We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lucky Find!!!”
Review of Pebble Beach Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pebble Beach Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A lucky find!!! Pebble Beach is NOT A HOTEL! It’s a restaurant with rooms but don’t let that put you off because this is a very special little place!! The restaurant is outstanding offering a number of different dining experiences depending on where you sit to eat ….the Mediterranean terrace, the elegant dining room or the funky bar with the same menu available in all areas. The menu is extensive offering a great selection of fish, meat and especially seafood. Portions are very generous, everything is served beautifully, its piping hot and delicious and is brilliant value!! To start we had the cheese soufflé/fondue which was huge, hot, tasty and crab soup which was the best we’ve ever tastedf..ever! Mains were crevettes & Langoustine which were fresh, huge, seafood heaven served on a huge ice platter with new potatoes and salad on the side and the seafood pancake was incredible…packed with seafood rather than white fish and a couple of prawns….it was huge, served with lobster sauce, mussels and king prawns!! Unbelievable for £13.50!! No puds although they all looked very tempting!!! The terrace is the best spot, weather permitting ( although they have got large parasols and big patio heaters)…..you could be at a romantic Italian bistro or a cool Caribbean hangout….anywhere but the English south coast! Furnished with big tables & comfy chairs and on the very edge of the beach you can see for miles. The dining room is more formal and the bar is laid back but all beautifully furnished and laid out so diners can’t eavesdrop on each other! Service is outstanding!!! Very friendly, pleasant, helpful, professional staff….all of them were incredible with a warm welcome and fond farewell!!! The rooms are located above the restaurant. Some have sea views but most look over the front or side…..not a nice view! The rooms are all clean, well equipped, comfortable and newly decorated but they are a little bland….i.e. they have no style…not beach/seaside or country chic or contemporary..and they aren’t very big….but overall they are fine for a night. Breakfast is the next treat….continental breakfast is included in the price with full English being about £7 extra. The continental option is amazing!! Sat in comfort on the terrace, we were brought platters of sliced fresh fruit/yoghurts, cheese/hams, pastries/toast all served with plenty of butter, marmalade and loads of lovely fresh coffee. We sat for about 2 hours eating this breakfast feast and at no time did the staff try to make us feel unwelcome or uncomfortable….in fact they encouraged us to take our time and enjoy it!! Breakfast isn’t served until 10am though (because it’s a restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel, the chef doesn’t pitch up til 10!) but if you need to eat before 10am the staff will bring all the food to your room and store it in the fridge ready to be eaten in the room the next morning. Have it served on the terrace if you can…its really worth it!!

Don’t be put off by the location….its in a residential area and looks a bit bleak but get inside and out the back then you’ll see what all the fuss is about!!

Overall I would highly recommend Pebble Beach ….as a restaurant and a restaurant with rooms!!! The food is fantastic, service amazing, terrace is priceless and all at great value!!!

I took loads of fotos but they didn’t come out….so you’ll have to see it for yourself!!

Room Tip: get a seaview room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Pebble Beach Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We dined here on the advice of many people who have raved about this restaurant, however tonight was not something I would be happy to recommend. When i called they advised us it would be a second sitting which is fine. We arrived and had drinks at the bar. When we were shown to our table we were offered a mainly empty and pretty stale bread selection with butter straight from the fridge! Our starter was delicious, we ordered the seafood platter to share...it was lovely, a couple of the oysters however had lots of shell left from when they had been opened. After we finished we waited a while and then my partner went to use the facilities. When he returned our starters were still on the table. After a wait they were cleared and our mains did follow. We ordered the John Dory. When the plate arrived the presentation was not what we had expected. For £23 we expected a little finesse, but it was all piled together with pea shoots thrown on top. The sauce we found over powered the fish, but this is probably personal preference. After we had eaten our mains, having not been checked by any member of staff, my partner asked to order more of the tempura prawns only to be told that the kitchen was closed! We settled instead for desserts. We ordered along with dessert wines and retired outside to enjoy some sea air as we had ordered chocolate fondant. A few moments later we were told our dessert wine was not available. Ok so an alternative? The waitress clearly was unsure of her wines, suggesting something that would not work with the dish. When the desserts arrived my brûlée was hardly caramelised on top. It came with raspberries on it and when you rolled a raspberry across the top lots of brown sugar stuff to it. I waved to get the waitresses attention, but she was more interested in getting payment from another table. The staff then began setting the tables talking very loudly to each other. Not exactly the atmosphere we were hoping would end our meal. Oh and our bill was wrong, two extra drinks were charged on it.
We did have a nice evening, the setting is lovely with a beautiful view, but tonight the service and some aspects of the food were decidedly disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Food as always was good but the service was a disaster we waited over 40 minutes to get a drink and then 45 minutes for starters no bread no butter and it was if they forgot about us They waived the service charge

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Beautiful place,amazing food, friendly staff,the penthouse is perfect for couple also very romantic.
Wine menu is very nice and the portion of food is more tham you can imagine.
The area is full of places to visit including the Forest. Very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Jumped at the chance to enjoy a special St George's day "Afternoon Tea" at Pebble Beach wondering what delights would be in store and knowing we'd be in for a treat. The delicious selection of sandwiches were silver served to us followed with beautiful melt in the mouth scones. We were then presented with what you could describe as a piece of "Art" A beautiful array of delicate cakes and patisseries all perfectly crafted by a master and they tasted divine. What a treat. Friendly welcoming staff as always and even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. The recent refurbishment of the restaurant looks as fabulous as the food. Thank you Pebble Beach, you never disappoint.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We like to think of ourselves as regulars at this fabulous restaurant and it does show it's not true what they say about familiarity ! Every time it comes up to the mark and 2 weeks ago the standards were as good as ever if not better ! The food was brilliant and all the staff were great with Sebastian, who looked after us, superb - well done all !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What's not to like ?

The food is some of the best I have ever eaten - at a price to embarass many other restaurants.

The staff are attentive and welcoming.

The view across to the Isle of Wight are relaxing.

I cannot think of a better way to spend a lazy afternoon than here. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
1.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
3.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
10.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebble Beach Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebble Beach Rooms

Address: Marine Drive, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 7DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range: $106 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pebble Beach Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pebble Beach Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pebble Beach Hotel Barton-On-Sea
Pebble Beach Rooms Barton-On-Sea, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing