We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Sandown
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

just spent two nights at the Cliff House, with my husband stayed in the Dover room, it was a spacious room with a king size bed and side views to the needles and the Isle of Wight. The food in the restaurant was very good, with locally sourced ingredients. Breakfast was very good also, staff were warm and friendly and efficient.

Only downside was not enough power sockets in the room, only two. Also the shower is not very powerful.

But overall great value for money with stunning views.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyIsle0fWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    40
    15
    15
    2
See reviews for
31
103
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel was unknown to us four days ago but since we arrived rather tired from travelling, the friendly and accommodating service soon reinstated the status quo. The hotel is place in a prime coastal location with stunning views. The rates are reasonable, the rooms are comfortable and the restaurant worth a visit even if you are a resident.

Martyn and Wenda

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have stayed a number of times at The Cliff House, which has always been a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
We have dined there a number of times over the last couple of years and have had a variety of meals from alfresco snacks to more substantial family reunions in the restaurant, all of which have been superb.

For us, the atmosphere at The Cliff House is always very welcoming whether for a lunchtime snack or for an evening meal with possibly some wine...

Donald and Kerry have great charm and great passion for their establishment, their staff and their clientele. Their passion shows through with their staff, who are relaxed, always helpful and well presented.

Thanks Donald & Kerry, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My family (4 rooms) stayed at the Cliff House Hotel for 5 nights in April and had a delightful time. The owners & hosts, Donald and Kelly, made us very welcome and did everything, including laundry, to make our stay very pleasant. From the wonderful, full breakfast, to keeping the bar open late into the night, the location provided a good base for local activities and trips to Stonehenge and the Dorset Jurassic coast.
I live in Hotels all over the world, but staying at the Cliff House was warm and friendly, almost like being home.
We will stay there again.
Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, but a sea view is best.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinedrivewest, Owner at The Cliff House, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to comment on The Cliff House . We were delighted you enjoyed your stay . Your comments have been shared with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliff House

Regards Donald and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The staff were very pleasant and owners, on first meeting, friendly.
The hotel, on the surface, is quite pleasant. It has a good position for views but you need your own transport as there is not much else close by.
If you are old or infirm, be warned, there is no lift, as an old lady I saw on the steep stairs , found almost to her cost.
As I have said, the views are pleasant but there is a degree and air of amateur around the place. You very much get the feeling that you are a house-guest in a stranger’s home and providing you know your place, you will be tolerated – it’s hard to describe but you will understand if you stay. The area supports a fairly aged population, who, when dining, behave well and don’t outstay their welcome. If you are resident, you feel you must be down on time for breakfast, eat quickly, and go – there is no real underlying warmth or substance.
The food is not bad but the dining room decor – well! If they had aspidistras and were serving ‘brown Windsor’ soup, it would work, but again, it is like being a house-guest in a stranger’s home.
The owners are too over the top, one minute and underwhelming the next – it’s just wrong on so many levels and yet, the young staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble, which does seem genuine.
If you are staying, be warned: They don’t believe in heating the bedrooms too much and if it is cold outside, as it was when I stayed, make sure you take warm PJs, bed socks and a woolly hat – brrrrrrr it was cold! The heating was on in the morning and the radiators were just warming up and whilst I ate breakfast. Then, whilst I was eating, some idiot went around and opened all the windows upstairs! Obviously, a sign that you should go..
Will I stay there again and is it value for money? I think, on balance, not, but the sausages are good!
I can’t fully put my finger on it – the hotel has many good points but it does not work when all put together. I believe that the owners should both work in other hotels for twelve months and then bring those learning’s back with them. Presently, and as a person who regularly stays in many hotels around the world, they are amateurish and lacking in sincerity. But this is only my opinion.
If you like tired décor, only intend to sleep there, are fresh-air freaks, have the constitution of a Polar Bear and like nice sausages, then I can recommend it to you, wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces South, the view is good and it will be warmer. There is no Lift in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
53 Thank London99999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinedrivewest, Owner at The Cliff House, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and the Career advise . We believe The Cliff House offers an andidote to the clinical bedroom factory experience which plagues so many establishments . We totally disagee with your analysis of the decor , it refects the sea scape surrouding the The Cliff House , mineral colours with a New England theme complete the scene ,
We are sorry you felt cold during you stay , we do offer additional room heaters if requested . We do have a ground floor room available for guests who can not or prefer not to use the stairs , the lady in question has been a regular guest since we acquired The Cliff House and chose a 1st Floor Bedroom , we do not claim to have a lift so find this criticism curious. We are delighted you enjoyed our sausages - we will pass on your comments to our Head Chef who makes them.
We appreciate your comments on our well trained, friendly staff, who have obviously benefited from the guidance and training we have been able to give them , Our experience in the quality hotel and corporate conference centre business sector has been invaluable in achieving this.

Thankyou again for reviewing The Cliff House

Donald Darbishire (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Four of us had Christmas lunch at the Cliff House and paid £86 per head (excluding wine). To be fair the starters and desserts were OK but by no means exceptional given the cost. However, the main course was not only a disappointment but a disgrace. The only vegetables (apart from two pieces of roast potatoes already dished up on the plate) were a very small dish of sprouts and a bowl of carrots which were over-cooked and sprinkled with sprigs of rosemary which you had to scrape off before being able to eat the carrots. There were two small circles of turkey which had no flavour and appeared to be from a pre-formed roll. The chipolatas had thick skins which were difficult to penetrate and were not properly cooked. Having told the waitress we were disappointed with the meal, the chef came out to see us. He said the turkey was carved that morning (from what he didn't say) and his reason for the lack of other vegetables (e.g. parsnips) was laughable: there had been no frost and the parsnips were only suitable for soup! To be fobbed off in this way only added insult to injury. He did offer us a free liqueur but this would have been small compensation for such a hugely disappointing meal. We have been regular visitors to the Cliff House for many years but we will certainly not be going there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinedrivewest, Owner at The Cliff House, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer . Thank you for taking the time to register your comments , we value all feedback , positive and negative , and endeavour to use the information to improve other guests experience.
With regard to Christmas Lunch, we were disappointed that you were not delighted , you will recall I spoke with your party at some length and was under the impression we had resolved your concerns.
The issue of cost would appear to cause concern .On Christmas Day we served 69 Lunches and without exception all others were very complimentary. I appreciate other diners experience may be of no consequence to yourselves hence my goodwill gesture of complimentary liqueurs which was declined.
During your Lunch the Waitress checked that all was well and your response was positive and all the food on all the plates was eaten.
I regret you thought my comments regarding the Parsnips were laughable , it was a genuine reason and I believe demonstrates our commitment to ensuring quality.
Thank you again for reviewing The Cliff House I sincerely hope you will return and enjoy our hospitality in the future.

Regards Donald Darbishire Owner


t
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We do not know how we drove past the Cliff house many times without noticing it. In mid October we stopped for lunch. The warm weather meant we could sit on the terrace with a perfect view of the Isle of Wight and the Solent. The food was excellent, especially the mussels with frites, as good as any in Belgium. The service was friendle, the price reasonable [£20 per head including drinks]. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barton7ql, Owner at The Cliff House, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to log your feedback. We strive to deliver great food and service and the team were delighted with your most generous comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliff House.

Regards Donald Darbishire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,773 reviews
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,025 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Property: The Cliff House
Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing