We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mothers' Day lunch”

The Cliff House Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Mothers' Day lunch”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Mothers' Day menu was good value, the food was excellent and the service and attention to detail could not be faulted. And, of course, there's the great view to enjoy as well.
The beef was cooked rare/medium-rare and we were asked when ordering if this would be okay - which it was.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    104
    17
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meal at cliff house restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great meal, great service by very pleasant staff. Would go again. We are fortunate to have this establishment close to our home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Having a short early break in our motor home in the New Forest. Out on our bikes looking for somewhere nice to eat, found the Cliff House. Lovely restaurant, nice ambience, gorgeous views, Lamb so tender it fell off the fork, Hubby's beef was just as good. Will come here again as we are visiting the New Forest later in the year too. Excellent service also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our 'local'”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are hugely lucky to have moved less than a half mile from this lovely oasis of calm, comfort and sanity ! Today was our first chance to 'do lunch' although we had popped in for drinks a couple of times . Beautifully trained staff, lovely Warsteiner beer, and wonderfully cooked and interesting food ! To think, the whole country used to be this nice ! We can't wait for the weather to improve enough to spend some time here and sit outside on the clifftop !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank subtleorwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned to Vancouver after a week in New Forest. Cliff House as an excellent location as well as wonderful food served by really friendly staff. I would suggest a reservation for lunch even in January. This is a popular spot for good reason. Would not dream of going to the South coast without making at lest one stop at the Cliff House. Most likely two!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FergusVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff House Restaurant also viewed

Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
 

Been to The Cliff House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing