We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Besseuil
Nearby Hotels
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fasthotel de Macon(Sennece-les-Macon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
107
79
39
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
79
39
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar and restaurantrabbitmodern amenitiesswimming poolset menuown winefood was greatthe barncourtyardapartmentvineyardschateauburgundyproductseurosconversionfrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 239 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place was simply amazing. My son and I were upgraded to a suite, the room was great and very clean.
The staff was very attentive, friendly and professionel.
Breakfast was delicious and we also used room service in the evening and the food was great.
The place is in an amazing setting, I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the chateau and the town but we had to go back on the road.
I highly recommend that place.
We will be back !

Room Tip: The suite is great especially if you travel as a family, it is very spacy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had an amazing stay at the Chateau de Besseuil in July 2012. This is easily the best hotel we stayed in in France. We had a room with a view of the vineyards. It was stunning. The hotel is extremely modern and clean but with a lot of "old french charm" I would recommend this place to anyone who is stopping over in Clesse. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The chateau was gorgeous the rooms were so comfortable. If it seems a bit pricey, keep in mind that you can get last min deals for as little as 99 euro a night. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I couldn't give it less that 3 stars because they have tried hard to make the chateau different but it simply wasn't for us. The Reception we received and the staff were very good and welcoming but we were disappointed with the room and with dinner.
The area of Clesse is very pretty and the chateau is set amidst vineyards which is typical rural France.
When we entered the room it struck us as being a cross between Easyjet orange and Travelodge but was immaculate. The shower was excellent, there was a small kitchen area with a fridge and the toiletries were varied and of good quality. The room was a little small and with the blinds down, somewhat claustrophobic.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of meats, breads, croissants, regional cheeses and fruit. It was spoilt by what tasted like instant coffee. However, no complaints on the breakfast front.
The bar area seems to have lost direction with uncomfortable chairs of multi colours and House wine served at 7 Euros a glass.
Dinner on the Terrace was a pleasant setting but the prices are somewhat over the top for the quality of food and the length of service between courses. The fish of our main course had to be sent back as it was seriously undercooked but when it was returned, was delicious.
Our overall impression was the Chateau is trying to be ever so trendy and this is exactly what some people like but it was not for us as it was too functional, tried ever so hard to be chic and exclusive and this meant that the comfort and functionality was somewhat lost.
It certainly isn't cheap and for us didn't deliver so we wouldn't return but some people would, I am sure, be at home and enjoy staying in a trendy chateau at top prices.

Room Tip: View the room before you decide if it is for you.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I cannot believe that the other reviewers have been to the same Chateau de Besseuil...??? Yes, the building and grounds are lovely to look at on the outside, but once you enter, BEWARE. I have been twice, once for dinner with friends at the restaurant, once for a stop on a wine-tasting tour. I have been coming to this area of Burgundy since 2000, and never in all that time have I ever encountered such rude, snobby personnel in this region. Moreover, the food in the restaurant is just adequate, nothing special, there are definitely much better options nearby (try the Relais de Montmartre in Viré or La Marande near Montbellet for example). Their wine is an absolute joke! I first came to this region because of the fantastic Viré Clessé whites, and Chateau de Besseuil is a relative newcomer in this domain. They think that by making their wines 3 to 4 times more expensive than other local producers, that makes them better. WRONG. They are not at all worth the mark-up.
When I came for dinner with friends, we were a large party, and 2 of us arrived first. When offered an apéritif while waiting, we said yes, and wanted to sit in the lounge area at the entrance to wait for the others. The disagreeable young blond man rudely forbade us from doing so, and made us go to the bar (which is in a separate wing). That evening was chilly, and the bar was entirely open to the outdoors, and the only other customers were rough-looking motorcycle types, so we opted to skip that experience and just go to our table and wait for the other 10 people to show up. The dining room has some nice wood panelling, but the overall décor is ruined by the horrid ceiling which looks like something from a cheap corporate cafeteria in the basement of one of the La Defense office buildings. The service was bad, and our food was just so-so. As a result, all 12 of us, who live year-round in this region, decided we would never go back. You can get much better value for your money, and with a smile to boot, at numerous other hotels and restaurants in this area. I'm ashamed to think that people will make judgements about this fantastic area of southern Burgundy based on their experience here.

Room Tip: Avoid this place and go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great hotel, renovated in 2010/2011. Fantastic atmosphere on a warm summer night. Great food. Rooms though not big, but nicely done. Absolutely quiet. Swimming pool, nice garden. All perfect for a relaxing weekend in Burgundy. Judith

Room Tip: Difficult to find, you need navigation system....
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews