We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All sorted here”
Review of Aravis Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jean-de-Sixt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aravis Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All sorted here”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a slick operation filling in a major hole in the skiing market: weekends and short breaks. It's not too far from Geneva Airport and, once arriving at the lodge, immediate ski and boot fitting along with a waiting lift pass means being ready to hit the slopes first thing next day.
A special mention must go to the splendid food together with wine, as indeed has been mentioned by the other reviews. Recommended

Room Tip: The west side chalet rooms enjoy late afternoon light overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    29
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a ski great weekend with 'Ski Weekender' at the Aravis Lodge. We have no complaints at all. The location was great, just a few minutes drive to 2 good ski areas La Clusaz and Le Grande Bornand. Excellent pistes with no queues! The staff at Aravis were are very helpful and I would say they went the extra mile for their guests. The food was fantastic, great breakfast and a wonderful selection of cakes on arriving back from a long day of skiing followed by a delicious 3 course evening meal with wine. The whole package was designed to give you maximum time on the slopes with the minimum of hassle. The package included airport transfers, ski passes and also ski hosting for the first 2 days which was very helpful. The lodge can also supply and fit your skis and boots and airport transfers are in the late afternoon so that you can ski the day leave. The bedrooms were quite basic but very clean and the beds comfortable. Not luxury but fine if you are more interested in the skiing than having luxury accommodation. We had a great time and will definitely be going again. Would recommend this to anyone who loves skiing and doesn't want t full week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I've never been so well looked after on a ski holiday. Everything had been thought about so no time was wasted hanging around sorting things out. We were whisked out of the airport and up the mountain so quickly and sorted out with equipment as soon as we were ready. No trekking across an unfamiliar town to wait in line at the local ski hire shop for us. The accommodation is not luxurious but clean and simple and lets face it you're not there to hang around in your hotel room. Food was lovely especially the huge afternoon tea buffet and there was a very sociable feel to the chalet. The ski hosting meant we didn't have to worry about finding our way around the slopes and was really well paced. All in all I couldn't recommend it enough and we hope to be back. Loved the resorts as well, mostly French accents and a more authentic experience than some of the bigger resorts. Would have loved a hot tub rather than a sauna but I can't think of anything else negative to say!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Four of us chaps (only two of us in the end as the other two dropped out) decided on a long-ish weekend (Thurs - Mon) ski break, and found Aravis Lodge. Ski Weekender picked us up from Geneva, 1-hr transfer to hotel.

Ski rental on site which was dead handy. Room was clean and comfortable although it was as well we were only two. I would not have wanted to share this room with 3 other grown men, it would have been mighty cosy ;) As it was, we were very comfortable, but I would be wary about filling rooms to maximum capacity unless you are all REALLY good friends.

Atmosphere very friendly with a great bar and a sense of organisation about the place. All the staff were professional and competent and everything happened on time - very useful when on a short break like this.

Breakfast was first class in the morning, choice of a different hot option each morning (porridge, eggs, etc) with loads of cereals, breads, and fresh fruit.

Dinner in the evenings was also first class - simple meals (Beef Bourgignon, turkey casserole...) but very well cooked and with tons of vegetables / potatoes etc, just what you need after a days skiing. Also, very unusually for France, loads of green veg - broccoli, cabbage, peas, etc. Everyone looked forward to dinner each evening and there wasn't one disappointment.

Morning buses to the two resorts were punctual and friendly, and getting back was dead easy - wait for the Aravis pick up, or get the regular free local bus back to the hotel - only make sure you get on the bus which says "St Jean de Sixte" which we failed to check one day and spent a pleasant hour touring round the area before ending up back where we started. (Doh!!).

La Clusaz seemed to have a wider variety of skiing, but we were very late in the season so probably quite different in Feb. All in all, an excellent few days, perfectly organised and very friendly. Would definitely return.

Criticisms? Very difficult, but one suggestion: I know it's impossible to offer an a la carte breakfast menu each morning, but surely a couple of fried eggs can't be that difficult? They were offered (with delicious bacon!!) one morning but when I asked for them again the next morning I was told it was not possible. Don't tease us with such a great breakfast one morning if we can't have it again!! :))

Oh, and WiFi which extends upstairs to the rooms would be fantastic. Great that it's available, but would be even better if you didn't have to slog downstairs to pick it up early in the morning.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms were similar. We were unlucky in that we had a crowd of rowdies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMurphyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD_33
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

What a fantastic company, they have thought of everything. It was such a well organised weekend, which meant we didn't have to stress or worry about anything (other than staying upright on our skis!) Absolutely fantastic staff (especially the ski hosts), cosy, friendly and sociable place to be. Really can't recommend this little gem of a company enough!! So get booking!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LD_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I highly recommend Ski Weekender if you are looking for a short ski break that is great value for money as well as providing maximum time on the slopes. The Aravis Lodge is in a little village between two decent sized resorts and only 1 hour from Geneva. The staff are fantastic - super organised and helpful. The food is great - particularly the cakes for afternoon tea. The on site equipment hire is really easy, good value and good quality. All in all a great way to get on the slopes without spending a fortune!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I and my family have now used Skiweekender the last 4 years for short breaks. It is the perfect set up - pick up & drop off from Geneva, just over 1 hour transfer (included in the cost, along with ski pass). Ski & boot hire onsite. Drop off and pick up each day at La Clusaz & Grand Bornand, so no walking involved.
Basic, but spotless accommodation, good food and very friendly staff.
Ski guiding (must be happy on Red runs) and evening activities if you have the energy.
We will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-de-Sixt
1.3 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
954 reviews
1.5 mi away
Logis La Croix Saint-Maurice Hotel
Logis La Croix Saint-Maurice Hot...
#3 of 10 in Le Grand-Bornand
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#3 of 20 in La Clusaz
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Ferme
La Ferme
#6 of 20 in La Clusaz
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vermont
Hotel Le Vermont
#8 of 10 in Le Grand-Bornand
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aravis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aravis Lodge

Property: Aravis Lodge
Address: les Sixts, 74450 Saint-Jean-de-Sixt, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Jean-de-Sixt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Sixt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious hotel run as a friendly ski chalet. Available for all-inclusive short break ski holidays in winter. Located 5 minutes from both La Clusaz and Grand Bornand ski resorts. On site sauna, ski hire and bar. Full area lift passes, airport transfers, meals and accommodation are included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing