We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sandwiches and atmosphere”
Review of Smoke Meat Pete

Smoke Meat Pete
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in L'Ile-Perrot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great Montreal-style smoked meat, peppery and moist (similar, but not exactly the same as kosher deli corned beef). I recommend medium (fat) for some added flavor and texture. I didn't love the fries - I prefer thin cut McDonalds-style fries. Live blues and rock in the evenings, and the joint has the feel of a road house -- laid back, no-frills, slightly gritty, friendly. Bring cash; credit isn't accepted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdsqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    112
    39
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be improved!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wait is too long. They don't have service at the tables, interac unavailable, wait is too long, way too long. At least food is good. Little things could make this place great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topgun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Smoke Meat!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great smoked meat sandwich! Fries great. Cherry coke - what more can I say! We will be back! We were there at lunch so did not experience the music. Ate outside on picnic table which was great since it was such a nice day. The staff is super friendly and service was quick! Great spot!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extremely inconsistent!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I used to frequent this place and truly enjoyed the experience, sandwiches "were" great!! I'm not sure what went wrong but my last 3 visits were discussing, a plate consisting of 80% fat is completely unacceptable. At one point I took apart one of mine and a friends sandwich and asked the waitress to tell me if she would eat that and she said no way!! She returned our meat and only then did we get something reasonable. I decided to give it another try only to get a sandwich with 80% white greasy fat. I decided I have better things to do than return plates loaded with fat for $30 a pair.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Takiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Smoked meat”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really enjoy the smoked meat here. I find the medium to fat tastes the best. I have never gone during non-peak periods, but when they are busy the sandwiches are fantastic. I also eat a Schwartz's, done so for many years. I enjoy both. Unfortunate that you can't use a credit card at Pete's unless you are buying briskets to go. With a steamer you can take a brisket home and in 75 minutes you can have great sandwiches for an army of hungry people, much cheaper that way. If you're in the west island go here and eat before the music starts, it tends to get loud as it gets later.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke Meat Pete also viewed

L'Ile-Perrot, Quebec
 
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec
 
L'Ile-Perrot, Quebec
 

Been to Smoke Meat Pete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing