We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet place, amazing view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue - Bellavista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellevue - Bellavista
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montagnola
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet place, amazing view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently spent 4 days at the Bellevue Hotel and I am more than pleased.

The hotel is definitely not luxury, but it what you should expect in a secure and beautiful hill in Switzerland.

Quiet. Comfortable. Relaxing.

I had a lakeview room and every morning it was a mystical experience to just open the windows and look at it.

The food at the restaurant is amazing and don't forget to ask the host if there's any special for the day!

I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lakeview room is the real deal. Unlike other guests, I didn't hear any noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice view and clean large room.
I am Japanese, so it was happy when I find bath tub.

I choiced this hotel because of sightseeing for Hermann Hesse.
There are a lot of beautiful natures.
Lake and mountains is too beautiful.
View from restaurant is also nice!

I went to hotel by bus. Bus goes to infront of hotel it's helpful for me.

Hotel staff is kind.I remember.

I want to use again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovecat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Although there isn't anyone to be found if you have a question, although even when you have found the person she doesn't speak much, if any ENGLISH. I still love this place. The view is lovely, the rooms are very clean (to my mother's Dettol standard). Its really very quiet. You definitely will get a good sleep here.

U can taxi up and walk down.. it's located on a hill. We had dinner there at the restaurant. Large portions (family style) but down to earth and delicious.
This is my sanctuary. I come here once a year to clear my mind and breath the crisp fresh air, and to get some REAL SLEEP.

Room Tip: Lake view is top choice, but all other rooms are really nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocket4rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue-Bellavista, Manager at Bellevue - Bellavista, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest, Thank's for your review. For us it's wery helpfull to get comments and suggestions, this will help us to improve quality of our service. We are sorry if it wasn't possible to get answers to your questions (next time we will do), just for your info we have a phone service around the clock, and our staff speaks fluent english, german, french and italian. However Thank's for nice comments about quiet, view, clean and restaurat. We look forward to meet you again in Montagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

beautifull view from nice room with balcony and friendly staff
but if definition of hotel means a place to get some sleep after long journey
than this is not a hotel but a restaurant with lots of noice from customers untill 12:30 and staff untill 01:30 with rooms upstairs...to bad becuase the view is really spectacullar

Room Tip: oppoosit from restaurant but then no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielgottl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Bellevue - Bellavista is up the hill from Lugano in ritzy Montagnola. It's B&B style, the front desk is not always attended, but either the owner or her assistant is just a phone call away. We were traveling with our teenaged daughter to visit The American School in Switzerland, a short walk from the hotel. Our 2nd floor room was very clean, bright, and surprisingly large, with a queen-size bed and an extra bed for our daughter. The suite included a small kitchen, fully stocked with nice looking cooking gear and silverware, and a sparkling bathroom. The layout and windows make the most of the view of the city below, Lake Lugano, and the Alps beyond.

There is ample parking and the pizzeria / restaurant overlooking the lake is also the setting for breakfast. The buffet breakfast was a simple one: bread, rolls, juice, yoghurt, cereal, and tea/ coffee. Not a big spread, but fresh and tasty.

The hotel is a short walk from the Hermann Hesse museum in Montagnola, and an off-the-beaten-path walk takes you by some great natural scenery (away from the lake) and the museum.

The hotel is very pleasant and a good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ground-pounder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my family for a week as a temporary housing solution for a relocation. I had two rooms, and ate in the hotel restaurant often. The owners made no attempt to make us feel at home, would not allow us late checkout on the last day, and offered no assistance with our 15 suitcases. To top it of we were scraching from bedbugs all week and had to deal with that after moving out. There are much better places in Lugano in the same pricerange, run by much better staff...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank samcride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue-Bellavista, Direttore at Bellevue - Bellavista, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank's for you comments. However, we are surprised by what you wrote. Our hotel as an hight standard of cleanness and it never happened that we had bedbugs in our beds, if this really happened why did you not note it to us already starting from the first day, instead waiting till checkout and fight with this problem throughout the entire week? It's hard to understand how someone can sleep in that conditions for so a long jurney...

With out best regards, Hotel Bellevue-Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

Magnificant views from every room....Tiered villas overlooking Lake Maggiore....stunning views of Ascona and Locarno at night and in the morning sunlight...... Restaurant is virtually 4-Star or above with maagnificant dinner and breakfast to match the evening meal.

On east side of Lake Maggiore and a quick trip from there down to Lake Lugano and then on to Lake Como. lake Maggiore is every bit the "looker" as Lake Como...Views on either side of these lakes are unequaled......

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandbagger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue-Bellavista, Direttore at Bellevue - Bellavista, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank's for your nice comments. I'm sorry to inform you that the hotel you mentionned is not Bellevue-Bellavista in Montagnola. Our hotel si nereby Lugano and is located on the lake of Lugano (not maggiore). However we are grateful for your nice comments about our nice region.

With our best regards, Hotel Bellevue-Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagnola
1.5 mi away
Resort Collina d'Oro
2.9 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.2 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue - Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue - Bellavista

Property: Bellevue - Bellavista
Address: via Collina d'Oro 72, Montagnola 6926, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Montagnola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montagnola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bellevue - Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing