We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all round outstanding !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moran's Restaurant & Bar

Moran's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Westward Ho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking Bideford Bay out to the Atlantic Ocean with fabulous views, big skies and stunning sunsets over Lundy Island, why not join us for local Devon waters fish, fresh Appledore mussels,local seafood, Devon and Cornwall Farm steaks and wonderful Thai food all cooked in our open theatre kitchen by our team of chefs led by Thai Chef Versanti Srivinon.West Country ales and ciders and a list of hand picked wines from around the world. We cater for families daily however after 6 pm we are an adult only restaurant( 14 years old minimum). Moran's as recommended by The Sunday Times (Best of the West).
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“all round outstanding !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The whole experience in this restaurant was brilliant !!
From the lovely waitress Sian welcoming us in, finding us a table when we hadn't booked (and they were very busy), to their attention to detail from the waitresses and their product knowledge on the local beer!! I have lived in Thailand for 5 years and this was truly some of the best Thai food I have ever had!!! Thoroughly recommended!!! Beautiful atmosphere in a beautifully refurbished restaurant.....Well done guys keep up the amazing work !! You will definitely be seeing us on our next visit to North Devon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bullatbroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    154
    35
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lovely atmosphere, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely food. We had the Thai food and the other couple had some 'english' dishes. All the dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. The atmosphere was perfect and the staff attentive and efficient. highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LGDLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Moran's when it had been opened just 3 weeks. It was extremely busy but despite not booking, the owner realised our disappointment and said if we would wait for an hour or so - she would ensure a table would be available. This manager served us with drinks and kept us fully informed with a lovely smile. It was well worth the wait - the food was absolutely fantastic - served by staff that were well trained in customer service. We will be back when we visit Devon again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent food, my husband and I had an amazing Thai meal. The thai green curry was delicious. The restuarant is right on the sea front. We cant wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lotsofholiays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC EVENING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I agree with comments made in a previous review, for adults only in the evening.
Layout of the restaurant was very nice and cosy.
Staff very friendly and not always in your face i.e trying to get you another drink as soon as they saw your glass was empty.
Ther were 6 in our party and everyone came away talking about the food, staff, the bill,
Already planning our next birthday visit.
The only Restaurant with a beech hut within. See if you can find it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMoran, Owner at Moran's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Roy,
Thank you for your kind comments, it means a lot to us all here that you had a 'fantastic evening'. Glad you enjoyed the beach hut. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moran's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 
Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to Moran's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing