We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good b and b” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vieille Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Vieille Ferme
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very good b and b”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a lovely friendly b and b. The food is excellent. Petes cooking is on the par of and expensive hotel. The area is peaceful a must for me at night.

We stayed twice, travelling for 5 hours to make it on our last day.

The only thing which needs some attention is the bathrooms. which I am sure they will do when they have the cash.

Worth staying for the evening meals, which are eaten around a large table with Pete and Sue.

Room Tip: Calvados suite was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

La Vieille Ferme is just 30 minutes south of Caen, an ideal spot for touring the Landing Beaches and Normandy. The farm is full of rustic charm and Su and Pete are the most wonderful hosts. Set in a small village just outside of the lovely town of Falaise there is parking on site. All the bedrooms are huge. There is also a guest lounge with tea and coffee making facilities, a mini bar and Sky TV for teenagers who can't bare to be away from their TV. There is also a very good selection of books. Outside there is a garden and children's play area. Of importance to our teenagers was the free Wi-fi which meant they managed to keep in touch with the world. But if you stay here then dinner is a must. That is the highlight of the whole experience. Pete is a wonderful cook. Pre-dinner drinks, followed by appetizers, and then a first course, main course, cheese course and dessert was just beautiful. Steak, sea bass and duck were some of the mains. Cheeses are all local. An apple sorbet with calvados to cleanse the palate was lovely. Desserts included summer pudding, chocolate mousse, a creme brulee to die for and a wonderful apricot tart. We were so sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Middlesex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Su & Pete are the most perfect hosts you could ask for attending to every guests needs. Their wealth of information about the local area and culture is invaluable. Their wonderful hospitality and Petes exquisite cuisine made for the best holiday we have had in years. Our room (The Manche Suite) was spotlessly clean, very spacious with plenty of room for a family including an en suite and a wonderful view overlooking the courtyard. Our children have already begged us to take them back soon, which we are already planning, we will definitely be back! I would highly recommend this wonderful Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Wonderful company and fantastic meals are the highlights. Very accommodating for us. would recommend it to anyone traveling between central and western France (north).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emkroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Peter and Su run the perfect B&B, spotlessly clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious, pastoral and quaint, and Peter's cooking is wonderful. The farm is a few miles outside of Falaise, and a 45 minute country drive through fields of flowers and crops to Omaha Beach, the American Cemetery, Caen, Bayeaux, St. Lo, Avranches, Villedieu-les-Poeles (copper pots!) and even Mont St. Michel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We spent a week at La Vieille Ferme in Spring and had a lovely time! The B & B - a restored French farmhouse in the little village of Fresne la Mere - is perfect for families. The rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The three of us stayed in the Manche suit – good, affordable choice. One of the highlights - Owner and Chef Pete’s scrumptious 5 course dinners. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enid_the_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

We had a great time staying here. Comfortable room, amazing food and lovely people. Incredibly good value for money. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zapoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresne-la-Mere
4.0 mi away
Ibis Falaise Coeur de Normandie
11.8 mi away
Aries Hotel Argentan
Aries Hotel Argentan
#2 of 3 in Argentan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.9 mi away
Domaine de la Tour
Domaine de la Tour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pierre-Canivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Vieux Chateau
Le Vieux Chateau
#1 of 2 in Le Renouard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.2 mi away
Domaine de la Pommeraye
Domaine de la Pommeraye
#1 of 1 in La Pommeraye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau de la Pommeraye
Chateau de la Pommeraye
#1 of 2 in La Pommeraye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Ferme

Property: La Vieille Ferme
Address: 34 rue de l Ecole, 14700 Fresne-la-Mere, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Fresne-la-Mere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fresne-la-Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vieille Ferme is an 18th Century farmhouse in the centre the village of Fresné-la-Mère, just 5km from the historic town of Falaise (the birth place of William the Conqueror) within the Calvados region of Basse Normandy. The property was a working farm until the early 90s and since then has been converted to a 5 bedroom Chambre D’ hôtes,(Bed and Breakfast), situated in 5 acres of land. The days of it being a working farm might be over but a few farm animals still roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Vieille Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille Ferme France/Fresne-La-Mere, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing