We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Westward Ho Beach

Westward Ho Beach
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean beach, well worth a visit. The beach is so vast that it's easy to find your own space and doesn't feel overly crowded. It's close to stalls selling reasonably priced beach mats and beach toys for children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexis3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    224
    66
    25
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely clean beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

very clean, lovely beach ,which was also very safe as lifeguards had put up signs saying where it was safe to go into the water

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great for kids”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

lovely beach with arcades crazy golf go karts ect another side for crabbing with rock pools . surf schools running through out the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great amusement arcade - shame about the flats!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Westward Ho in May 2012 mainly for the amusement arcade and crazy golf, but it's fairly off-putting when you now get there and see blocks of flats popping up and spoiling the place. Yes, the flats look posh and expensive, but why erect them over a well-looked after beach?

Food and drink - plenty of places to eat. There are one or two chippies on one side of the road leading to the beach and a Co-Op opposite. There is an ice-cream van which we've used on more than one occasion! Also a couple of restaurants if you walk around the corner and through the avenue of arcades.

WC - there are WCs for boys and girls although they are pretty bog-standard (no pun intended!)

Entertainment - quite a few amusement arcades full of fruit machines, claw cranes (toy grabber machines) and penny falls. Also ATMs located although they charge you for transactions. Worth using the hole in the wall cash machine if you don't want to spend just under a couple of quid for a service charge.
There is Crazy Golf on the same side of the road as the Co-Op (on the left as you come down towards the beach) which racks up a good trade during the summer. Pretty affordable for two people playing.

Shops - as stated above, Co-Op is the place to go for food shopping, but there are charity shops located in the road just before the main high street of Westward Ho. Also some souvenir shops and one souvenir shop has a wide range of magazines, especially interest ones such as fishing, sport etc.

Although I have put that there is no fee for the beach, if you drive in you have to pay for parking however you can take a bus into Westward Ho through the number 21 Stagecoach that stops at Northam, Bideford, East-The-Water, Fremington, Bickington Railway Station and Barnstaple Bus Station.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for walkers”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Westward Ho! Has great walking opportunities e.g. Walk over the burrows to Appledore, across the cliffs to Abbotsham or just walk along the miles of golden sands.

Make sure you try the local Hockings ice cream (available from between March and October).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 186338Hmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westward Ho Beach also viewed

 

Been to Westward Ho Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing