We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Gloster Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gurnard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Little Gloster Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Gurnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is the most gorgeous little find! We stayed here for three night B&B in the balcony suite, which is the most perfect room with a stunning view of the Solent, even from the scrumptious king size bed, kitted out with crisp linen and an unbelievable feather duvet. My husband a I wanted some peace and tranquility, we could not have asked for more. As for the breakfasts, huge choice of the most delicious , beautifully presented food. A superb family run enterprise that I simply can't fault! THANKYOU JM

Room Tip: Balcony suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardlui2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely. It's a little pricey but worth it. It is always quiet when we go but again, that's nice. Good service, great food. It's even nice for just a quiet relaxing coffee. Great views and sunset. And lovely to sit on there beanbags on the grass outside on a sunny afternoon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked this place on recommendations from this website and it didn't let us down. Ben and Holly were really welcoming and our room (Bay View Room) was really lovely, clean and comfy. We enjoyed a delicious lunch, the seafood platter, which was fantastic and then retreated to our room to snooze until dinner time, where we enjoyed melt in the mouth steak and fantastic cocktails. After a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a big breakfast and lovely sea views. All the staff were really friendly and made us feel right at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and were able to relax and unwind in a short space of time. Come here! Its great!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful little place. As an anniversary treat I booked the Balcony Suite as the pictures looked so fabulous and we weren't disappointed. We had huge floor to ceiling windows with doors leading out on to the full width balcony with the sea right at the end of the garden just a few feet away. Lovely windows on the other side of the room with far reaching views so sitting up in bed you could watch the boats bobbing on the water while sipping your coffee made in the room's coffee pod machine-stunning. If you wanted a closer view, the owners thoughtfully left a pair of binoculars in the room. A pretty seat on the balcony with a blanket in a drawer meant that you could snuggle up outside and still be warm if the weather was chilly. The owners have thought of everything. The restaurant staff and owners themselves are charming and the food in the restaurant was excellent and beautifully created and presented. Can't wait to go back! Go for the balcony suite if you can it's such a joy to see the sea right outside your window.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairestview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Called in for a coffee during a tour of the island, ended up staying for an excellent lunch. The crab and crayfish cakes were superb, as was the fresh fish of the day - Brighton Plaice . All the staff were charming and efficient. Lovely light dining room with views across the water. We tried to get a reservation for Saturday night, but they were unsurprisingly, fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saynotopotatoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the Balcony Suite after seeing the Little Gloster on Four in a Bed. The styling is gorgeous, with so many sweet nautical touches throughout the room and the balcony (in contrast, the en suite is surprisingly plain, but does have a lovely powerful shower).

There had been a couple of cleaning oversights - eg a half-used bar of soap on the shelf in the shower and an open vanity kit in a drawer which hadn't been taken away - but the things that really mattered, eg the bed and the toilet, were spotless.

The bed was huge and very comfortable. I wasn't a fan of the pillows as they're the type that sink to nothing beneath your head, but that's just a personal preference.

The staff were absolutely lovely but I felt some of them could do with a bit more training - it almost felt a bit awkward when we walked into the restaurant (there's no separate reception for the B&B) - like we had to lead the conversation and know what to say and do! It's hard to explain but it sometimes felt a bit stilted (but not with all staff). Having said that, we stayed at the tail end of Cowes week so some of them might have been temporary summer staff.

The garden area is truly lovely, backing straight onto the Solent, with croquet, vegetable patches, deck chairs, bean bags and even blankets to protect you from the sea breeze.

Our dinner in the restaurant was absolutely fabulous and I can highly recommend the chilli and passionfruit martini! There's a good choice at breakfast with eggs benedict, fresh juices etc as well as the usual full English and builder's brew fare.

All in all, I would highly recommend a stay at the Little Gloster - it really is gorgeous and small enough that everything feels personal and special. They totally should have won Four in a Bed.

Room Tip: The Balcony Suite is spacious, beautifully styled and has a lovely big balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieJourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I visited earlier this month for a 4 night break, we received a very warm welcome on Sunday when we arrived and managed to get a lovely seafood lunch, we were shown to our room - the balcony suite, what a lovely room with fab views over the solent. We enjoyed our evenings on the balcony watching the sun go down. All the team were so friendly and we felt like we were home, we ate there tues and weds nights and had great meals and lovely wines to accompany our food. Didn't want to leave, felt so relaxed. Great job keep it up!

Room Tip: Balcony suite is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molliebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurnard
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.6 mi away
North House
North House
#4 of 5 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
12.4 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Gloster Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Gloster Rooms

Property: The Little Gloster Rooms
Address: 31 Marsh Road, Gurnard PO31 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Gurnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gurnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Gloster Rooms incorporate three stunning rooms - with a breakfast included which is worth booking for in itself. The rooms are decorated with Scandinavian style and both have paramount views across the Solent, two of which encompass large balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Little Gloster Bed And Breakfast
The Little Gloster Hotel Gurnard
The Little Gloster Rooms Gurnard, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing