We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Gibbes Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gibbes Beach
Ashanti Apartments Lounge Area with access to the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Gibbes Beach
Ashanti Apartments
Lounge Area with access to the balcony
Dining area
Lounge/dining area sofa bed
Sofa bed in living area
Fully equiped kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom with access to balcony
Bathroom
Balcony
Balcony
pool
pool
pool
pool
gibbes beach
mullens beach
mullens beach bar
mount standfast beach
Barbados sunset
Barbados sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gibbes, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
404HappyT...
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed March 17, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We spent the second half of a month long trip to Barbados in this unit. It is absolutely excellent, and even better than it appears in the posted photographs, particularly the view from the balcony . The amenities are exactly as described in the booking site. The owner was very easy to deal with through the booking process, and quick to respond to any questions we had. It is located in a safe and quiet neighborhood, and, although it is only a short walk to the closest bus stop, a car is a definite asset to travel about from here. The unit is large, roomy, well laid out and spotlessly clean. It is very nicely appointed and furnished. The bed is very comfortable, with good quality bedding. There are lots of beach or pool towels, and two brand new Tommy Bahama backpack beach chairs, something we didn't see much of on the beaches in Barbados. Having both a dishwasher and en-suite laundry was a double bonus. There was a lovely welcome pack of eggs, bread, milk, juice, bottled water,spread and paper products provided by the owner - thank you so much for that. It is about a 10 minute walk down a quiet street to Gibbes Beach and then a few minutes further along to Mullens Beach and the Mullens Beach Bar. Unfortunately there was a week long period of high surf when we were there that eroded Gilles Beach quite badly and damaged Mullens Beach Bar to the extent that it is closed and condemned. Fortunately, the apartment complex has a lovely pool that we made very good use of when we couldn't use the beaches. There were a few very minor glitches throughout our stay that were, for the most part, quickly dealt with by the property manager. Housekeeping and towel and bedding exchange was done twice weekly, and done very well. The only slight criticism I might have is that there was a significant lack of towel racks and hooks in the bathroom. There are, however, two drying racks provided that somewhat make up for the lack of racks, but I would rather have more in the bathroom. We had a great stay here, and should we come back to Barbados, it would be our very first choice of accommodation. I would definitely recommend it to a friend, and, in fact, we did.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin b
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our second time in this apartment and all the comments made on our first review are just as valid now as they were then, and we fully endorse comments made by others.
The Bathroom has had a face lift with a walk in shower replacing the bath and is an excellent addition to what was already almost faultless accommodation. Collis was his usual efficient self and the cleaner Marcia made sure that the apartment was scrupulously clean with fresh bedding on a weekly basis. As before the pool provided excellent relief after a hard days holidaying in the Caribbean sun. No hesitation in recommending this apartment to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2018
Thank you Colin
Glad you appreciate the improvements

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshbell...
Cardiff,Wales
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A fantastic apartment in a wonderful spot”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Part of me doesn't really want to post this review as I would really like to keep details of this wonderful rental to myself . However we had such a great time there that I would feel guilty not reviewing it. This was our 4th trip to Barbados. On two previous occasions we have stayed in one of the 3 bedroom apartments in the Ashanti complex but this time as there were only two of us travelling then a one bedroom property made sense. Ashanti is a development of 9 spacious luxury apartments set about 300 metres from the amazing Gibbs beach. The complex is gated with secure parking and a good sized swimming pool that is kept immaculately clean. We don't usually sit around the pool preferring to spend our time at the beach but it is a lovely facility to have for a quick swim. The complex is very quiet - away from the quite busy main road that runs through Gibbs & Mullins and it would not suit travellers who like to be right in the action. We felt very safe there. We always rent a car that is useful to get to the beach that would otherwise be an easy 5/10 min walk. A car is also very handy to get to the numerous excellent restaurants situated on this part of the west coast - The Fish Pot and Lone Star being particular favourites as well as the great Mullins Beach Bar which is a must for lunch.
Apt 5 itself is a huge one bedroom apartment and the floor space could easily accommodate a second bedroom with ensuite. There is a large sitting/dining area, a well equipped kitchen, a king sized bedroom with plenty of wardrobe space, an ensuite, a cloakroom and a laundry area. The air con is very efficient. Unlike the other larger properties it does not have a full on sea view but the smallish balcony that was accessed from both the sitting room & bedroom was a pleasant spot to have breakfast and an afternoon drink.
The apartment itself was spotlessly clean although if one were being very picky then perhaps the bathroom (although very clean) could do with an upgrade. There were plenty of beach towels provided but it would have been nice to have had a few more bath towels. I am sure that these would have been provided had we asked for them.
The property manager Collis was an absolute delight to deal with and nothing was too much for him. The cleaner Marcia was lovely and both of them obviously took great pride in their work and the properties that they looked after.
I cannot understand why this exceptional complex is not more popular as it offers fantastic accommodation in a great location at what is for Barbados a very reasonable rent, Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Dear Fay
Thank you so much for your generous review
Nothing gives us more pleasure than when some body enjoys Ashanti as much as we do
Sarah Cooper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably the best value on the island?”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from Ashanti and are full of praise for this spacious apartment in an exclusive small development in a quiet residential area; surely one of the best locations in Barbados. Away from the larger hotels and apartment developments but conveniently close to the beautiful west coast beaches, Ashanti is within easy reach of both Speightstown (our favourite) and Holetown. There is a great selection of eating places nearby to suite every taste. Nothing better than returning from the beach to find the delightful swimming pool seemingly for almost our exclusive use. Strongly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience to a wide area
Liked least: Better local information in the apartment would have been appreciated.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstcuck...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A nice choice”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having lost the opportunity to stay in our usual holiday apartment, we booked Ashanti 5. We were initially concerned that it only had one bedroom as, even as a couple, we prefer 2 bedrooms for the extra space. We need not have worried as Ashanti 5 is surprisingly spacious. The bathroom was modern, the shower was good. The utility room with it's huge washing machine and tumble dryer, excellent. It was nice to have a large balcony to have breakfast on. The outlook is side on, but is pleasant. The swimming pool is not large but, again, is pleasant and on many occasions you will have it to yourselves. The TV has a multitude of channels and the wifi is good. Without a car, you may feel that the location is just a bit too far back from Gibbes beach, although with the excellent buses 10 minutes away it is certainly possible. With a car, it is very conveniently located for all the West Coast .
Colilis, the on site manager was very helpful and the maid was excellent. Sarah, the owner was resident for part of our stay snd was helpful and friendly.
It was a good choice and we hope to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious
Liked least: Lack of hanging space for towels in bathroom, limited kitchen utensils, only 1 bedside table.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin b
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well thought out accommodation in an idyllic, and tranquil setting.”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ashanti #5 is an extremely well appointed 1 bed-roomed apartment in a small complex of 9 units, which also includes a small but very practical swimming pool, great for cooling off in after a day out. This was our fifth visit to the island, but this time on our own without children. It certainly lived up to its "billing" by other reviewers and we were definitely not disappointed. The apartment was cleaned regularly, and Collis the complex manager was on-hand to assist when we arrived and also throughout our stay. A welcome pack had thoughtfully been provided in the well equipped kitchen and also the apartment had its own washing machine which is definitely a bonus. We would recommend this to any one. Although the apartment is on the first floor lift access is available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
667Ann
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just perfect, second time around”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was the second visit to Ashanti in a year, and the apartment is still offering the same high standard. A lovely comfy bed, full kitchen, living space and balcony, perfect for the two of us. Although January is peak season in Barbados, the complex did not feel crowded, indeed we often had the shared pool to ourselves. Collis the house manager is excellent, the apartment was spotless, we will be back for sure.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing