We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally as described, in fact better!”

Review of In the vrai sud

Your very own balcony overlooking the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your very own balcony overlooking the village
The church from the balcony The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Your very own balcony overlooking the village
The church from the balcony
The lounge
Your own private pool in secluded garden
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin/bunk room
Dining room
Cheffy kitchen
Bathroom
Ceiling rose detail in dining room
The original staircase
Discover lots of lovely walks
Enjoy the river beaches for picnics...
Golf in the area
Waterski on the lake at Cahuzac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Riscle, Gers, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele M
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally as described, in fact better!”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Have returned to this property three times, never disappointed with the house, facilities, area or owner.
Look forward to going back in the not too distant future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious well equipped property
Liked least: Nothing not to,like!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W
Alford, Lincs UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit of Paradise!”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I booked our 6 week stay in the house over a year before our trip - it was my big retirement holiday. I was attracted to the reviews that described the area as real, unspoilt France.

The house itself is great, with big, airy rooms and a decent-sized garden with sitting area, table and small pool. The kitchen is very well equipped and there's plenty of room to sleep up to 8 people. We had family members to stay and the house was perfect for entertaining. The house has three floors with the living room on the first floor - very good for fitness levels! The balconied living room has wonderful news down the main street and is great for watching the world go by!

Riscle is a little commune of only 1,700 inhabitants, and although it suffers the same challenges as many small towns everywhere, with a number of empty shops, it has vibrancy and charm. Its 7 restaurants mean that you're never short of somewhere for an excellent meal, though most close in the evenings, the main meal being lunch. We loved the fact that locals were so friendly and we immediately felt at home.

It's not a touristy area, though there are plenty of things to see and do. It's a wine-taster's paradise, though, and many local farms produce foie gras which can be tasted and bought from the producer. The wine shop next door has a fabulous range of local wines and armagnacs and the owners are really helpful and friendly.

We loved walking the many great footpaths in the area - many of the views of hills and vineyards take your breath away, especially when you can see the Pyrenees on the horizon.

I'd always wanted to have an extended stay in France when I retired, and Riscle and this house exceeded all my expectations. Most of all, we were really impressed with the owner, Suzie Larcombe, whom we quickly came to see as a friend. Always positive, enthusiastic and supportive, we knew that she was there if we needed her and she always responded immediately to any questions. She's also a fabulous cook, so if you go do, get her to cook you a meal - it's mega value at 20 euros per person including wine!

We have so many wonderful memories of this great place and can't recommend it enough. We shall return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, its central village location and the area generally
Liked least: Leaving it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinIOW
IOW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a relaxing holiday full of traditional french charm”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house was exactly as described, very well equipped and perfectly prepared for us. The welcome pack was a real treat too, so that we could start enjoying our holiday as soon as we arrived!
The area around Riscle is fairly quiet, with long winding country roads which make getting around very stress free. The main attractions really are the food and wine, which are excellent. Our tip would be to adopt the local custom of having a meal out at lunch time, so you can enjoy some traditional cooking with some real atmosphere (and very reasonably priced!).

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben C
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Le Vrai Sud is exactly what it says it is - a wonderful property in the town of Riscle with all the services you need. Suzie is an excellent host, getting the balance right between providing help and respecting your privacy. If you do visit youve got to sample the Confit de Canard as recommended by Suzie - and visit the local wine co-op!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the character of the house in the centre of the town
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLshep
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riscle feels like home after 2 days!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed in Madam Suzie's charming village house as a base for house hunting. All I can say is that we hope to return soon and she will be our neighbour! We feel as though we have found a great mine of information and a potential friend, who has a great sense of humour. The house is delightful and watching the world go by from the balcony is quite an entertaining way to observe French village life. The Friday market is wonderful and not to be missed. The book about the house is the most comprehensive I have ever come across, and the welcome bread, wine and cheese were most appreciated.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLaughla...
2 reviews
“Lovely house in great location”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Great comfortable space, big rooms on 3 floors (so you have to be ok with stairs). Well equipped kitchen. Sunny enclosed garden, often sat outside even in mid January.
Owner lives in village and was very friendly and helpful (but not interfering).
Located in centre of village with good facilities, varied local walks and a good base to explore this lovely area.
A little expensive to heat during very cold weather but then there are not too many cold days even in mid winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space, location, helpful owner
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trickybiz
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful and revitalising Easter destination”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent three weeks in Riscle this Easter, it is a beautiful, friendly destination and the perfect place from which to explore Gers, The Pyrenees and perhaps even further afield. This is a large, stunning townhouse in the centre of the town with lots of space, we felt at-home and relaxed instantaneously.

As keen cyclists we covered hundreds of miles, exploring the local towns and vineyards which were really quite special, we also ventured to Lourdes and tackled a couple of the Cols.

If you are looking for the rural french experience but with the convenience of a market on your doorstep and some wonderful restaurants that you can walk to then we highly recommend this destination. A highlight was our meal at Le Pigeonneau, a wonderfully intimate dining experience that was quite priceless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing