We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
The Pavilion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pavilion
The Pavilion View of the Pavilion from the grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
View of the Pavilion from the grounds
Open plan living and dining
Open plan living and dining
Open plan living and dining
Indoor dining area - seats 4
Fully fitted kitchen with all appliances available
Open plan living and dining
Main bedroom with super king bed
Main bedroom with super king bed
En-suite bathroom with walk-in shower
En-suite bathroom
Second bedroom - large twin beds with en-suite bathroom
Second bedroom - large twin beds with en-suite bathroom
Outside Dining Area - Seats 8-10
Relax on the veranda with views of the grounds and pool
Shared Pool
Shared Pool
Just one of the pools available to guests
View of the grounds from the veranda - beyond the palms is a second pool available for use.
Gibbes Beach - the most tranquil beach on the West Coast - less than 2 mins walk from the Pavilion
Gibbes Beach - the most tranquil beach on the West Coast - less than 2 mins walk from the Pavilion
Beautiful sunsets over Gibbes Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gibbes, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iain T
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had the good fortune to spend 8 nights in the Pavillion earlier this month. We knew the area reasonably well and high hopes that we had found a good place to stay. In fact we had unearthed a gem and will definitely be returning.

The Pavillion is part of a small estate also comprising the main house (which was not let when we were there) and two other cottages. There are two pools and beautifully maintained gardens (which provide shade not only for holiday makers but also for the occasional troupe of green monkeys).

The Pavillion is a first floor apartment sitting above what appear to be garages a laundry and the gardener's store, which gives an elevated aspect over the estate. The accommodation is spacious, airy, well-equipped and cleaned daily by the incredibly helpful and charming housekeepers. The bedrooms are air conditioned and all rooms have ceiling fans. The housekeepers take your laundry and do it for you, returning it the same day. Nothing is too much trouble. The estate is patrolled at night by a very friendly security guard.

The estate is set back slightly from Highway 1B which is the main coastal road, so communications are excellent. There is some road noise but it is not intrusive. Across that road (and a couple of minutes walk from the estate) is one of the best beaches on the island - Gibbes. Gibbes beach itself is quiet and secluded. 5 minutes walk up the beach is Mullins which has a nice beach restaurant (though we preferred Adrian's beach shack next door).

The restaurants and bars of Holetown are a few minutes drive South. The slightly more shabby chic charm of Speightstown is a few minutes to the North.

it is a perfect holiday spot and we cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous location and beautiful gardens
Liked least: No complaints at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Iain and we look forward to seeing you again in February 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmissp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I'm a repeat visitor to the Pavilion - it is an absolute gem. Spacious and comfortable it has everything you need including a sizeable balcony which was perfect for entertaining. The grounds and gardens are stunning and beautifully maintained, with two fabulous pools. The staff are amazing and can't do enough for you. Just over the road is the stunning Gibbs beach - one of the best on the west coast. Cannot wait to go back!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to stay in this little gem over Christmas. We even had our very own Christmas tree that was left in the lounge for us to feel that Christmas spirit away from home. This place has everything! Gigantic bed, en suite bathroom with a great shower, an open plan kitchen, balcony and a view of the gardens to die for. Staff are wonderful and keep the place so neat and tidy. We loved to chill by the pool in the garden and sip on our pina coladas - standard island life. The location is perfect and easy access via the local buses into town. What an experience taking those buses too. Music pumping - good fun. My favourite thing about this spot was the 2 min walk to the best beach on the island - Gibbes. I highly recommend everything about this place. Thumbs up :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful... total relaxation!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Pavillion accommodation is wonderful, with a gorgeous open plan kitchen and living area. The balcony/veranda was our chill out place, and where we spent a lot of the time drinking cocktails and wine. It was also so private and quiet... we would sit in the morning eating breakfast and saying hello to the little birds (Keith we named them..all of them!)
The Air-conditioned Bedroom and en-suite bathroom with power shower was a dream. Very clean and tidy.
We would sit by the pool nearest the main house, and again very private and tranquil. The onsite staff are also very friendly when on duty, but not at all in the way either.
And the best bit was the fact that the beach was literally a stone's throw across the road! We would make it our routine of going over at about 4pm to have our afternoon swim and watch the sun go down...
It really is a wonderful place, and I am very much looking forward to going back to Gibbes very soon.
Gibbes has a very special place in my heart... i just wish I could stay all year around!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essjaie
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great private villa in the grounds of an old plantation house”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at The Pavilion with two friends in April 2014 and had a wonderful time on the Gibbes Estate. The property was more than we could have asked for - we had two large bedrooms (with huge beds) and as my friends were a couple, felt that we had a lot of privacy and space within the villa as well. As we have other friends on the island, it was great to be able to invite them over for a dinner one night on the veranda and cook a meal using the villa kitchen which was better stocked than my own at home with every appliance and utensil you could think of. There was a TV in the living room but we didn't really ever feel the need to sit down and watch TV - we sat outside most evenings listening to the frogs (I'm told) making their own chorus. We felt very safe on the property as the grounds are quite large but there was a night watchman during our stay who made his rounds with the odd "hello" but without being obvious or invasive. There are two pools here - we used the one nearest the main house or spent time down at the glorious Gibbes Beach which was literally a couple of minutes walk (great if you needed to head back for the loo or to get something to eat!). We really enjoyed our stay at Gibbes and being on the West Coast of the Island - we'll definitely be back but may stay at the Cottages next time just for a different experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and feeling you were somewhere exclusive
Liked least: Lack of internet - although that's probably a good thing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing