We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting visit”

Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour of the cheese caves of Societe Roquefort
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our visit to the Roquefort caves - my French wasn't really up to following the tour guide fully but my other half is more fluent and was able to translate the salient points. The moving model of the land on which Roquefort sits and the inevitable 'sons et lumiere' that the French love were a bit pointless but thankfully weren't terribly long. The tour itself lasted about 1 hour. The caves are quite remarkable and very extensive and the tasting at the end provides a sample of the 3 types of roquefort which this company produces. Regrettably the two best ones don't appear to be exported much if at all so we won't be able to get them in the UK. As was explained on the tour, roquefort can't be left out a cool environment for more than 1 day so unfortuntely as we were travelling for another week, we couldn't buy any.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElleGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    217
    69
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Roquefort review”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Tour Society Roquefort was just average. Too long and English handout didn't match tour. Tasting was excellent, though!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnthetraveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very informative tour”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

A must if you are in the are - a very comprehensive tour with translations provided in English. All aspects of making the cheese and storing it were expertly explained. Not a great Roquefort fan but the tasting at the end of the tour opened my eyes to other types of Roquefort.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank helpmab0ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manche, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like cheese:”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

and even if you don't this is a fascinating place to spend a damp afternoon. The manufacture and distribution of this unique cheese is very well explained, regrettably only in French but a printed translation is freely available and very well put together.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank uncle_albert39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not interesting”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Not worth the money for international visitors.

You are given a sheet with the commentrary on it and you follow the group around and try to keep up.

only go if you're SUPER keen on smelly cheeses!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bec_Cassidy_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves also viewed

Roquefort Sur Soulzon, Aveyron
Roquefort Sur Soulzon, Aveyron
 
Sainte-Eulalie-de-Cernon, Aveyron
 

Been to Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing