We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, comfortable room and nice hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aretousa

Hotel Aretousa
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aretousa
Ranked #2 of 4 Sougia B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Great value, comfortable room and nice hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Aretousa Studios for a couple of nights because we hiked along Samaria Gorge. It was in a great location - only a short walk to the beach, seaside restaurant strip and bus stop. Our room and bathroom were quite small - but it was really great value. Dara, the host was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crete
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

No more no less than expected. Aretousa is not a seaside resort, but having stayed in such hotels I prefer this. If you do not mind to walk some 400 m. to the beach you can have the advantage of not being exausted by the tavernas music and noise, which are companions to the near sea appartments. The business is running under a very friendly young couple, who will do anything to make your stay more comfortable. The rooms are large enough and very clean. Don't wait for an excellent view but you will have a quiet night instead. There is wi fi connection but for some reason it is very slow, it may have something to do with the bandwidth, as there is need by many people in the area. I have stayed in 4 places in Sougia and Aretousa is by far the best.

Room Tip: Next time I will prefer rooms having a road view, not a yard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papademm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Aretousa studios for 8 nights and we really enjoyed it. It is conveniently located, only 4' walk from the beach and the seaside cafes . The hosts Mirco and Dara were very friendly and did their best to make us feel comfortable. The rooms were cleaned every day and the place is generally well looked after. The only negative point is that the shower in our room was rather small. Our 2 year old child also enjoyed the safe playground

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Situated in the edge of the village, it is very quiet. Modern and spacey rooms with a small kitchen to prepare something to eat, and a small balcony to enjoy some view. Excellent value for money. Bathroom clean, AC, the only drawback is a small window without shutters that coincide with the sun route in August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank konstantinos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just loved the colour scheme of these rooms, green wood with splashes of orange fabrics. The rooms were spotless and the shower room spacious [though a little dark]. We only boiled water for drinks but the kitchen was clean and very well equipped. Aretousa is on the Chania road and the bus stops nearby. This makes it sound busy, but I think only two or tree vehicles come in and out of Sougia a day, we arrived from Palaiokhora by boat which seems to be the nicest way to get here.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on the top floor and on the corner so balcony has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UponATime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed three nights. The room was large, immaculately clean, comfortable, and quiet, with a balcony. There was a refrigerator, teapot, a bit of kitchenware, and a small table, so that we could easily manage breakfast on the balcony. Parking is available on site. The owners are polite and professional. It was a great place to be based for trips to Lissos and the Irini gorge. (It would also be a jumping off place for hiking the Samaria gorge "the wrong way," from the bottom up, but as it happened, the sea was rough and the ferry to that gorge wasn't running.)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grovejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sougia
0.2 mi away
Idomeneas Apartments & Studios
0.1 mi away
Pension Irene
Pension Irene
#3 of 4 in Sougia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Irene
Hotel Santa Irene
#2 of 4 in Sougia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#3 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Syia Hotel
Syia Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sougia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aretousa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aretousa

Property: Hotel Aretousa
Address: Sougia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sougia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sougia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Aretousa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aretousa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aretousa Sougia, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing