We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, what a place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gurnard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Little Gloster Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Gurnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, what a place”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I visited earlier this month for a 4 night break, we received a very warm welcome on Sunday when we arrived and managed to get a lovely seafood lunch, we were shown to our room - the balcony suite, what a lovely room with fab views over the solent. We enjoyed our evenings on the balcony watching the sun go down. All the team were so friendly and we felt like we were home, we ate there tues and weds nights and had great meals and lovely wines to accompany our food. Didn't want to leave, felt so relaxed. Great job keep it up!

Room Tip: Balcony suite is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molliebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My freind and I stayed for 3 nights in the balcony suite. We enjoyed evrything about our stay and the staff were so helpful.
The breakfasts were delicious as was the food in the resaurant in the evening.
This place deserves it's success. It is such a relaxing, happy place. Well done Little Gloster!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is a class act. It is right on the water's edge and we stayed in the balcony suite, with its views over the Solent (at one time seven massive cruise ships were within sight thanks to the binoculars thoughtfully provided for us). The room was luxuriously equipped and furnished, spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed. There are only three b&B rooms at the Little Gloster, in qa completely separate dedicated area above the restaurant, so it operates rather like a boutique hotel. We absolutely could not fault the place - and we've been everywhere, so we are hyper-critical. The restaurant is simply superlative. Excellent service, well thought-out menu, good wine list, and the food: brilliantly British with more than a touch of Scandinavian influence. And not at all expensive. My steak was so good that I ordered it two nights running. Same with my gravadlax, which was easily the best and freshest I have tasted. Mrs mickchickuk had different fish dishes and salads and pronounced them all excellent. All the staff are cheerful, welcoming and efficient. Holly Siddons, who runs front of house and her husband Ben (the chef) are perfect hosts. Eileen, Ben's mother, could not do enough for us. It is rare to find a place that absolutely cannot be faulted, but the Little Gloster gets full marks. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the balcony suite is the stand-out accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickchickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the Little Gloster - the first time it was freezing and snowing. This time it was glorious sunshine and fabulous. I just love this place - it has the most amazing feel about it. The setting is fabulous - right on the waterfront. The restaurant is light and airy with the most amazing views - and of course lovely food. All the staff are friendly and there is a real buzz about the whole place. Holly does a really good job front of house and makes everyone feel welcome and well looked after. The first time we visited we were lucky enough to stay in the Balcony Suite which has outstanding views. This time we were in the Crew room - which is very small and without the sea views - nevertheless it is cozy and comfortable and in summer you get to enjoy the views in the restaurant at Breakfast and Dinner anyway.
I'm already planning my next trip - this place really is a gem!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PowderQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked the Little Gloster having seen it in a wedding magazine, so we had big hopes for this venue.

Well....we were not disappointed!

We arrived on Tues 28th, after bank holiday so the Restaurant is closed. Holly was happy to ensure she around for when we checked in. We stayed in the Bay View room, it has a great view of the Solent.....from the bed! Which was a bonus at 5am to watch the round the island race!

Room was clean, spacious and tidy. Bathroom toiletries were replenished everyday, tea bags topped up, fresh milk everyday. Single duvets are a great idea for those who like to wrap themselves up!

We ate in the Restaurant three out of four nights. Food at the Little Gloster is absolutely superb! Ben and his team use local, seasonal, fresh produce and this shows in his dishes. The one night we didn't eat here was a total disappointment!

Staff are faultless, friendly and very welcoming. There really is a great team spirit here and it shows!

If we didn't live so far away we would definitely stay here more often, unfortunately it may just be yearly visit.....and next time I'm getting the balcony suit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the Balcony Suite at the Little Gloster earlier this month, unfortunately only for one night. It was terrific, very relaxing which was what we needed at that point in our travels. The room and amenities are first class, beautiful views (even though the weather was not at its best) staff very friendly and welcoming. We were only on the Island for one night but we intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Balcony Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We only visited for dinner, but I wished we could have stayed as B&B guests too. It's such a lovely place, amazing views over the Solent, excellent food and competent and friendly service. We were even saying how lovely it would be as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo_and_Daisy_Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurnard
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
780 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
North House
North House
#4 of 5 in Cowes
17 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Gloster Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Gloster Rooms

Property: The Little Gloster Rooms
Address: 31 Marsh Road, Gurnard PO31 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Gurnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gurnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Gloster Rooms incorporate three stunning rooms - with a breakfast included which is worth booking for in itself. The rooms are decorated with Scandinavian style and both have paramount views across the Solent, two of which encompass large balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Little Gloster Bed And Breakfast
The Little Gloster Hotel Gurnard
The Little Gloster Rooms Gurnard, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing