We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As bad as it gets”

Halfway House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingseat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfway House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kingseat B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“As bad as it gets”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is the worst hotel I've encountered in 20 years and four continents.

We arrived on a chilly February evening. The decor in the bedrooms was cheerful, well chosen, and in good condition. Breakfast next morning was perfectly OK and cheerfully served. That was the whole extent of the good news.

The first room we were offered was freezing cold (and I mean close to the near-zero outside temperature), filled with a roaring sound, and with one whole wall vibrating. The roar and vibration were from the main kitchen extractor fans fixed to the outside of the thin wall. We had been given a room where the heating had been switched off, but when we turned the radiator up to max, nothing happened. After a quarter of an hour sitting in our coats, I asked for and got another room. Here too the heating was off, and here too nothing happened when I turned it on. We went out for dinner having complained and been given a promise that the heat would come on. When we retuned nearly three hours later, the radiator was still stone cold. This time when I complained again, they produced an electric fan heater (with the cable not properly secured in the plug). It was no great surprise that the radiators didn’t work, as their edges were a mass of rust and flaking paint. This was lying on the carpet keeping company with one or two bits of paper litter.

In the bathroom was a toilet bowl with two large and probably dangerous cracks, a sink with four chips out of it and rusty gunge round the taps which had parts missing from their tops, wall tiles that were cracked and grubby, a loose screw sticking out an inch from the bath side panel waiting to rip someone’s flesh, and a disgustingly filthy extractor fan.

Friends of ours stayed in the hotel the same night. Their room too was cold, with a radiator that could just reach blood temperature. So that made three rooms that to our knowledge had no heating at all, or else very little -- in a Scottish February and near-zero outside temperature!

The beds were cheap and lumpy. One of the drawers in the bedroom had its whole front completely broken off and tossed inside the drawer. A dog was barking in a nearby bedroom. On all three rooms we had to contend with, the door locks were so close to broken that they took much manipulating and fiddling to operate. Both the first and the second room we were offered had at least one broken light bulb. The 'hot' water was just a little warmer than hand-hot, so there was no chance of a hot bath.

There are some good reviews of this hotel. Don’t trust them. This is Scotland at its very worst. The place was cheap and nasty to start with and is now worn out. The only remedy is demolition.

Room Tip: The best room is one in another hotel - any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nybor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfway_House_Hotel, Owner at Halfway House Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review for staying here at the Halfway House Hotel.

We appreciate the views of our guests.

However, you review is seven (7months) out of date.

Since your visit, the hotel has changed ownership and service levels have changed.

We appreciate the age of the hotel and we have implemented a redecoration and refurbishment programme.

This programme will take time time to complete, given the size of the hotel and many facets of the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    9
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
21
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

A long weekend away with three mates was enjoyed after bidding and winning the tickets at a Meningitis Trust Charity ball for the BTCC.
Halfway House is in an excellent location, well placed for a trip into the Highlands. On our arrival we were made very welcome.
The rooms are great with all the facilities, spot on.
Breakfast is everything you need to set you up for the day. During the stay the owners also supplied us with an excellant pack up lunch.
Very friendly and accomodating staff and atmosphere and couldn't be more helpful.
Great value too.
A little bit of home from home.
See you next year. Rob and the gang. (with the "Government" t-shirt)!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here last year for a week while visiting the Festival and came back again this year. Sandra and David have now taken over and we were made welcome. Breakfasts are excellent, with lively conversation provided by Jessie, which stimulates a great communal feel. This is a very friendly place and we often had a late night chat when we got back from Edinburgh. We look forward, all being well, to returning next year for another Festival binge. Roland and Denise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Held my dad's surprise 80th birthday party at old family favourite Halfway House in August this year and wasn't disappointed. We had an absolutely brilliant time. Sandra and her team couldn't have been more accommodating and as we were organising the party from afar, there was a lot of email and phone communication which Sandra took in her stride; she was very patient with us and even gave us free use of an upstairs meeting room the day before for making up and setting out our decorations. The Alexander function suite itself was a lovely big double-aspect room with lots of natural light, its own stage, dancefloor and self-contained bar and opened out onto a small patio area which we were able to light up with candles. Although we made quite a mess at the end with streamers and glitter bombs Sandra and her team cleared up without complaint for an early start the next morning. We couldn't have asked for more. The other function room and downstairs bar are cosy in an old-fashioned sort of way but it is the service of all the staff which stands out. I'd certainly give them a Gold Medal for their enthusiastic efforts. Well done Sandra and team and thank you for making our party such a success.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family used three rooms at this hotel on an overnight stay for a wedding .The rooms were clean with all necessary amenities . Staff were first class, very helpful and pleasant, breakfast was a pleasant experience with plenty of choice and a very pleasant chef who found time to converse with the guests, would definitely use the hotel in the future

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The staff couldn't be more helpful. John was magnificent in helping finding us parking spots for Edinburgh, Hanah and Emily werewere always ready to help. Bedrooms were comfortable, everything we needed was provided. Great breakfasts, good pub style food served in the evenings. Updating is in progress. Plentiful parking which is always good to have.We had a lovely stay here. We throughly enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Sue and John S

We stayed here as it was close to the Edingburgh Festival but not too close. We were VERY happy with everything about the hotel. Friendly, helpful service. Lovely food (breakfast and evening meal) comfortable and clean room. Staff went out of their way to help us. Just a 30 minute journey by train ride into Edinburgh for £6.40 return made this a great stop for the festival. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halfway House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Hotel

Property: Halfway House Hotel
Address: 35 Main Street | Kingseat, Kingseat KY12 0TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kingseat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kingseat
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing