We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cliff House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa(New Milton)
$844
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe(Highcliffe)(Great Value!)
$111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Bute Hotel(Christchurch)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$277
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms(Christchurch)
$134
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
136
44
17
15
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
44
17
15
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffisle of wightlambstunning viewsgranolahorse boxsunday lunchowners and staffresident dogsmall hotelnew forestlovely locationoutside areaeach eveningfood was fantasticboth nightsoverlooking the sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 214 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding in Christchurch and left it a little late booking somewhere to stay. In the end we were rather grateful that other places were booked up. We went for a smaller room without a sea view as we would be out at the wedding all day. Even so the room was modern and clean and very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay. The breakfast served in the sun lounge with stunning views across to the Isle of Wight was absolutely delicious. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

if you're offered the twin room behind reception, say no! the noise from reception and hall does not offer any chance to sleep. when the room above you is occupied it can be compared to a herd of elephants playing tag! the room was damp and the musty smell pungent to say the least. we paid over £100 for the privilege!
at breakfast the lady serving seemed in different and turse. the only redeeming element was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Montydog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice location spoiled by the afternoon cream tea. Stale scones, luke warm tea and indifferent service. To be fair they were busy and we sat in the garden, the weather was beautiful and fantastic sea views.

We have friends who have stayed and dined on our recommendation who loved the hotel so very disappointed.

I wrote to the hotel but received no reply.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank glj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and feedback on your recent visit to The Cliff House. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and can only say that this is not the standard that our customers are used to. Our scones are all freshly made and oven warmed to order, therefore I am very surprised to hear this. We also serve our tea with water from a boiler, therefore this is also something that we have never experienced in the past. I notice that you say you have contacted us regarding your visit, however we have not received this and would be more than happy to discuss your expericence to ensure that this is not repeated.
Kind Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I took my elderly mother to The Cliff House for a few days. The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Overall the service was excellent. Our room, Dover, had side sea views, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a very good size bathroom. The food was delicious, and the chef was most accommodating when asked for extras or changes for my mother's diet. His home-made bread was wonderful! The Cliff House has the most spectacular views over the sea from the sun terrace and the dining room and it's a quiet spot, so perfect for our needs. To sit in the sun on the terrace and sip our wine or tea, and watch the dog walkers and the boats was so relaxing. The whole atmosphere of the place is relaxing and comfortable, with a personal touch.
We hope to come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in Portland room overlooking the sea. Sat up in bed looking out at the Isle of Wight. Small but comfortable room with ensuite shower. Go for Plymouth if you want a bath....or Wight if you want a cheaper option. Beds a little tired but quite comfy. Excellent breakfast and hotel restaurant is very good for evening meal. Good selection and reasonably priced. Nice little bar area to relax in. Hotel does not offer meals on Sunday. They close from 4pm. However a short walk away is Pebble Beach restaurant . Hotel owners are very friendly and go that extra bit to help, as do tgeir staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classic1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews