We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“When you dream of a holiday in rural France, this...”

Review of In the vrai sud

Your very own balcony overlooking the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your very own balcony overlooking the village
The church from the balcony The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Your very own balcony overlooking the village
The church from the balcony
The lounge
Your own private pool in secluded garden
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin/bunk room
Dining room
Cheffy kitchen
Bathroom
Ceiling rose detail in dining room
The original staircase
Discover lots of lovely walks
Enjoy the river beaches for picnics...
Golf in the area
Waterski on the lake at Cahuzac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Riscle, Gers, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charl0tte...
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“When you dream of a holiday in rural France, this is the dream you want to be having!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011 for a stay in August 2010

From the moment you start planning your holiday to Le Vrai Sud, you soon realise that this will be special. Suzie, the owner, soon feels like a great friend who happens to have an amazing place for you to stay for your holidays. The property itself is excellent - a beautifully furnished house set in the centre of a friendly, rural village - but what sets this place apart is the personal service which Suzie provides. The usual advice on where to go and what to do is available from her as someone who has lived in Riscle for years, but so are some other great additions to your holiday. For example, Suzie can provide you with an amazing home cooked dinner of local produce and wines in the comfort of your holiday home. A real treat for anyone, especially foodies! We tried this once during our holiday and will definitely be doing it again when we return this summer.

The village itself is very friendly - and very French - which helped our french came on no end and there are plenty of beautiful villages, lakes and day trips nearby. We went last summer with a young family and are returning again this summer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAIREBE
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday in style for francophiles!”
Reviewed June 1, 2011 for a stay in August 2010

Lovely stylish but comfortable house in quiet rural town but within easy distance of world class wineries , the wonderful Marciac Jazz Festival plus swimming lakes and the medieval Tour de Termes.The hosts are superb....there if you need them and not if you don't. They were especially helpful in suggesting activities for our children, who got a great experience of French living that holiday.The honesty larder was well stocked and very useful and restaurants shut up shop very early in this area. There are quite a few stairs so children would need to be of an age to manage them safely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bazza46
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed May 28, 2011 for a stay in August 2010

We had a wonderful family holiday in this lovely house. It was big enough to accommodate 7 of our family from England and Australia. Our ages ranged from 3 to 73 years and there was something for everyone. The children loved the pool while the adults enjoyed sitting in the sunny secluded garden. It's great to be in the centre of the village close to all the amenities. The nearby beach was an added bonus for the children. The owners are perfect hosts and were very helpful and friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland6...
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious 3 storey house in busy centrally located village.”
Reviewed May 26, 2011 for a stay in June 2010

We were warmly welcomed by Suzy who showed us round the house and explained the local area. The house was very well equipped. There was wine and tinned food on an "honesty" basis and some free wine in the fridge. She told us about places to visit in the area from the seaside to Pau, and the Pyrenees. All were super trips. She cooks wonderful meals to order, bringing them to the house. Unfortunately we left this to our last evening and really missed out on great value for money meals. Don't miss this real treat! One disappointment for us was the lack of evening sun and outlook from the garden. Also a drawback for us was that the bathrooms were downstairs from the bedrooms. The simple restaurants used by the locals in the village were great value. Our car broke down just before we left and Suzy organised for its quick repair. She couldn't do enough for us, really making our holiday! She's the best owner we've ever had in all of our rental properties.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephSou...
Southampton
1 review
“Just fabulous!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2011 for a stay in September 2010

Hugely enjoyable week - the house and garden stylish and well cared for, the location meant days at the fabulous lakes ( Aignan and Cazaubon ) or sometimes just lunching locally - returning to cool down in the lovely pool! Came home feeling wonderfully relaxed and refreshed and can't wait for our return! (Christmas must be fantastic here!!!).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRigbys...
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, elegant home with a pool, great space for kids, lots to do around about and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed May 18, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Really loved the house. Elegant, clean, spacious, with a lovely airy french feel to the rooms, minimal but with vintage french chic. Lovely big elegant dining room and alfresco dining area. Our young kids (4 and 10) loved the pool, and we could relax on deck chair in the garden. There was lots to do and see in the area and we could bribe the kids with a dip in the pool before and after a day of sightseeing. If you are there at the right time (french school holiday time, I think?) there a some lovely swimming lakes which are open to the public and fields of glorious sunflowers. Extremely warm and welcoming hosts. A wonderful relaxing holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy19076...
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed May 17, 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the vrai sud, Sue and Adrian were perfect hosts, the house was in the centre of town overlooking the square and within walking distance of bars and restaurants. Approximately two hour drive down to the Pyrenees which is well worth the drive and around an hours drive to many large towns.
Adrian took us to a local vineyard where a litre of local wine was purchased for one Euro, how good is that ?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$434
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing