We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Syia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Libyan Princess(Palaiochora)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Glaros(Palaiochora)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on the Rocks(Palaiochora)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Nikolas(Palaiochora)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Hotel Aghas(Palaiochora)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      Joanna's Place(Palaiochora)
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Hotel Polydoros(Palaiochora)
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Bar/Lounge
      Reviews (85)
      Filter reviews
      85 results
      Traveler rating
      55
      28
      2
      0
      0
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      55
      28
      2
      0
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewshis teamyogurtlovely hotelstay there againthe perfect place to staythe hotel managerpebble beachhuge roomother placessmall kitchenetterooms are cleangood sizethe ownermarcosvillageaccommodationbalcony
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      40 - 45 of 85 reviews
      Reviewed May 25, 2014

      Room was modern and kept very clean during our stay. Location of the hotel is good - approx 2-3 minutes walk from beach and restaurants etc. We thought the price seemed competitive, however, as always, I think the best rates can be obtained by booking direct with the hotel.

      The owner/manager of the hotel (Marcos) was very welcoming and keen to help us get the most out of our stay.

      Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
      1  Thank Mike T
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed May 13, 2014

      We stayed three nights of a weeks trip to the area. We had been to Sougia before, but never stayed overnight. The room was very large and well fitted out. Markos and the team could not have been more helpful. In May the village is full of walkers, German ,English and French.

      • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Lorna W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 9, 2014

      Loved every moment of my time at this place. Marko does a superb job of welcoming you in and making you feel at home. The place is located a little way from the beach but it's location off of the main beach front means it is very quiet and serene. My only real complaint here is that I wasn't able to stay longer. I would recommend this place to anybody with no hesitation.

      • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank steve s
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed October 13, 2013

      Ideal place for a relax stay in the South of Kriti, above all our expectations. Markos and his team are your best guarantee for a succesfull time in the area. All kind of recreation, food & beverage, retail shops, etc are available. Smart infrastructure of the village advantageous for the location of the hotel.

      Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      1  Thank Rik G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed September 28, 2013

      My wife and I used Syia hotel as our base in Sougia and the surrounding area for 5 nights.

      To be honest it is hard to fault this hotel/B&B.

      The development is very new, just 6 years old and is very tastefully furnished with a traditional but modern feel. Our room comprised of lounge/kitchen, bathroom and very spacious bedroom and was very light and airy. The balcony had nice views towards the sea and mountains and was perfect for sitting on at the end of a days adventures while having a cooling beer.

      The balcony also has a clothes horse for drying towels etc or for drying the clothes that the proprietor of the hotel will have washed for you on request.

      There are two air con units (one in the bedroom and one the lounge/dinner).

      The bathroom is a wet room and works well. I have seen posts that question this arrangement but we could not see any issue at all.

      The room rate includes a cold Buffett breakfast which is just perfect for setting the day up. Beautiful Greek yogurt, cold meats and cheese, local bread and good coffee.

      So with near perfect near accommodation in a location just 300m from the sea front we were even more delighted to find that the hotel manager, Markos, is wonderfully helpful and accommodating. There was nothing that was too much trouble and his knowledge of the area was of great help on many occasions.

      There is no question that we would try and stay in Syia again on a return visit to Sougia. Having only stated in this one hotel in Sougia we can't obviously say that it us the best hotel in the village, however I would be very surprised if there is better or if there is one with such a wonderful proprietor and such well appointed accommodation. Just fantastic!

      It nearly churlish to mention it, but the one thing we would change is to switch off the centrally located hotel ornamental fountain in the evening. We loved to sit and chat with a drink on our balcony in the evening before heading out to dinner. The fountain was directly below us and is very intrusive and drowns out the sound of the cicadas and other insects and birds that fill the evening with their song.

      Cheers.

      Room Tip: Try and get a second floor room with a view of the sea and mountains. Thus will cost a little more but us worth it.
      • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      4  Thank Peter H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews