but warm), and incredibly peaceful. Not to mention clean. As well as this, we were provided with towels, toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, and even biscuits to have with our cuppas! Perfect. The bed is comfortable, and as the surrounding area is so quiet, a restful night's sleep was had.

We put in our requests for breakfast the night beforehand, full Englishes for the both of us! Everything was cooked to perfection - the bacon is brilliant! Nothing was too much for Sue and Rod, and the choice of breakfast was amazing, there is no chance of you going hungry here! Both of them are so easy to chat to, and we found out a few things about the local area and potential places to visit on our travels.

Luckily, we were blessed with amazing weather for the entirety of our weekend.The surrounding area is stunning. Just a short walk down the road is the cliff top, and if you follow the road down towards Pebble Beach restaurant, there are some paths leading down to the beach. We ended up going walking for about 4 hours, although the walk isn't for the faint hearted! The pebbles aren't the easiest surface for walking on...the views, however, were stunning - how lucky are Sue and Rod that they get to live here full time?!

That evening, we headed to Boscombe for dinner, and upon our return had a very chilled out Saturday night watching TV in our room. We were left to our own devices, but with the knowledge that Sue and Rod were there if there was anything we needed.

On our final morning we headed downstairs for breakfast, and again, it was wonderful. Sue endeavoured to ensure that neither of us would go without anything we wanted or needed.

Upon leaving, I felt as though I was saying goodbye to some good friends. Our stay was wonderful, and I didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back! Sue and Rod are the perfect hosts, with a beautiful house in an excellent, unspoilt location. Thank you so very much, both of you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I had a single over night stay with Sue and Rod on a Saturday night in Feb 2013 on the wettest weekend known to man!

We were met at the door by both our hosts with big smiles and handshakes like we were long lost friends. Sue showed us to our room which was just an amazing home from home. Large room, very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean ( and I mean spotlessly ), an amazing bathroom very well thought out and fitted. A warm comforting environment from the horrible weather outside.

Barton on Sea is a great position to explore the New Forest from. Everywhere is easy to get to which is why we like the 'Forest' so much. Still lots to explore even though we have been there a few times already.

Breakfast was amazing. Plentiful and expertly cooked. I had the full English with all the trimmings and my wife wisely opted for a scrambled egg and smoked salmon dish that was equally full and expertly cooked. Choice of fresh fruit juice, tea, coffee, cereal, yoghurt etc. Too much to sample on just one trip! We also got introduced to Max!

We got chatting to both Sue and Ron at breakfast and didn't move for over two hours....so much for checking out at 10.30! We were looking to remodel our own bathroom shortly, so were picking their brains about their experience and the fact that Ron has been trained and worked as a bathroom salesman helped with our barrage of questions.

Can't recommend the Summerhouse highly enough. Everything a B&B should be and customer service out of the very top drawer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floristgimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Summerhouse for 1 night and couldn't fault a thing. We stayed in the Garden Room it was beautiful, spotlessly clean with impressive en-suite shower room. Very tasteful decoration, beautiful bedding, towels and furniture.
Rod & Sue are perfect hosts and very welcoming. Breakfast was superb as good as any 5* hotel.
If you can find a better standard of accomodation I would like to know where. Fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Summerhouse for 1 night, visiting friends that live locally. Having read positive reviews, we were absolutely delighted to discover that the Summerhouse totally lived up to its reputation. We were greeted by Sue and Rod, a friendly couple, who were always available when needed but also gave us space to relax and enjoy our stay.

We stayed in the Green Room, which was immaculate - spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was fresh filtered water supplied in a jug, with plenty of tea & coffee supplies. The room had a contemporary feel and was very peaceful.

As we were meeting friends for lunch, Sue cooked us beautiful scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast for a lighter breakfast (but full English was also available). We also had fresh blueberries and papaya - delicious!

There is ample parking, and it is a short walk to the sea front. All in all, a wonderful experience and we would definitely stay there again - we recommend the Summerhouse unreservedly!

Mr & Mrs E

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
3.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watersedge Guest House
Watersedge Guest House
#1 of 8 in Barton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 Barton Lane | Barton-on-Sea, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 7PL, England (Formerly Summerhouse by Sea Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhouse Bed and Breakfast is located in Barton-on-Sea which lies between Lymington and Christchurch on the beautiful south coast of England, and with the New Forest on our doorstep there is truly a wonderful choice of sceneries and activities for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast Barton-On-Sea, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing