We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay and eat in Tuscany”

Ristorante della Fattoria La Vialla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Farm and wine estate in Tuscany serving several lunch options. Please call for details.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best place to stay and eat in Tuscany”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were one of the first Dutch guests starting to stay for a week in one of the houses at the Fattoria. And we keeping coming back each year. Although one has to make reservations for the houses a couple of years in front. Over the years we had different evening meals, and they were always perfect. This year we drove several times down the hill for the so called Merenda. A small lunch with meat, pecorino, bread, sauces and salad. Absolutely delicious. The family Lo Franco offer diners, big lunches and small lunches. When in the neighborhood don't hesitate to visit the Fattoria.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank GabbeDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    29
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent little farm - dont miss out”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to the farm as promised (previous review) We did a tour of the farm so interesting to see where the food was coming from and how it was packaged. We then had a brilliant meal with all their home grown food and wine, excellent. We then found out that you can actually stay on the farm, this will definately be one of our future holidays. Check out their web site and order some farm, they are now selling excellent christams hampers which will be brilliant presents. I am sure you will not be dissapointed

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank EileenandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“The Darling Buds of May”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you have seen the repeated episodes of the BBC TV series 'The Darling Buds of May' then will recall Ma and Pop Larkin and all the whole Larkin family sitting in the sunshine at a long table under the trees enjoying a feast of a meal. Well, eating at La Vialla is a very similar experience. My wife and myself joined 18 other guests, mainly from Holland, to eat an incredible meal at one long table under the olive trees on a hot August afternoon on this rural estate in Tuscany. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Italy this summer!

We have been ordering pasta sauces from La Vialla, via the internet, for two years now and decided that we would try to visit the source of these sauce this summer, while staying in Umbria. Fattoria la Vialla's website has a webcam, on which you can watch the farm's workers and their guests eating outside in the farmyard each day. I have been quite a compulsive viewer over the last year and so I was excited to see if it really was this idylic. Well, it is!

Castiglion Fibocchi is not easy to find and Fattoria la Vialla is not well signposted when your get to the village. We aimed for Arezzo and then folowed the river Arno out of town until we could cross it north west of the town. It was only on leaving the village that we saw a sign to Trattoria la Vialla. I would recommend that travellers get a good map of Tuscany if they are to find Castiglion Fibocchi.

On arrival, we were welcomed by an english speaking guide, Ana, who gave the two of us a personal tour of the farm, its manufacturing plant and its wine cellars. Generous tasting of their wines followed and an opportunity to order any of their locally made produce, which is shipped to the UK free of carriage cost. (Our order arrived today - three weeks after our visit!). La Vialla only supplies directly to the customer and does not use any 'middle men', so we took the opportunty to order our Christmas wines, and restock our pasta sauce cellar. It really is good pasta sauce and so many different varieties.

We had e mailed la Vialla in advance, to say that we would be visiting and we had booked our lunch at 25 euros per head. What good value it turned out to be. After our tour and shopping, we were directed to the outside table overlooking the valley and we then spent the next 3 hours enjoying the locally produced, cooked and served food and wine. Appetisers of all types filled an adjacent table, with light sparkling wines to accompany them, followed by a range of starters and more wine. Pasta dishes folllowed and more wine and then a lamb dish with much more wine. Desserts were supporetd by sweet wines and finally out came the grappa. All of this wonderful food and wine in a beautiful setting under the Tuscan olive trees with our hosts being less Larkin and more Lucietto - but equally hospitable.

We will call again next year, I hope. Now we have found Fattoria La Vialla it would be a pity not too. In the meantime, when we open their Bombolino pasta sauce, we will remember our 'Darling Buds of May' Italian experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We buy fantastic food from this lovely farm in the heart of tuscany by mail order, everything we received is top quality, please go on line and check it out really worth it. We are visiting Tuscany in two weeks and will be vising this farm , we can not wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fattoria La Vialla Tuscany”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just returned from a stunning farmhouse stay here at the totally organic La Vialla. (in the company of two friends who had stayed here previously). Away from it all... doesn't really explain how wonderful this beautiful rustic oasis is.....butterflies,wild birds and even the occasional wild boar roam the woods.Shorts,walking boots and casual gear are all that is needed for this unique experience.
Although the farm houses are self catering,La Vialla does offer two evening meals one in the farmhouse and one outside the Museum. Breakfast (al fresco) and a tour of the working farm can also be booked. Fantastic award winning wines, bread, biscuits, pasta and pasta sauces, olives, olive oil can be bought at the little shop.All produce can be ordered on-line to be enjoyed at home throughout the year.Delivery is free. New this year, is a museum with the history of Tuscan farming clearly set out for guests to peruse.
La Vialla is also in a prime position for touring Tuscany with Siena,Cortona and other magnificent ancient towns and villages within an hour or so.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
21 Thank pixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante della Fattoria La Vialla also viewed

Gello Biscardo, Castiglion Fibocchi
Pieve A Presciano, Pergine Valdarno
 
San Giustino Valdarno, Province of Arezzo
Laterina, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Ristorante della Fattoria La Vialla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing