We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Beach Chalet with views over The Solent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beachside Chalet

A tiny chalet, right on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A tiny chalet, right on the beach
Front elevation View from garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
A tiny chalet, right on the beach
Front elevation
View from garden
Plenty of room to relax
A Victorian larder in the corner
The bed nook area
Foot of the bed nook
The well fitted kitchen
Looking towards the door
The wet room
Looking out at the view
A high view of the site, with chalet 1 nearest
The patio area
The bistro set
A wide view looking from the door towards the larder corner
Sea side collections on the shelf
The garden towards the chalet
The row of chalets, chalet 1 furthest
Your host, Kuki
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gurnard, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sightseer...
1 review
“Beautiful Beach Chalet with views over The Solent”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Quiet picturesque setting with fantastic views over The Solent. Beautifully decorated with everything you need so cleverly designed to fit into the space, very cosy. The area is quiet and unspoilt with nice pubs and restaurants within walking distance. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d_wood427
london
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had the most amazing week on this lovely, quaint chalet. Everything needed was available and the chalet is right by the sea with the most beautiful views. We stayed during Cowes week and watching the sailing boats go by whilst having a morning coffee was just lovely. I would most definitely return to the chalet. 2 pictures taken from door of chalet

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gumpoandw...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place

There is no noise, no TV, and hardly any people around.

The view is perfect, being able to sit outside and watching the water and boats.

The small chalet has a very effective use of space.

This could easily be 5 out of 5 but there's a couple of points;

Check-in isn't until 17:00 which is too late as half the day has gone

A beverage tray would be great so a drink could be made after the 4 hour journey

There's no phone signal and wifi doesn't help

There's no toaster!

However the owner has already replied to say these will be looked at.

There's no off-road parking so a larger vehicle could struggle on the small lane.

The bed is perfect and aids a restful sleep.

Cowes is a couple of miles walk.

Fabulous place that we already want to go back to

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you for your comments which are always appreciated. Check in: we take your point about the late check in and, after discussing with my changeover team, we are able to bring it forward an hour. Together with the late departure time of 11.00, we now feel this is better balanced between the needs of the guests and the changeover staff who have several properties to do in any one day. Drinks tray: no food or beverages are left out for health and safety reasons. There is a village shop for guests to make those first purchases. Phone signal: as warned in the listing, phone signals and wifi are erratic in our area, so if this is important to a guest, they can choose not to book with us. Toaster: the grill provided can be used to toast bread, but we have now bought a toaster following your comment to make guests more comfortable. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This chalet is beautiful,inside and out, its an amazing location right by the sea. Being the isle of wight nothing is far away.
Get an amazing view of the sunset every evening,even just sitting inside the chalet.

Small and compact,has everything u need for your stay,n the bed is amazing! Omg best sleep ive had in a while!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auntyplum
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want good old fashioned peace and charm”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely stay, charming chalet, no tv and hussle and bussle. Chalet on the beach lovely, just perfect if you really want to re-charge your batteries.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterdk_l...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay would recommend”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We feed very lucky to have found this little gem. The place is really great and has everything you could need for a seaside stay! The locals around us were very nice and had no issues at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa D
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bit small and cold but beautiful location”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The windows were left open when we arrived which caused the whole chalet to be freezing.
The directions given were 8 years out of date which caused us a lot of hassle to find the place. No clear signs on the road or entrance to where you park.
The owner Kuki said the chalet was cleaned in the morning but when we arrived later at night we found several cobwebs, dead spiders and other creepy crawlies in the chalet.
There was just enough space for 2 people but as the description on here says, there is room for a cot, well that would cause you not to have any room to walk so 2 people max is really advisable. When we found the broom to sweep up properly, the broom was filthy and full up with other people's hair and dirt.
The bed was cramped in the corner and 1 person had to climb over the other one to get out of it. The shower/bathroom was small, so we would advise only 1 person in there at any 1 time. Also if you are quite tall, you might have some problems in the shower as the ceiling in there is quite low.
We have to admit though the decorations in the chalet were really pretty and it's a typical seaside chalet so in the summer it would have been beautiful and perfect as you have gorgeous views across the water. The area and the country walks are amazing, a cute little village is down the road which we think is a popular meeting place for dog owners and there is also a pretty little cafe on the seafront which is great value for money.
Also it's advisable to bring a car as the nearest proper supermarket is in Newport which is about 15 min drive by car, we didn't see any buses locally throughout the 3 day stay we had there and you would have to buy fresh food regularly as there is no freezer in the chalet and the fridge was left switched off so you can imagine the smell we had when we opened the fridge and found out it hadn't been cleaned.
Overall me and my partner had a nice time but wouldn't stay in the chalet again as we left the chalet cleaner than when we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sea views
Liked least: it wasn't cleaned to my standard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2016
I'm sorry you found the chalet wanting. The roads have not changed in years, so neither have the directions. Windows are left open to ensure air moves freely between guests, who can pop the heating on as soon as they arrive. Insects may enter via open windows after cleaning is done in such a rural area. The bed and shower are well photographed on the web site for tall people to assess their suitability before booking. No freezer is listed on the web site. Leaving the chalet clean for our guests is our absolute primary concern, and this has been noted on other reviews. Not everyone is suited to small properties in rural areas, which may colour their overall opinion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing